We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exorbitant prices, horrid food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bellomar

Bellomar
Ranked #638 of 774 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Description: It's small but useful to know if you're a tourist, listed in Lonely Planet and other sites, and clearly well-visited. http://www.cubaabsolutely.com/travel/restaurant_havana/all_restaurant_havana.php http://www.tripwolf.com/en/guide/show/661643/Cuba/Havana/Havana/Centro/Bellomar
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exorbitant prices, horrid food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We followed our Time Out Havana guidebook's advice and landed at Bellomar for lunch. We were the only patrons there. The owner was quite friendly, so even though the 15CUC per meal seemed steep, we decided to give it a shot. It was the worst food we ate during week in Havana. The owner recommended we order the house special (grilled fish). It came with a mountain of crispy white toast, boiled and cubed plaintain, rice and beans, and "salad". The first three sides were passable, however, the salad appeared to be at least 3 weeks old (the cucumbers were visibly shrivelled). The fish was bland, tough, and old. The only enjoyable part of our meal was the guava juice (3.50 CUC - expensive, as it was likely from a juicebox).

I would never recommend this place to anybody. There were several other places that were better than Bellomar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank h s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    13
    5
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic paladar - needs more patronage to keep it going”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We found this little place in Lonely Planet and the comment was "great but why is it empty?" That was exactly our experience. We went back a second time with seasoned Cuba travellers and they said it was the best meal they had had. Everything is delicious, right down to the desserts. Had one of the best flans ever! Delightful family. Please go, enjoy their food and friendliness and keep them going!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rive-Sud de Montréal
Level Contributor
62 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“J'avais lu tant de bonnes critiques sur ce resto!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2011

Nous avons été plutôt déçus par le paladar Bellomar. Certes, la patronne est sympathique, la déco plutôt chouette et l’endroit ne manque pas d’ambiance. Toutefois, nous étions d’abord là pour manger!

Nous n’avons pas apprécié le pain tranché, sec comme une biscotte… Et nous n’avons pas tellement aimé nos plats non plus. La viande de porc, hachée et servie dans une sauce tomatée, se faisait extrêmement rare. En fait, les quelques bouchées étaient perdues parmi les trop nombreux morceaux de gras et de cartilage. Le plat de poisson, lui aussi servi haché dans une sauce tomatée, était un peu mieux. Heureusement que nous avions une généreuse portion de riz aux haricots!

Les deux plats, avec une bière, un jus de goyave et une boule de glace nous ont coûté 32 CUC. Beaucoup trop pour ce que c’était!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“And now for something different...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

This is like the Hard Rock of Centro, mom-and-pop version. Honestly, we weren't really sure what to expect walking in here. We stayed in a casa around the corner, and always passed the friendly owners hanging out on their stoop. Once inside, we fought the urge to walk back out and settled into a table to take in all the funkiness. From all the graffiti on the walls, it seems like it's been a popular place. If you close your eyes, the food is solid home cooking, so really there's nothing to complain about. At least they've got a point of view. And some kick-*ss flan.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HotelCalifornians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bellomar also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Bellomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing