We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A thorough delight- not to be missed”

Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana
Ranked #35 of 827 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Brand new restaurant , opened in February 2011. We were one of it's first customers. A 'Palador 'style restaurant located in a penthouse apartment of an of classic 1950's building; with magnificent views over the city and of the ocean. interior decor is modern1950's cool, creative, and artfully appointed. the food was excellent!!! One could could compare easily to a fine restaurant in Paris, NY or London. staff are young and attentive and gave great service.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

The dining scene in Havana is obviously well improved and making a decision on the best of the "paladares" (Cuba's intimate, in-home restaurants) is very challenging.

Top choices include Doña Eutimia 
and San Cristóbal 
however our favourite was Cafe Laurent.

It's all contradictions - remarkably professional with adept staff , Giselle was incredibly helpful and charming, yet retaining that warm home style in venue and food.

From the time we alighted the taxi to be escorted back down the residential lift we were impressed and made to feel valued guests.

Incredible value ( lobster for $10) given the circumstances including a more than satisfactory wine list.

Our best dining experience in Havana hands down being cognisant that after all this is still communist Cuba.

On our night there all tables were fully booked and reservations would seem essential.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynden K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Mr thanks for your comment, that you have felt treated with warmth and good food you have found a taste. For us every customer is important and so we try to make you feel, it is the satisfaction you visit and the desire to return is what counts.
You are absolutely right with the care of the back rooms and offices resulting restuarante room service, busy nights are neglected, it should not happen and will not happen. thanks for pointing Avisor is important to us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 556 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

The dinner we had at Cafe Laurent was among the best meals we had in Havana and a highlight of our trip. We were there as part of a large group, but the quality of the food and the experience did not suffer one bit. The staff were attentive and friendly, serving dishes that offered a variety of tastes, all of them delicious.

The design of the restaurant, with a modern look, open air patio and small bar, would never give away that it is a converted apartment.

If you're staying in the neighborhood, such as at the Nacional, it's a short walk. If you're elsewhere in town, hail a taxi. Either way, you won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RaginPlainsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thanks for sharing your opinion we care much attention to customers as part of a large group we watch attentively people with different power and we propose that each feel as special as really it is for our team, each customer that we visit. thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We discovered cafe Laurent after a long day driving from Vinales to Vedado. The soft lighting, breezes, and view from our table on the balcony were a balm to our spirits. We enjoyed appetizers and each entree---beef, lamb, red snapper, and seafood platter---as well as desserts. The servers were genuinely friendly and professional. As other reviewers note, Cafe Laurent is exceptionally well decorated and clean; it's truly one of the best dining experiences in Havana.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

First of all thanks for your comment, stay a pleasant memory for our customers is what we expect when we visit. After a day of travel you have found our home a place to enjoy good food and service according to your opinion. We are committed to each customer who arrives to our door.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent restaurant. Lovely setting; outstanding service and extremely interesting and well prepared food. All at a fraction of what it would cost in Chicago. Small but decently priced wine list.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank thailover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank Sr tell us your opinion and share it with other world travelers. We hope that as you visit us and other customers consider our restaurant with international quality. Keep and improve each day is what our team intends. thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good food in a smart, modern setting in a convenient location if you;re staying in Vedado. There are 2 reasons I've given it 4 stars and not 5 - one is the lift. We didn't fancy taking it as it's very old and rickety. This wasn't a problem for us, but could be for some people as the restaurant is on the 5th floor. Also we ordered an ensalada de vegetales which never arrived, but when the bill came we were charged for an ensalada de camarones! Rectified when we pointed it out, but do check. Expensive by Cuban standards.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank fred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

First of all it is necessary to offer you our apologies again, there is no justification to your table never got the dish that request, nor justifies the error in the account. Now we must offer our apologies again and sure opinion will be read by every one of our employees.
Please know that we do get good reviews all the team and who raise more reason we analyzed between each of our employees. Each day we attempt to improve ourselves and our customers keep a pleasant memory in full.
The elevator is in the years when the building was constructed without doubt is old, but we give systematic technical maintenance for our customers' security.
Thanks for your opinion again and you enjoyed our meal is a pleasure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing