We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May be the smallest hotel, but it has loads of character!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Conde de Villanueva
Ranked #28 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“May be the smallest hotel, but it has loads of character!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for four nights and were very impressed with this picturesque hotel. The room was massive and very clean. It may be dated but what in Havana isn't? It's perfectly located to explore Havana Viega and is easy enough to get anywhere else.

The staff were friendly and helpful (waiting staff could sometimes be a bit rushed) and we enjoyed the breakfast (fruit, bread, pancakes and eggs).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skeniver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    96
    39
    17
    15
See reviews for
31
129
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My boyfriend and I decided to book this hotel for our 2 first nights in Havana based on the review of Lonely Planet (which turned out to be a very poor guide for Cuba).
Arriving was easy, cause it's very central in the restored part of Havana Vieja.
At the front desk the staff was very nice and enthusiastic about our arrival, but once we didn't tip them immediately after, the next day they shut their faces and made no efforts to help us (unfortunately this became very common through out our trip).
But that's one of the things you have to learn to ignore if you wanna go to Cuba.
You won't find four seasons' service and amenities there.
Having said that, the hotel is good, lots of character, feeling like a travel back in the colonial time.
The room was spacious and it was very silent (this is a part of town where cars are not allowed). I would wake up with the sound of the birds from the patio. But doesn't have a window, it has big doors you can open but it faces the aisle.
The bathroom was ok, but it was missing the shower door.
The breakfast wasn't spectacular, but none of them really are in Cuba.
They have 3 peacocks wondering around the hotel, which is nice and a very good cigar shop with helpful staff.
The building from the outside is beautiful. It's walking distant from most of relevant spots in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mvfalci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at Parque Central for 3 nights then Cayo Largo for 6 nights. This Hostal was "stepping out of my comfort zone" for one night before flying home. We as a family were impressed (apart from one teenager who has been spoilt). It was beautiful - far from the formality and falseness of a chain hotel. Unique, clean, unusual and charming. I could have explored for hours - the older kids were annoyed that they had bought cheap cigars in Cayo Largo after seeing the brilliant cigar shop/museum upstairs. The cigar expert did not hassle you (unlike everywhere else in Havana) every thing was priced and you could browse without being bothered - loved the Michael Douglas photos! The breakfast was served by the most efficient waiter we had come across during our whole time in Havana - even the four teenagers remarked on how good he was. Loveley breakfast - too much bread for 2 people but enough to eat and all very tasty. Lovely atmosphere all round. Recommend for a stay for a couple of days - only gripe was miserable, grumpy female receptionist - needs to be taught how to smile to customers even though she may not feel like it !
Otherwise, all staff really nice.

Room Tip: Party had varied rooms - all unique in own way - just dated bathrooms bur very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eilidhmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

The rooms where huge with lovely high ceilings and gave a quiet retreat in the centre of old Havana. Complete with resident peacock family (just watch you step when you come out of your room in case of a present left by them!!) Restaurant is OK, nothing superb but clean, cool and edible food!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Cadders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear frinds

We want say thank you for such beautiful opinions of our service.

King regards

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is like a haven- forget the grand hotels on the plaza, this hotel is a real gem. With only 9 rooms it is a boutique hotel with a very tranquil atmosphere in a beautiful setting. Our room was enormous and nicely decorated with a huge bathroom and separate changing area. The breakfast was delicious and sitting in a beautiful courtyard surrounded by plants and peacocks was a great way to eat it! The hotel allowed us to leave a lot of stuff in their storage while we were touring for a fortnight before coming back at a negligible price. Forget the best place to stay in Havana, this was our favourite accommodation in Cuba!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 459SA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest:

We are very grateful for you for such a sublime opinion of our hotel and our service. We are flattered and also exhorts us to continue improving our daily work.

Fraternally

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for our first 3 nights in Havana and thought it was great! The courtyard is very grand and our room was excellent. It is also one of the better places to buy cigars in Havana. Location wise it is perfect as well. The breakfast wasn't amazing but not bad for Cuba standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank ajenks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Jenkins:

We appreciate your honest opinion. And we invite you on your next visit to share with us another good cigar. Write us and we'll agree.

Thank you very much

Regards,

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at Hostal Conde de Villanueva for a couple of nights as part of my holiday trip around Cuba and this place is just what a discerning traveller needs.
The location (two blocks away from Plaza de las palomas and Plaza vieja) is just fabulous, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the cigar shop is a jewel for cigar connoisseurs and cigar lovers, Joel the cigar sommelier is an asset to the team in the shop.
overall the place is clean, beautiful and fairly priced, would come back.
the only downside to it would be the air conditioning in the room on the corner of the place, it can be a bit disturbing at night for those with a light sleep.

Room Tip: request a quiet room, any problems should be communicated to the staff, they're very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanSant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks friend Daniel
Our hotel has the pleasure to have friends like you, that help us to be better every day in our service and want to thank you and ask you if you visit, honor us with your presence.

Thank you very much.

King regards,

Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#14 of 79 in Havana
711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#40 of 79 in Havana
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Los Frailes
Hotel Los Frailes
#23 of 79 in Havana
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde de Villanueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde de Villanueva

Property: Hotel Conde de Villanueva
Address: Calle Mercaderes 202, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Havana
#20 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Conde de Villanueva 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Gaviota Hotels, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Conde de Villanueva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal Conde De Villanueva Hotel Havana
Hostal Conde De Villanueva Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing