We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit”
Review of El Morro

El Morro
Ranked #11 of 235 things to do in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

The views that are here are awesome. There is a lot of history here and it is very cheap to visit. Well worth the trip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,497
    920
    271
    57
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Level Contributor
257 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“perfect look out to Old Havana:)”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

a nice scenery form up there. There is a show in the afternoon (check the information as it may be rescheduled).

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank c0sm0p0litangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A guided tour here is well worth it”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We decided to buy the ticket witch included the entrance to the light house and a guide and we were not disappointed! First of all, don't expect as many things on display here as in the British Museum or the Louvre as some people do. The views of Havana are amazing and there are plenty of panoramic photo opportunities.
Our guide, Lola, was great! She spoke excellent English. She told us lots of interesting facts not only about the fort but also about Havana and Cuba in general. She spent about 2 hours with us and was happy to answer all our questions.
There is also an interesting exhibition of a modern Cuban artist that opened recently (unfortunately, I don't remember his name).
If you decide to visit do pay the few CUC extra for a guided tour. Your visit will be much more beneficial.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank SuperCiacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Castillo de los Tres Reyes Magos del Morro is not La Cabaña.”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

There seems to be some confusion in posts here between El Morro at the entry to Havana's harbor and La Cabaña a little further south where they fire the 9 o'clock cannon. They are two different castles.

Some day I will have to visit and take some shots of the interior of this historic place. To date I have only seen it from afar or at night for a reggaeton concert.

Cab fare should be $4 or less from Havana Vieja.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank RobinThom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Impressive ruin, nothing else”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I can not for the life of me understand what people find so good about this fort. Sure, it's an amazing fort that has survived the test of time (and other factors) better than most houses in Havana. Other than that, what is there to see?
There is almost no pre-revolution history at all to be had at the fort. If you're a bit dumb maybe you can even believe that it was built post-revolution considering all the revolution memorabilia in the place. The market is a low quality and over priced gimmicky thing. The entrance fee is HUGE!

The only thing that saves this place is the fantastic view of Havana. And in my opinion it should be free.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MiSaCh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Morro also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Morro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing