We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best dining experiences in Havana”

Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana
Ranked #37 of 805 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Brand new restaurant , opened in February 2011. We were one of it's first customers. A 'Palador 'style restaurant located in a penthouse apartment of an of classic 1950's building; with magnificent views over the city and of the ocean. interior decor is modern1950's cool, creative, and artfully appointed. the food was excellent!!! One could could compare easily to a fine restaurant in Paris, NY or London. staff are young and attentive and gave great service.
Waterloo, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences in Havana”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We discovered cafe Laurent after a long day driving from Vinales to Vedado. The soft lighting, breezes, and view from our table on the balcony were a balm to our spirits. We enjoyed appetizers and each entree---beef, lamb, red snapper, and seafood platter---as well as desserts. The servers were genuinely friendly and professional. As other reviewers note, Cafe Laurent is exceptionally well decorated and clean; it's truly one of the best dining experiences in Havana.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
First of all thanks for your comment, stay a pleasant memory for our customers is what we expect when we visit. After a day of travel you have found our home a place to enjoy good food and service according to your opinion. We are committed to each customer who arrives to our door.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

996 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    584
    273
    80
    43
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“International quality”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Excellent restaurant. Lovely setting; outstanding service and extremely interesting and well prepared food. All at a fraction of what it would cost in Chicago. Small but decently priced wine list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thailover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank Sr tell us your opinion and share it with other world travelers. We hope that as you visit us and other customers consider our restaurant with international quality. Keep and improve each day is what our team intends. thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Some of the best food in Havana”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Good food in a smart, modern setting in a convenient location if you;re staying in Vedado. There are 2 reasons I've given it 4 stars and not 5 - one is the lift. We didn't fancy taking it as it's very old and rickety. This wasn't a problem for us, but could be for some people as the restaurant is on the 5th floor. Also we ordered an ensalada de vegetales which never arrived, but when the bill came we were charged for an ensalada de camarones! Rectified when we pointed it out, but do check. Expensive by Cuban standards.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fred j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
First of all it is necessary to offer you our apologies again, there is no justification to your table never got the dish that request, nor justifies the error in the account. Now we must offer our apologies again and sure opinion will be read by every one of our employees.
Please know that we do get good reviews all the team and who raise more reason we analyzed between each of our employees. Each day we attempt to improve ourselves and our customers keep a pleasant memory in full.
The elevator is in the years when the building was constructed without doubt is old, but we give systematic technical maintenance for our customers' security.
Thanks for your opinion again and you enjoyed our meal is a pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley, New York
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Elegant Setting”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lovely restaurant in an apartment building in the Velado area. . We walked up the hill to this restaurant from the Hotel National. A short walk and highly recommended if you are staying at the National. It is on the top floor and just beautiful. There are soft drapes all around the dining area with lights on them to make the room look so romantic. These drapes also keep the room quite protected from the wind on cooler nights. Food and service were excellent. This is a newer family run privately owned restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jrich1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion with the world's travelers, restaurant design it relied on creating an atmosphere of the 50s in the city today, where customers feel the right atmosphere to allow him to enjoy our food and views Havana. If you've been enjoying all this on our restaurant, then we can say that we are on the right path .... now our goal ..... keep!! This is the target of our team every day. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
226 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Stylish, upmarket restaurant”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Difficult to find so make sure your taxi driver has the address. It's close to the National Hotel, at the top of an apartment building. Fortunately there is an old antique lift that takes you up the four/five stories to the penthouse and what a view over the city! This is a very stylish and professional restaurant - very clean and modern looking.

The menu has a Spanish/basque element to it. We started with an unusual mashed potato, egg and cheese starter and a tuna cerviche, followed by grilled lobster and red snapper with clams and shrimp in green sauce. With two cocktails and a bottle of wine our bill came to 70 CUC.

A definite must to try whilst in Havana.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargaretGranada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Mrs Thank you for your comment that we designated as elegant and a good place to try during your stay in Havana honor us, and forces us to every customer who visits us feel that we are a restaurant where you will have an evening to remember. Thanks and we hope that if you return to Havana without doubt visit Cafe Laurent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing