We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,094)
Filter reviews
4,094 results
Traveler rating
1,867
1,484
522
122
99
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,867
1,484
522
122
99
Show reviews that mention
All reviews havana cafe poolside restaurant old havana breakfast buffet cigar lounge very nice hotel free shuttle pool area is concierge service nice pool the wi fi the hotel offers five star hotel el malecon mini bar by cuban standards live music
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 4,094 reviews
Reviewed February 8, 2019 via mobile

Spent 3 nights as part of 2 centre stay. Good friendly greeting from very accommodating staff. Room was clean and spacious and plenty of storage space. Buffet Restaurant for breakfast gave a large variety of choices nd again staff helpful. Pizza restaurant was excellent and we'll worth visiting. Pool area looked dated and needs some updating but we were not there for a pool break. Free hotel bus into the centre of Havana was quick. The open top bus tour has a stop opposite the hotel meaning the hotel is well placed for site-seeing in the actual city centre. Best exchange rates for buying Pesos is at the bank in an internal room at the rear of the hotel. In summary a well located hotel providing a good service and a comfortable stay.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Dear Gary,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your stay in Havana and for sharing your positive experience with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the services we provide our clients, especially the attention that you received from our staff, the quality and variety of our gastronomy, the currency exchange service and our location for your tour to the center of Havana. It is also good to know that you enjoyed the Shuttle free service.

We hope you choose the Melia Cohiba in your next stay in Havana; it will be a pleasure to make your visit another pleasant experience.

Until then I send you our warmest regards,

Osca Frederik Andersen Stahl,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2019 via mobile

Stayed there last week and was shocked by the poor standard of the rooms, the first room literally had the sideboard hanging off the wall, the bathroom had a dirty bath with no plug. We asked to change rooms they were very helpful and gave us a new room the sideboard was straight but the doors were jammed and wouldn’t open or close, no plug in the bath and the room due its solid concrete construction was freezing cold and damp.

The staff were very nice and helpful, its a shame about the rooms

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MPMHale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2019

Dear MPMHale,

Thank you very much for choosing Melia Cohiba for your stay in Havana, at the same time we regret that you have left our hotel with this perception.

Rest assured that we will analyze your comment and take the necessary measures to solve this eventualities that you tell us you had in our rooms.

It is good that you know that our Hotel is immersed in a process of reforms and maintenance of our facilities with the aim of further improving our image and continue in the preference of our guest.

We offer our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience that we may have caused.

It is good to know that the attention that you received from our staff met your expectatives.

We hope to have the opportunity, on your next visit to Havana, to show you that we are a team dedicated to making your stay a pleasant experience.

Until then I send you our most sincere regards,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2019

the reception team very friendly and they recognize me and greet me very familiar. very central, breakfast is incredible. When I visit I want to know new hotel and always end in this, so I recommend this hotel.

Room tip: best views, very quiet and clean
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LianetViart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2019

Dear Lianet,

Thank you so much for sharing your positive comment about your experience at our hotel also in the Tripadvisor community.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the attention that you received from our staff, our location for your tour of the city and the quality and variety of our breakfast.

Thank you very much for your preference and for your kind recommendation.

We wait for you at the Melia Cohiba on your next visit to Havana, for us it will be a pleasure to make that you have another beautiful experience at our Hotel.

Until then I send you a greeting from all our staff,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019

Huge hotel tower block which doesn’t look particularly appealing from the outside but on the inside things definitely improve…especially with the friendly staff. The hotel is located a little too far from Old Havana to realistically walk. You can take a taxi for a few CUCs or better still the free shuttle bus which can be booked via the concierge.

Our large room had panoramic views of the Malecon and the ocean beyond. It had apparently been recently refurbished but still looked a little tired. Annoyingly, we were provided with a Nespresso coffee machine in the room but only one capsule over our entire stay…the reception staff said that they were unable to source the coffee capsules at that time…fair enough but why tease us by placing a machine in the room in the first place!

There are some very nice restaurants/paladares located within walking distance from the hotel, and the hotel’s restaurants themselves were all pretty good. We tried La Pizza one night for well executed Italian fare, and the Med restaurant on another night which had a more upmarket ambience and served inventive starters and a very nice lobster mains. The huge buffet breakfast was also noteworthy, but don’t accept the standard coffee offered which is undrinkable…instead order an expresso/cappuccino/Americano from the waiter.

The hotel also has an integrated nightclub – the Havana Club – where we were treated to free entrance and a free drink. The entertainment was great, but unfortunately the place was virtually empty and lacked any atmosphere…we felt quite sorry for the performers. If you can tolerate cigar smoke, then the more intimate hotel cigar lounge was excellent and offered free live jazz every night. The adjoining humidor was filled with a large range of peerless Cuban cigars which were reasonably priced, and the barman (Raphael) made us feel like long-standing guests.

Other areas of note include the artistic paintings which adorn the walls. The pool area is also worth praising with plenty of space to relax. The only real negatives for us were the lifts; even though there are six lifts not all of them were working so it took a long time to get to-and-from our room on some occasions. We also found the Wi-Fi slow (although it was actually pretty good for Cuba) and continually dropped out as you moved to different parts of the hotel requiring us to login again from scratch.

However, all things considered, we really enjoyed our stay in Cuba and the Melia Cohiba. The people we met at the hotel were friendly and helpful, and the hotel provided a very good base to explore Havana.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Zigett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2019

Dear Zigett,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your positive opinion about your experiences in the hotel with the Tripadvisor user community.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed the comfort of our facilities and the services that we offer to our guests, especially our rooms with the beautiful view of the city and the sea, the professional attention that you received from our staff, especially from Rafael at the bar Casa del Habano and the gastronomy in our breakfast Buffet and in the Mediterraneo and Piazza restaurants.

It's good to know that he enjoyed the Jazz at night in Casa del Habano, the shuttle free for your tour of Old Havana and our location for your visit the restaurants in the neighborhood. We are also glad to know that you enjoyed our pool and that the free wifi was useful for you.

We will analyze the negative points of your comment and will take the necessary measures to resolve these eventualities. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that we may have caused.

Thank you very much for your preference and for your kind recommendation. We wait for you in Melia Cohiba in your next visit to Havana, it will be a pleasure to receive you and offer you the best attentions.

Until then I send a cordial greeting from all our staff.

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahl,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2019

Cuba has opened many new accommodation possibilities in recent years compared to previously. But if 24/7 Internet access is vital for personal, business, or other reasons, having a hotel that offers reliable service is key. We weren't disappointed on that score. The other comment I will make concerns our first night at the hotel cafe where we were delighted at the show offered. When combined with that incredibly rich and vibrant musical ensemble, this choreography was a spectacular tribute to Cuban jazz and performance, and better than some of the most celebrated historic names known in Havana. All the other hotel services were fine and generally what we would expect of a hotel of this caliber and price range.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BuenViaje2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, Director General at Melia Cohiba, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2019

Dear govind2305,

Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Havana and for sharing your such a nice comment of your stay with the users of the Tripadvisor community.

We are happy to know that we met your expectations, that you enjoyed the free internet service that we provide to our guest, as well as the gastronomy and good music that we have in our bars.

It is also good to know that you enjoyed the services that you received from our staff.

We hope you return to the Meliá Cohiba in your next stay in Havana, for us it will be a pleasure to receive you and make you have another pleasant experience of your stay at our Hotel.

Until then I send you our warmest regards,

Oscar Frederik Andersen Stahal,
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews