We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their records, while not digitized, were excellent. The staff is friendly and competent.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Christopher Columbus Cemetery (Cemetario de Colon)

Christopher Columbus Cemetery (Cemetario de Colon)
Ranked #15 of 227 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Their records, while not digitized, were excellent. The staff is friendly and competent.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

We were not able to find the location of my husband's family but the staff narrowed down our search and we had a most interesting afternoon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anny393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    759
    411
    140
    34
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Days of the living dead”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

The cemeteries of a city offer more social comment than a dozen history books. Alongside the magnificent mausoleum architecture of the rich, not equal even in death, are the monuments dedicated to Cuban public workers, like the bus staff and the firefighters.
The modest entry charge helps pay for the upkeep and there are plenty of tombs undergoing renovation. The white Carrera marble dazzles in the sun and there is the modernist cheek by jowl with the traditional. Allow hours and carry some water.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank The-Old-Scribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Croix
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“History to be seen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you get to this spot, be sure to find a guide to take you around as there are many stories about the people interred here. What we thought would be a quick walk through turned into fascinating stories of Cuban history.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CruzanLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The security guards will show you around for 1 cuc”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Interesting informal tour from security, they will try and get 5 CUCs from you, but 1 CUC is over a day's wages for them!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 412phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“If you have been to Argentina don't bother”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

My main problem is you have to pay to go in. I have never known that anywhere else. The graves are quiet impressive, but I have been to Buenos Aires & it is nothing compared to that.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christopher Columbus Cemetery (Cemetario de Colon) also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Christopher Columbus Cemetery (Cemetario de Colon)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing