We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best casa in Havana!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Ranked #3 of 694 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best casa in Havana!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at casa Maura for 3 nights. She is the most incredible host! Anything you are interested in doing or seeing, she will do everything she can to help you. She arranged Spanish classes for me and very generously offered her home to hold the classes. She is one of the most generous people I have ever met - truly a great person that I feel so lucky to have met. Her home is beautiful, clean, and in a very safe neighborhood. If you are planning to visit Havana you must stay here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank wanderingguy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
I thank you a lot your opinion, and what you say of us, you knows that when you return to Cuba CASA MAURA will always have the open doors.

Thank you

maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    58
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
109
513
132
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good located, modern apaprtment with all facilities, private bathroom and bedroom, kind and helpful familly. Very safe place to be. Indeed a very good breakfast. We enjoyed our stay at this place. It is a good option if you like to really feel the atmosphere of Havana

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiril P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your opinion of my house, you are very kind.
And also for your opinion of House Castellon that begins now and very few people know it, when somebody contacts me to request me application and I don't have possibility, I like to give him an option of some house that I recommend and with your opinion, more people will be able to trust my, when I propose House Castellon.

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

maura was kind, helpfull and gave us the feeling we are home.
she speaks basic english, but if you speak spanish- she will tell you everything you want to know and more...
it was the first place we stayed at and it was defenetly a good expirience...
the food there is great, the rooms are nice, the location is perfect and the company is friendly.
enjoy!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank niv n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, although I had liked that you gave recommendation to improve the qualification that you give me in the rooms, "3 stars" although in your opinion you say that "the rooms nice...".
How to all, I like that they praise me, and that they give me 5 stars, but if they can give me a recommendation to even improve but (maintaining the qualification of 5 stars, ja, ja, ja), I would feel very happy, if they make it to help me, I also have to value if I can make it.
For example some guests have commented me, "is good that don't have frigo-bar in the Room for the noise that they make" and however other have suggested it to me. We solved this situation, facilitating the access to my guests to refrigerator of the kitchen of the house, where they can put what they want.

Thank you

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We recently returned from Cuba and spent a total of nine days (with trips in-between to Vinales and Trinidad) with Maura and her family. Maura made us feel so welcome and took such good care of us, that we now consider Maura and her family to be our Cuban family.

The location is perfect (one block from Old Havana and one block from the Prado), The rooms are beautiful, quiet and clean. Maura makes the best Cuban coffee in the morning and the breakfasts are terrific. It is obvious that she takes great pride in her work and wants everyone to feel welcome and cared for. Above all, in addition to being professional, she is a warm, sincere and wonderful person. You are very fortunate If you get a chance to stay at Casa Maura,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SteveandAnu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, we enjoy your stay a lot in our house, you are a very pleasant and very beautiful couple.

You gives me a lot of happiness, that you have felt so well in my house, that it is my biggest satisfaction.
The support of my true guests, gives me a lot of force to continue making an effort, more in these days, being is attacking me, by people of bad feelings putting false opinions, to try to discredit my work and the love that I put to that make. As you has told me that the best form of counteracting these bad people, is to continue being like I am, making of each guest that enters to my house, part of my family.
A hug from Cuba.


Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington
Level Contributor
1,014 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent our first night in Havana at Casa Maura and stayed in a large number of casas subsequently so we understand the relative standard. Casa Maura was of the very best casas we stayed in and this was primarily due to the exceptionally helpful and welcoming family - particularly Maura herself.

As others have said, Casa Maura is ideally located near to the Museum of the Revolution and other main attractions. The apartment is accessed via either two flights of stairs or the lift. The bedroom was comfortable with an effective fan (but no air-conditioning) and a very good en-suite, including complimentary toiletries (which we didn't get anywhere else).

Maura is incredibly helpful both before you travel (by email) and during your stay. Maura arranged for a taxi to to collect us from the airport, gave us recommendations on what to see and where to eat and most imressively - even after we had left - she organised a taxi for us when our other pre-arranged transport fell through.

Casa Maura is one of the few casas which, in our experience, does not routinely offer evening meals - which is a bonus - as it allows those staying to experience Havana's many restaurants and not feel under pressure from the casa owner to eat with them as a means of additional income generation.

We feel compelled to comment (which we've never done before) on the only one star review (garywallace) as we do not recognise the description or experience. 128 four and five star reviews at the time of typing are not wrong!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mikeedeedee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, you really felt in my house, how I would like all my guests to feel, see HOUSE MAURA, as their own house with their own family, where you can clarify your doubts, to request recommendations, etc.
Only I don't understand well that you point out that I don't have air conditioning, the two rooms have air conditioning and they work very well. Although for the windows and the fan, almost none of my guests uses it
For luck TRIPADVISOR, analyzed and he saw that 1 star's opinion put by "GARYWALLACE", false era, put by friendships of the competition that cannot ascend in the ranking for own merits, many houses is very beautiful, very wide, but they lack true love, to enjoy with each new guest how if it was the first, and others, unfortunately they are not in the areas of more movement and the tourists spend more money in moving, that in the lodging, being forced to eat in the own house, because they don't have swims close. I wait that they don't insist on putting false opinions again, at the end the one that makes bad, always pays it.
Thank you again for your opinion, you know that you have a family in Cuba.

A hug


Again, thank you.

Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were in Havana for the night of December 27, 2012.
I had contacted Maura earlier in the month to see about a stay, but she was all booked up. However, she arranged for us to stay with her neighbour one floor up in the same building. Because Maura had the web site and a good command of English, she helped us make the arrangements at no benefit to herself, and the casa she recommended, Casa Castellon, was excellent.

The building is located on the edge of Old Havana about 100 yards off the Prado. It is a solid building. However, because of the location you are surrounded by decaying buildings and, yes, cars and people. The address was actually on one of the quieter streets we walked on, so I doubt you'd find a quieter casa particular in Old Havana, given the amount of people and tourists, and the building materials (all hard surfaces that transmit sound).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Saxmanbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your opinion, and that my house recommendation Castellon has delighted, I wait that the next visit to Cuba can offer my house, so that you live with my family that I adore.

Thank you
Maura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great place to stay. Wonderful hospitality. Maura and her family make you very welcome. When I return I they will be my choice in Havana. I would also highly recommend the Casa above by her neighbour Kenia. Both are brilliantly situated. I cannot understand the review about the area being scary. The large and posh lobby areas of the big hotels nearby were far more intimidating.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Haedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CASAMAURA, Propietario at Casa Maura Habana Vieja, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Thank you for your opinion, you have been very kind, gives me a lot of satisfaction that has felt so well and sure in our house
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.6 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
1,495 reviews
5.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
3,205 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
1,519 reviews
5.6 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
954 reviews
5.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Maura Habana Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maura Habana Vieja

Property: Casa Maura Habana Vieja
Address: Refugio No.104, apto N 2 | e/Prado y Morro, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 694 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
House apartment in the Old Havana, near the Havanan Prado, the area with more night life in the country, full with history. From Casa Maura can visit any point of the Old Havana on foot, the Capitol, the Walk of the Prado, the Palace of Bellas arts, the Bodeguita del medio, the Cathedral of Havana, dozens of museums, restaurants, coffee, bars, where you can test the flavorful mojito or the refreshing daiquiri. We offer you comfortable, very clean rooms, security, with air conditioning, fan, private bathroom, plugs for 110 volt and 220 volt. You can enjoy the coexistence together with our family respecting your privacy in all moment. We offer you breakfast, cocktels, slight food, has dinner in the house, laundry, ironing of clothes, massages with specialists, classes of dances, service of taxis, walk in old cars or in cars thrown by horses, everything for people approved legally, agreeing the price directly among you and those that give him this service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing