We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vintage Views” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melia Cohiba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Melia Cohiba
Ranked #3 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Tokyo Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Vintage Views”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

Staff was very friendly here, which makes up for the lack of maintenance. This hotel gets all the groups, conferences and airline crews. It has several restaurant options, which is good because the Old City center is a bit of a ways away. This Melia mimicks the otherMelia resorts but falls short. For example, there was no pool side service that you would expect in a hotel in the tropics. The swimming pool and gym are nice. Be aware, this is cigar country and the hotel offers no smoking rooms. A higher room gives you nice views

Room Tip: A higher room gives you nice views of the surroundings and the multitude of vintage cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neynon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Neynon,

It is very important for our daily performance to receive your opinion, that’s why I want to say thank you for letting us know.

On the other hand, let me inform you that the hotel has pool service, but for some reason that we are checking you didn’t receive it. For sure we are going to analyze this situation with our staff.

I would really appreciate if you could keep us inform of your next visit to Havana. We are sure that you will have a memorable stay with us.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    1,262
    459
    94
    80
See reviews for
582
1,366
199
426
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The hotel is old and the maintenance is poor. The air conditioning in the room barely worked, carpet is run down, frigobar did not chill the beverages and the price is expensive. There are better options of hotels in Havana for the same price.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RicardoAssef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Mr. Ricardo Assef,

First of all, thank you very much for letting us know your opinion about your stay at Melia Cohiba.

We are sorry that we weren’t able to cover your expectations. About air conditioning, I suppose it must have been a problem punctual in your room, which we wished you had communicated during your stay among us, in order to look for an immediate solution.

Regarding the elevators, let me inform you that we are planning to change them during this year 2012. About frigobar, we are currently changing them in order to offer a better service to our guests.

We would like you to accept our apologizes and please, keep us inform of a future visit to Havana, we are sure that we can receive you with the professionalism you deserve.

Best regards,




Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Just got back from four nights at the Melia Cohiba--march 4-8. It is a very good property. The rooms are large and the bath has all the comforts. The breakfast is good with lots of fruit, made to order eggs, great breads and vegetables. We ordered room service a couple of times and it was excellent. There is a great jazz club right across the street. Our group went two nights in a row. The only concern we had was it is a large property, but only two of the six elevators ever worked. I would certainly stay here again. It is not a five star by European standards, but it is outstanding. If you are thinking about going to Cuba, GO. You will really enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TallyHoNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, March 28, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. TallyHoNow ,

Thank you very much for having used your valuable time to let us know your opinion about our Hotel. It is nice to know we have covered all your expectations.

Regarding the elevators, allow me to inform you that we are planning to change them during this year 2012.

Thank you again and please keep us inform of a future visit to Havana. It will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Best regards,





Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

Like to Start by saying we have stayed at 3 different Melia Resort and have had great times with good facillities and friendly warm helpfull service, would 100% reccomend these. This City Hotel was an unexpected bad experience for us.

Just Spent 3 nights is this Hotel and have lived to deeply regret it , warm friendly and helpfull service from the Hotel Staff make or Break your stay with a Hotel - We were BROKEN.

The Hotel facillities are good and kept very neat and tidy . The Location is great , and the Shuttle Bus service to Old Havana just right.

You get 5 Star Facillities and very dissappointingly 1 Star service from 95% of the Hotel Staff. It seems as soon as they realise you are not from a Spanish Speaking Country "You become invisible" . The bar and resaurant staff were the worst , they make you wait and deal with any Spanish Speakers as they arrive and see to your needs if they really have to. The Buffet Restaurant was a prime example of discrimination , for example on asking for a cup of tea we ere abrublty told its over in the corner go and get it yourself , but in the same sitting the "waiting staff " on 2 occasions , went and carried back cups of tea to spanish speaking customers tables. Another example of poor service was at the Pool Bar area , we asked for 2 Coffees but were told thier machine was broken so we could not have any, for a 5 star Hotel you think the staff might have gone to one of the Coffe Machines, but NO , the 3 staff went back to leaning against the Bar and chatting to each other !!!!! . All in all the Staff think we are there to be served when they are good and ready and how dare we ask for anything , they avoid "Eye Contact" at all costs to avoid having to deal with you. The problem is not lack of Staff , most of them standing around chatting , the managers and supervisors should be dealing with this issue , and again there are many of them , but they dont , thier interest appears to be strutting around trying to look important and telling the staff to move something or tidy up an area , but they should be making sure customers of all Nationalities get a good warm friendly service , but they dont .

This Hotel needs to look at the Defintion of what "Customer Service" is , or if they dont want English Speakers , dont take the Bookings . We paid alot of money to stay here and were expecting a warm friendly welcome - IT DID NOT HAPPEN .

Room Tip: Stay at another Hotel .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VandR123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. VandR123456,

Thank you very much for letting us know your point of view of our hotel.

We are taking note about all the details you write in your review, and I’m deeply sorry for all the inconvenience caused during your stay. I’m offering you my sincerely apologies and you can be sure that it will be analyzed with our staff. Thisi is an opportunity to improve our standards in order to offer to our guest the excellence service they deserve.

We hope that in spite of your experience, Meliá Cohiba continues being your election, so please let us know of your future visit to the Havana.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We stayed for 3 days 4 nights on a sightseeing tour of Havana as part of a longer trip to Cuba. The hotel is located by the sea so on the outskirts of town, we could look over the city and the sea and had beautiful views.

The stay started really well, Magis checked us in and made us all feel really welcome and made my 5 year old really excited about his stay. The room was ready despite an early check in and it was immaculate. My son had his own area private from the rest of the room and there were 3 double beds available for us.

The Coffee and Mini bar charges were clearly on the desk by the coffee machine, we didn't touch any of it but it was made clear. We found breakfast great if busy. Everything you could think of from European to full cooked breakfasts. All warm and fresh where needed. Drinks were a little limited if you weren't drinking coffee.

Dinner was a little expensive (I get that it's a hotel though) if you can't leave the hotel, there is a lot of choice though. Room service was great for us having a small tired child with us in the evenings. They made sure all our needs were met even with special food needs.

Concierge were great at sorting out taxi's and tours. This is a hotel geared to business visitors but they were great to me and my family .

Biggest complaint - the pool was FREEZING. Even my son found it unbearable and he's a hardcore swimmer.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and had beautiful views of the pool, sea and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CameraGirlBond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mr./Mrs. CameraGirlBond,

I really appreciate your comments about our Hotel.

We are pleased to receive your positive opinions about your stay among us. Our clients and theirs satisfaction are our reason of being and that’s why we fight for every day.

We will let our staff knows about your review. This will contribute for sure to continue offering the careful service which will make you come back.

My best regards,


Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

Stayed there 2 nights for leisure. Service - staff very friendly.
Breakfast rich and with nice atmosphere- good musicians.
Rooms and other facilitiis clean and well maintained.
View from the rooms excellent. Will come back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flycatcher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, March 10, 2012
Dear Mr. / Mrs. Flycatcher69,

Than you very much for your comments about our hotel. It is nice to know you enjoy of a nice stay among us and that we cover your expectations about our staff and the service in general.

We really appreciate your opinions and it will be a pleasure to receive you again.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutz, Florida, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

I just came back from a week in Habana. Originally, I was supposed to stay in The Nacional but at the last minute I was switched to the Melia' Cohiba.
I've stayed at quite a few Melia' properties and always been happy. And really, I was happy this time but, they DO have some issues that should be addressed.
It's almost unanimous that the $3.00 charge for packaged coffee sitting in your room next to a coffee maker is insulting. NOT the $3.00 but the audacity!
Also, the elevators are absolutely an issue, and if we had the same problems in the U.S. we'd REALLY be complaining!
BUT, the thing that bothered me the most was....before you can check out, someone physically goes to your room to see what you've taken from the mini-bar.
Well, I left $30.00 for the maid, along with some toiletries, toothpaste, Kleenex, deodorant, etc.
When the person went to check the mini-bar they took $20.00 of the $30.00 I had left for the maid, and when I complained to the person at the front desk, I just got a shrug.
You'd think they would have done something to see that the proper person got the money, as well as addressed the issue with the person that they KNOW took it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RJusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaCohiba, General Manager at Melia Cohiba, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Mr / Ms Rjusto,

First of all, I want to thank you for sharing your comments about Meliá Cohiba and we regret the opinion you had from our hotel.

Regarding the charge of coffee in the room, let me inform you that it is indicated in the list of drinks of mini bar. Anyway, we are going to review how to increase the information to our guests.

About the elevators, I have the pleasure to inform you that we are planning to change them during this year 2012, in order to avoid inconvenience to our guests for this situation.

We apologize for all these inconveniences and we hope that in spite of them, we have the joy to welcome you again.

Best regards,



Juan Tuñon Cifre
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havana
1303.6 mi away
Sol Hotel
Sol Hotel
#5 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hodelpa Garden Suites
Hodelpa Garden Suites
#2 of 11 in Juan Dolio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Colombus Hotel
Colombus Hotel
#7 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1320.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
Hotel Villa Lodge 4 Epices
#5 of 7 in Grand Cul-de-Sac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
73.8 mi away
Barcelo Solymar Arenas Blancas Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Cohiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Cohiba

Property: Melia Cohiba
Address: Ave Paseo entre 1 y 3, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Havana
#3 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#3 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#4 Family Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Cohiba 5*
Number of rooms: 462
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Privileged location in the modern Vedado district. Modern rooms with spectacular views of the ocean, city and majestic Malecon ocean drive. Buffet, gourmet, Italian and grill restaurants. Habana Café with memorabilia evoking the 1950`s. Spacious and comfortable multipurpose rooms for meetings and banquets with capacity for up to 500 persons. Executive floors with Royal Service and Business center. Lobby bar opened 24 hrs, piano bar, bar with live music and a Cuban cigar and rum sampling bar for connoisseurs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia and Despegar.com so you can book your Melia Cohiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Cohiba Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Havana
Melia Hotel Cohiba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing