We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Christopher Columbus Cemetery (Cemetario de Colon)
Save
Review Highlights
Breathtaking!!

This is one of the most beautiful cemeteries I have ever visited. Wide boulevards, beautiful trees... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
Julie T
,
New York, New York, United States
Amazing!

I also enjoy exploring cemeteries and this one did not disappoint! It is definitely the largest in... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Linda M
,
West Palm Beach, Florida
Read all 1,915 reviews
  
Reviews (1,915)
Filter reviews
986 results
Traveler rating
604
282
79
17
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
604
282
79
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews buried here above ground la milagrosa resting place white marble local guide guided tour hop on hop off bus art deco entrance fee cuc per person worth the trip cuban history buena vista social club stories funeral firefighters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 986 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

This is one of the most beautiful cemeteries I have ever visited. Wide boulevards, beautiful trees and stunning architecture makes this a no-miss on any Havana trip.

Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

I also enjoy exploring cemeteries and this one did not disappoint! It is definitely the largest in the southern hemisphere and is the resting place for all the famous and infamous residents of Havana.

Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Cemetery has thousands of unique memorials, headstones, etc. A 30-minute visit and stroll around is well worth your time. It is quite a unique cemetary.

Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Took a tour of the cemetery and found it very neat to see the history and to see the customs in Cuba. From the fine architecture to the recycling of the cemetery plots. Very cool to visit.

Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

An impressive entry gate takes you onto a broad avenue, edged by the mausoleums of Havana's (and maybe Cuba's) wealthiest and oldest families, that ends at a fairly large chapel. Many of these ornate structures are suffering from lack of upkeep as its family fled to Miami after the revolution. A few do look good, and the monument to 29 firefighters who died in the performance of their duty is exceptional. the cemetery extends both left and right of the main avenue and behind the chapel and claims to be the largest in Cuba and one of the three largest in the world. I would recommend a visit to La Recoleta Cemetery, Buenos Aires, Argentina instead of this one.

Thank brwydave02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Incredibly large area built to service the needs of the city shortly after the founding in 1519. Individual mausoleums are majestic tributes to families. Christopher Columbus was buried there, and later in body was exhumed and transported to Spain.
Ernest Hemminhway's bartender at the Florida has his own special spot, while the center of the grounds contains an imposing, free standing chapel.

Thank RoadTrip663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful craftsmanship on display in the graves and mausoleums. A lot of history is here and guides stories are fascinating. This is a huge place as worth a visit as any cemetery in New Orleans. Chapel here is also worth a visit.

Thank SharonB231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most amazing day in Havana! This cemetery is like those in New Orleans but you can drive through them. We saw beautiful graves and learned the legend of Amelia Goyri. We even had women show up and do exactly what our guild had told us. It is a must to see.

Thank juliebfromindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I visited as part of my excursion in Havana. I never imagined the history, the beauty of the monuments, and the stories about those buried here. Our guide told us many stories as we walked along the street and stopped at the gravesites. With over 130 acres, my time spent there only touched on the few individuals who are buried there. The Firefighters Monument is magnificent. I plan to return to spend more time and to learn more. A definite place to include on your trip to Cuba.

Thank theresamD8816ZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This 38 acre cemetery is the largest in the western hemisphere with only one in Madrid being larger. This cemetery dates back to the 1500s.

Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews