We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of Cuba - Refreshing”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Conde de Villanueva
Ranked #32 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed at Parque Central for 3 nights then Cayo Largo for 6 nights. This Hostal was "stepping out of my comfort zone" for one night before flying home. We as a family were impressed (apart from one teenager who has been spoilt). It was beautiful - far from the formality and falseness of a chain hotel. Unique, clean, unusual and charming. I could have explored for hours - the older kids were annoyed that they had bought cheap cigars in Cayo Largo after seeing the brilliant cigar shop/museum upstairs. The cigar expert did not hassle you (unlike everywhere else in Havana) every thing was priced and you could browse without being bothered - loved the Michael Douglas photos! The breakfast was served by the most efficient waiter we had come across during our whole time in Havana - even the four teenagers remarked on how good he was. Loveley breakfast - too much bread for 2 people but enough to eat and all very tasty. Lovely atmosphere all round. Recommend for a stay for a couple of days - only gripe was miserable, grumpy female receptionist - needs to be taught how to smile to customers even though she may not feel like it !
Otherwise, all staff really nice.

Room Tip: Party had varied rooms - all unique in own way - just dated bathrooms bur very clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank eilidhmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 232 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2013

The rooms where huge with lovely high ceilings and gave a quiet retreat in the centre of old Havana. Complete with resident peacock family (just watch you step when you come out of your room in case of a present left by them!!) Restaurant is OK, nothing superb but clean, cool and edible food!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Cadders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear frinds

We want say thank you for such beautiful opinions of our service.

King regards

Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This place is like a haven- forget the grand hotels on the plaza, this hotel is a real gem. With only 9 rooms it is a boutique hotel with a very tranquil atmosphere in a beautiful setting. Our room was enormous and nicely decorated with a huge bathroom and separate changing area. The breakfast was delicious and sitting in a beautiful courtyard surrounded by plants and peacocks was a great way to eat it! The hotel allowed us to leave a lot of stuff in their storage while we were touring for a fortnight before coming back at a negligible price. Forget the best place to stay in Havana, this was our favourite accommodation in Cuba!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank 459SA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guest:

We are very grateful for you for such a sublime opinion of our hotel and our service. We are flattered and also exhorts us to continue improving our daily work.

Fraternally

Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here for our first 3 nights in Havana and thought it was great! The courtyard is very grand and our room was excellent. It is also one of the better places to buy cigars in Havana. Location wise it is perfect as well. The breakfast wasn't amazing but not bad for Cuba standards.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank ajenks02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Jenkins:

We appreciate your honest opinion. And we invite you on your next visit to share with us another good cigar. Write us and we'll agree.

Thank you very much

Regards,

Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at Hostal Conde de Villanueva for a couple of nights as part of my holiday trip around Cuba and this place is just what a discerning traveller needs.
The location (two blocks away from Plaza de las palomas and Plaza vieja) is just fabulous, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the cigar shop is a jewel for cigar connoisseurs and cigar lovers, Joel the cigar sommelier is an asset to the team in the shop.
overall the place is clean, beautiful and fairly priced, would come back.
the only downside to it would be the air conditioning in the room on the corner of the place, it can be a bit disturbing at night for those with a light sleep.

Room Tip: request a quiet room, any problems should be communicated to the staff, they're very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanSant26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanks friend Daniel
Our hotel has the pleasure to have friends like you, that help us to be better every day in our service and want to thank you and ask you if you visit, honor us with your presence.

Thank you very much.

King regards,

Commercial Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have recently travelled to Havana and Conde de Villanueva, situated in the heart of Havana vieja, was my choice of Hotel. From the beginning to the very end of my stay everything was very good. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful ( specially Jenny a the front of house desk - always happy to help ). The room was spacious and clean, sometimes a bit noisy but you need to consider the location - there is always someone wondering in the streets of havana. Restaurant had nice selection of wines and food was always good, was attentive and knowledgable about their products. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for something nice with no fuzz to make their stay in Havana pleasurable.

Room Tip: Simply ask for a quite room and there will be no problem with this what so ever. Also if you will ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in Hostal Conde de Villanueva for the first five days of our trip to cuba and we cannot recommend it enough!
Unfortunately Air Cubana managed to lose our baggage and the hotel staff were really helpful in assisting us by calling the airport several times a day. The breakfast is fab and the rooms are very traditional.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank lynchp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComercialHCV, Director Comercial at Hotel Conde de Villanueva, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2016

Dear Client:

Thank you very much for your kind opinion. It was a pleasure for us to serving you.

Happy and prosperous 2016 !!!!!

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#20 of 80 in Havana
426 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.7 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,807 reviews
3 mi away
Hotel Sercotel Paseo Habana
6.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Havana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Conde de Villanueva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Conde de Villanueva

Address: Calle Mercaderes 202, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Havana
#20 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $139 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Conde de Villanueva 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Hostal Conde De Villanueva Hotel Havana
Hostal Conde De Villanueva Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing