We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favorite place to eat in Havana!!”

Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana
Ranked #31 of 783 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Brand new restaurant , opened in February 2011. We were one of it's first customers. A 'Palador 'style restaurant located in a penthouse apartment of an of classic 1950's building; with magnificent views over the city and of the ocean. interior decor is modern1950's cool, creative, and artfully appointed. the food was excellent!!! One could could compare easily to a fine restaurant in Paris, NY or London. staff are young and attentive and gave great service.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“My favorite place to eat in Havana!!”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been to Cuba 22 times in 18 years and this is my favorite place to eat. A penthouse apartment converted into a restaurant. Amazing food and wonderful staff!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alonso d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Wooo! 22 times in Cuba!! Thank you very much for choosing us, we are his favorite restaurant is significant, thanks again and our doors are always open waiting for you, because we believe that every trip you next visit and we will be happy to assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    555
    262
    75
    38
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious and relaxing”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I consider this restaurant is the best one in Havana, has a magnificent view of Vedado, the service is excellent and the food is exquisite, including the detailed presentation of each plate. The place is really cozy, whether in the Terrace with direct contact with the outside as well as inside with a unique decoration. I recommend it to anyone who wants to spend an excellent dinner in town.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Abdiel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Mr Thank you for your opinion and share it with other world travelers.
Our team works hard every day to satisfy our customers and to stay with the impression of a wonderful evening for us. We think of a decoration that had different details for the exterior being able to appreciate the views of Havana and inside keep a nice give freshness and feel the atmosphere of the glamorous 50s. If you felt good, it's good, keep this feeling in every customer who visits us is our goal.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level Contributor
100 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice surprise on a Cuban rooftop.”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Get an old cad to take you here (might as well enjoy your trip). It is an apartment building where you get in the elevator to the top floor. When you get out you will a see new if not "hip" place that is bustling with people. They have a small wine list and a good bar. There is a small area "lounge" are to relax and has a great view. The staff is very friendly and the food is very good. I was lucky enough to see the kitchen and I laugh when I see American Chefs say they don't have the "equipment" to put out a good product when this Paladar chef has a 4 burner stove, a griddle and small deep fryer. The chef was as passionate as any chef I have met in the US. This was a really great experience for my first Paladar.

Make reservations it helps.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Mr. thanks for your opinion, you touched a little detail, and is the passion of our chef at work, the rest of the team say they have "magician's hands" certainly are magicians because customers like you manage to smile and be amazed by way of satisfaction for what he has tasted in the restaurant when we saw more chef with great passion that kitchen equipment. Thanks again, will be a pleasure to welcome back the day you return to our country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Above the City Dinner”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had a very elegant evening at this palador restaurant. Our server was new, and so, some learning going on, but her mentor made up for this and overall the service was excellent. The food was very good. I would, indeed, return. The location is excellent, as its located on the fifth floor..so lots to see, especially at night.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katybud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for your comments make you have a special dinner is our goal and we feel that we must keep working to be better.
Thanks again and be a pleasure to meet him again if he decides to return and want to have a new dinner above the city
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still good”
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant was excellent when I first visited in Dec. 2011. I went back in Dec. 2012 and found it still very good, though not as outstanding as the first visit. It is in a great location in a penthouse of a pre-revolutionary apartment building in Vedado. It has a small bar overlooking Northern Vedado and the Malecon, and a nice terrace dining area. It is well decorated, nice atmosphere and a good menu of international and Cuban (fusion) fare. The grilled octopus used to be my favourite dish, but is no longer served. It also had a spectacular grilled fish, but this has been replaced with less impressive fillets. It is expensive by Cuban "paladar" standards, but worth the price for a nice dinner. To be certain to get a table, it is best to make a reservation (ask for the terrace).

Helpful?
1 Thank bwtropical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorenzo N, Propietario at Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thanks for sharing your opinion and even if not felt so good in his first visit as we titled as "still good" the octopus matenemos in the letter is marinating, Galician octopus is one that should be referred prefer, just out when we have larger octopus, however if you prefer this type of preparation you can ask our chef will make this dish exceptionally safe and will consider your request.
Thanks again and will always be a pleasure if you decide to return. Can you post us your reservation by phone or by e mail. Empathize with us so I can look forward to assist you personally.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Restaurante Paladar Cafe Laurent Habana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing