We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (811)
Filter reviews
811 results
Traveler rating
524
193
55
17
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
193
55
17
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews elsa julio recommend hostal old havana habana vieja other casas helpful hosts walking distance to everything casa particular cuba trip helped us plan his wife central havana air conditioner stayed nights private bathroom high ceilings roque
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 811 reviews
Reviewed March 11, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in both Consulado and Lealtad. The location was excellent, it was at the heart of the city. They were very clean, beautiful and comfortable. The ambiance was very authentic and quaint. The area was also very safe. The hosts were very helpful. They arranged us taxis and prepared sandwiches and juices for our early departure. The breakfast was good, fruits and pancakes were very delicious.
I highly recommend you to stay in this “casa particular” during your visit.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Asli93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

My wife & I + 3 kids (12, 10, 7) stayed here for 3 nights last week and we were very pleased. It was our first trip to Cuba. Julio, Elsa & staff arranged for airport taxi before we arrived and helped us plan our activities upon arrival. We stayed in room #s 2 & 3 the first two nights and in room #1 on our last night (quad but big enough for our family). Great location and short walk to the main sites (betw old city & Malecon). Rooms had small outdoor balconies, AC, mini fridges and TVs too but we didn't use them. Breakfast was included and it was nice to talk with the other tourists at their large communal dining table. Casa decor had a lot of character. Julio & Elsa told us where to dine the first night and we loved it (Dona Eutimia near the old cathedral). They also arranged for our private taxi trip to Las Terrazas, Soroa and Vinales which was a highlight. After a couple days on the beach at Cayo Jutias we returned to the casa for our last night. They arranged for the airport taxi via Fusterlandia which was another highlight. Julio & Elsa have a great staff and they are caring, helpful hosts. They speak English. Manuel was one of our favorite drivers. We would def stay there again.

Room tip: The quad is a good room for families
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2019

It was our first trip to Cuba so we were a bit nervous. Contacted Elsa and Julio Roque at Hostal Peregrino via phone. She did not have a room, but said not to worry, that she would find us a place to stay. And she she did! And she set up someone to greet us at the airport and get us a taxi. Wow, what a relief! Her place looked amazing. We did have breakfast there the next day. Then she set us up for a day tour of Havana with Juan Luis, an English speaking tour guide. It was a fantastic experience - ask for him if you go. She arranged for us to move on to Playa Larga after that and set us up with a great place. She is the bomb! Highly recommended.

Room tip: They have several hostals. We saw two and both looked great.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

This was our last stay in Cuba, so we had seen a many casa particulares. Rooms are tidy and full on furniture, making it stand out and look funky. But our room had a lousy shower and the breakfast was a total disappointment. Street was very noisy at night, so bring earplugs (on a weekend for sure).

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2019

The Hostel Peregrino has 4 Locations all close to the old city. Elsa and Julio take high effort to support the guests, to organise transfers and guides. Huge breakfast and nice rooms all with private bathroom.
We mixed up the date for one night and within 20 min they were able to find us another location close by. They have an amazing guide with whom we spent 2 half days in and outside Havanna with his Opel from 1959. He used to be a teacher and knows so much.
When coming there they immediately instructed us on safety and what to do / not to do in Havanna. Any time again.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LagodiVacanze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews