We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,121)
Filter reviews
4,121 results
Traveler rating
1,885
1,491
524
122
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,885
1,491
524
122
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews havana cafe poolside restaurant old havana breakfast buffet cigar lounge very nice hotel free shuttle jazz club pool area is concierge service nice pool the wi fi the hotel offers five star hotel el malecon mini bar by cuban standards
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 4,121 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2019

We found this hotel a good location, it is approximately 10 minutes taxi ride into old Habana, which costs from 10 to 15cuc, in a vintage taxi, which are available just outside the hotel to the left or across the street, again on the left. The hotel is very clean, nice sized room's with air conditioning, good sized bathroom, with bath & shower, plenty of towels & toiletries. A coffee machine is provided, but no coffee pods, so I suggest if you like an early coffee just take pods with you. The hotel has several good eating places, we ate in most of them, the breakfast is excellent, a huge choice, from fruit, sweet pastries, full English, ham, cheese, you can even get a hot dinner 1 st thing in the morning, champagne & orange juice, the list is endless, all served from different help your self buffet style station's, it was all really well presented, the restaurant staff are excellent. The hotel pool area is great, free towels are provided, a nice cafe bar to the left of the pool located on the 1st floor, it's a great place to have a swim & relax with a drink after a day in the sun. The Med restaurant is also on the 1st floor, excellent service and food , there is a pizza restaurant & for the smokers a cigar lounge . I think anyone staying here would be more than happy, the Wi-Fi network is not like England, but it does work here and your given free Wi-Fi tickets for each day. Overall we were very impressed, it's a large hotel, with a night club next door, but no noise inside the bedrooms.

Room tip: We were on the 15th floor with sea view, room was fine with a good enough view of the ocean
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sue_552015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Dear sue_552015,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your trip to Havana and for sharing your positive opinion about your experiences with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that you enjoyed the restaurants that we have at our Hotel, especially the Buffet Plaza Habana Restaurant.

It is also good to know that the comfort of our facilities, the proximity of our Hotel to the center of Havana and the free wifi service were other aspects of your stay that you also enjoyed.

We will wait for you to stay at the Melia Cohiba on your next visit to Havana, for us it will be a pleasure to receive you and provide you with another pleasant stay at our Hotel.

Until then I send you a warm hug from all our staff.

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2019

The hotel is housed in one of those sealed buildings with central air conditioning. Our room (1102) had a distinct mildew smell, indicating poor air conditioning maintenance and dirty filters. After one night, both myself and my wife were sneezing and coughing. Colleagues travelling with us complained of the same problem and had to turn off their air conditioners, only to feel suffocating in a smelly room. The hotel manager graciously moved us to another room (1324) in which the air conditioning appeared to have been cleaned and was not as smelly. My conclusion is that this hotel is a health hazard for those suffering from respiratory issues. Overall cleanliness is poor, with dirty carpets and soiled bed covers.
The hotel is located far away from old Havana and not in walking distance to any local attractions. Breakfast is generous and internet passable.
To call this hotel a five star is a joke.

Room tip: Rooms facing north have ocean view. Rooms facing south view dilapidated buildings.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cbertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2019

Dear Cbertoni,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Havana. At the same time, let me tell you that it is a pity that you have this opinion of our hotel and that you share it in the Tripadvisor community.

we are pleasure to know that at least our breakfast buffet and the free wifi connection that we provided to our guest were to your liking.

Rest assured that we will carry out a deeper analysis of the eventuality you had in your room and we will take the necessary measures so that this type of incident does not happen again in our hotel.

It is good that you know that our Hotel has a Shuttle free service for the tours of our customers in our city.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused.

We hope that on your next trip to Havana, give us the opportunity to show you that we are a team focused on providing the best of the stays to our customers.

Until then I send you a cordial greeting,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019 via mobile

The building is amazing, clean and the food awsome. However the aircondition is working all day on full mode and even if you turn it off in your room you still feel cold. Also the humidity in the rooms is awful, i got sick. The windows can not be openned. For a hotel in havana given the circumstances, its a good choice, however they need to regulate the temperature inside.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 809effieg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2019

Dear 809effieg,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your couple trip to Havana and for sharing your opinion in the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the architecture of our Hotel, the cleanliness of our facilities and the variety and quality of our gastronomy.

It is a pity to know through Tripadvisor about the eventuality with the air conditioning in your room, it would have been opportune to inform us of the subject during your stay in our Hotel, we would surely have resolved this incident immediately. Rest assured that we will take the necessary measures so that this does not happen again in our Hotel. We offer our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that we may have caused.

We hope to your next visit to Meliá Cohíba, for us it will be a pleasure to welcome you and make sure you have a pleasant stay at our hotel.

Until then I send you a cordial greeting.

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2019

Guest Services Agent Ariel L/N/U, deserves pride in performance. He provided us with excellent customer service and attended to us "well beyond our expectations".
Cohibe Melia should be very happy to have such a great employee working for them.
Ariel - Keep up the great work. Excelente Servicio!!
Abigail y Misael (Boston, MA)

Room tip: Excellent Service
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Service
Thank PrettyLRican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2019

Dear PrettyLRican,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your trip to Havana and for sharing your positive opinion about your experiences with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are happy to know that we fulfilled your expectations and that you were extremely pleased with the attention you received from our colleague Ariel, to whom we will congratulate you for the good service you have given them during your stay at our Hotel.

We will wait for you to stay at the Melia Cohiba on your next visit to Havana, for us it will be a pleasure to receive you and give you another pleasant stay at our Hotel.

Until then I send you a warm hug from all our staff.

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019

The room was a bit cold so I had to turn the Heating/AC off at night, add extra blankets and wear my long underwear. But the staff was so helpful. They listened to my horrible Spanish and were kind an understanding. They were able to convert lots of American Dollars into CUCs. Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was fantastic. You could order custom omletts. Fantastic variety of other breakfast items such as oatmeal, green salad, youghurt, variety of fruit, bread, yoghurt, etc. Dinner was equally excellent. Housekeeping was excellent. Concierge was very good, too.

Room tip: I was on room 7. It was a good floor because it was easy to get up and the upper floors stopped for us on the way diwb
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Dear Lynn,

How happy we are to know that you chose us for your stay in Havana and that you also shared your positive experience with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to know that we met your expectations and that you also enjoyed the comfort of our facilities, the variety and quality of our breakfast buffet, the attention of our staff, especially the attentions of our concierge.

We apologize for the inconvenience that we may have caused in your room, have the security that we will take the necessary measures so that this event does not happen again in our Hotel.

Thank you very much for considering us a excellent hotel, we work every day to achieve the full satisfaction of our guests, is what makes us happy.

We hope to have you soon at the Melia Cohiba, it will be a pleasure for us to welcome you and offer you another pleasant stay at our Hotel.

Until then I send you a greeting from all our staff,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews