We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Cohiba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Melia Cohiba
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Havana
lebanon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best in havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Living in lebanon,this is a annual trip to havana,and every time i choose melia cohiba to stay and make my days better...(last year,it was a fabulous exprience to meet the american actor jim belucci next to my room :) ) by the way i felt there was a great improvement at the restaurants and service...the rooms are very spacious and clean and the service is very nice and fast...and there is a very good (casa del habanos) at the first floor where you can find a very big choice of cigars (very good quality) ;) and you can smoke every where ....almost....for me it's more than enough...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fouadfrem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Fouadfrem,

Thank you very much for having used your valuable time to let us know your opinion about our Hotel, which is very important for our daily performance.

It is a pleasure to know you always choose our hotel, which comforts us and encourages us to continue working every day to provide our guests the service they deserve.

We would like to know of a future visit to Havana. It will be an honour to receive you again.

Best regards,






Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    1,278
    459
    95
    80
See reviews for
589
1,381
200
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just returned from a week in Havana and 7 nights at the Melia Cohiba hotel. First impressions on arrival were spacious lobby area, lots of marble, glass and comfortable seating areas.
Mix of business suits , tourists and airline crew. Check in was ok I guess, we had emailed to ask if the hotel could provide a taxi to meet us at the airport but had never received a reply, when we mentioned this at reception we were told ‘we don’t do this service’. The hotel wants payment upfront for room bookings, for some reason my Mastercard was rejected and after two other attempts finally got payment on my Visa card.
Three of the six lifts are currently out of order as they are being upgraded.
Room was spacious, two queen size beds, decor was a bit dated but otherwise clean and comfortable. There was a flat screen tv but for some reason could only
access the hotel information loop. Bathroom was good size – water temperature intermittent
but when temperature was right, water pressure on shower was good.
The maid changed the bed linen everyday as well as the bathroom towels.
The swimming pool is a bonus and the pool itself very refreshing after a day’s sightseeing. There
is some building work going on around the poolside snack bar area as again there is a programme of upgrading currently in progress. As we were on half board ,we only ate in the main Plaza Habana restaurant so can only give our experience there although the other restaurants in the hotel looked interesting. It is a pity that the company do give an allowance to be used in the other restaurants.
Breakfast in the Plaza Habana is plentiful, with fresh fruits, cereals (not enough cereal bowls), fresh juices, salads. cold meats, cheeses, pancakes, eggs and omelettes are cooked to order , the coffee was quite often cold. The pastries and bread deserve a special mention as they were delicious. The waiting staff are amiable and willing, there are also different live musicians each day adding to the general atmosphere. Dinner at the Plaza Habana is plentiful but although the staff work hard to provide lots of choice, a lot of the time the foods that were meant to be hot were cold which was strange given that they seem to have the steam trays etc. but that was my experience.
The hotel itself is a little way out of the centre but does provide a regular free bus shuttle which also goes up each evening to the Old Fort for the 9pm cannon blast, but a cab would not be that expensive. Special mention of concierge desk especially Osiris who was always pleasant and helpful. Verdict would we stay here again?........Yes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank droogieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Droogieuk,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with us in Tripadvisor.

You can be sure that we will extend your gratitude to all our staff, especially the ones you mentioned. Likewise, we take note about the aspects you told us, which help us to improve our daily job.

We are pleased to know you would stay here again and we would like you to inform us of your next visit to La Havana. It will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Best regards,


Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ST7 4TB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Only stayed at Melia Cohiba for three nights, 24, 25, 26 September 2012. The staff make the difference here! They were so welcoming (well done Sally on Reception) and very helpful. The concierge service is excellent. The views are very good. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MYSTERYSHOPPER74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. MYSTERYSHOPPER74,

Thank you very much for having taken part of your valuable time for letting us know your comments.

We are glad that you enjoyed a pleasant stay with us. You can be sure that we will extend your words to all our staff.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

On Oct. 1-3 we stayed at the Melia Cohiba in Havana. We had a fantastic time at this hotel, the reception area was very efficient and professional. They made us feel very welcome at their hotel. The lobby/bar cafe had excellent service with smiles from all of the wait staff. The nightime jazz entertainment was also very good. The rooms were very clean, spacious and had an amazing view of the Malecon. The "Piazza" restaurant had great pizzas and pasta with fantastic service. The buffet in the morning had a great variety of foods. Our 2 day stay at the Melia Cohiba was a great getaway from our 2 week stay in Varadero. Thank you Melia Cohiba for a most enjoyable time in Havana. We will definitely return next year.

Room Tip: higher rooms that overlook the city & the Malecon
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelfaceToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. angelfaceToronto,

Thank you very much for your review and for letting us knows about your experience in Meliá Cohiba. Your opinion is very important for our daily performance.

It is nice to know you will return next year and we ask you to inform us when you decide to visit us. It will be a pleasure to receive you again and to meet personally.

Best regards,


Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

The location is great and the crowd around it at night made us feel like we are in Cuba although theres nothing WOW in the hotel. It is a standard one but staff were so helpful and nice with us, Lobby is quiet nice as well.
Breakfast is on one of the high floors, can't remember which floor it was, great view and almost all the options is there. In general it was nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABDULLAHALQASSIMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Mr. ABDULLAHALQASSIMI,

I’m sincerely thankful to receive your comments about your stay in our Hotel and your positive opinion about our staff.

Once again, thank you very much and it is a pleasure to know that you would be here again. It will be nice to have you among us in the near future.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for the first part of our honeymoon at the beginning of September and had a brilliant time - our room was massive, very clean, and the bathroom was great! The hotel facilities are excellent - the pool and surrounding area are lovely and well maintained, the restaurants are good (especially the Mediterranean which was very good value) and all the staff were so friendly and efficient. The location of the hotel is slightly out of the way of the main sights and attractions but we loved the fact that it was in a bit more of a peaceful location by the sea, and there are always taxis available to take you where you want to go. OR you can use the complementary shuttle bus which goes into the old town and various other locations - we weren't told about this service until we saw our travel rep but you just need to book with the concierge. Make sure you do the evening shuttle over to watch the 9pm cannon show, it's really fun!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LucyStaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. LucyStaves,

I’m sincerely thankful to receive your comments about your stay in our Hotel. This helps us, for sure, to keep working hard to offer our clients the distinction they deserve.

You must know it will be great to have you again in our Hotel, so please keep us inform of a future visit to Havana.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley, BC
Level Contributor
205 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is nice, and easy to get to if you drive yourself, which is what I did. The Hotel itself needs some attention, but they were working on it in several places while I was there. The lobby is beautiful. I tried the royal service. They had a separate reception area and it was very easy, and quickly handled. A beverage was also offered during the process. The rooms in royal service themselves are not any different though.

The room I had (Junior Suite) included a very nice bathroom with a large tub. The shower however was within the tub, and it was very deep and had a wide rim. Some people may have trouble getting in and out over the rim. While the room was otherwise immaculately clean, it did have carpeting, which I thought odd given the humid climate. It made the room a tad musky, and the carpet was also quite stained.

The linens were however all clean and in good shape, and even the bead spread looked to have been freshly cleaned. The bedding was nice to sleep in and the room was definitely comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LangleyVagabond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you very much for letting us know your opinion about our hotel, which really gives us the elements to improve our daily work. Your comments are important for us.

I would really appreciate if you could keep us inform of your next visit to Havana. It will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Best regards.



Juan Tuñon Cifre
Director General
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
1.3 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
3.2 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Habana Libre
Tryp Habana Libre
#33 of 78 in Havana
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,142 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Property: Melia Cohiba
Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cohiba 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Cohiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing