We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Non Governmant Paladar”

Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja
Ranked #68 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El “joven” restaurant abrió sus puertas el 13 de febrero del 2011, luego de meses de una ardua labor de sus dueños y de todo el equipo de trabajo. Enclavado en el patio de una hermosa casona del Vedado estilo años `40, tiene un especial magnetismo que se aprecia desde su amplia y fresca entrada, sus salones (al aire libre y climatizado), su singular cocina y la excelencia del servicio.Con un selecto menú se complacen los gustos de toda la clientela. La variedad es amplia y va desde nuestra comida tradicional hasta recetas únicas e innovadoras de una total tendencia gourmet; siendo el factor común la selección cuidadosa de los ingredientes y las atrevidas presentaciones que realzan las texturas, sabores, colores y aromas.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Good Non Governmant Paladar”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Paladar (ie. - privately owned and operated) La Moraleja is a nice spot for dinner but not the best in town. We had our choice of lobster, duck or lamb. Two drinks were included and I had a bottle of Bucanero which is equivalent to an amber ale in the US. It has 5.4% ABV.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tod82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for all your opportune comments. We work very hard every day to become the best place in town and for satisfy our visitors, we will take into account all your suggestions. We hope you come back soon.
Best regards, La Moraleja Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    180
    79
    16
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Our best meal in Cuba...”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This was our last meal in Cuba before we flew back to the UK. We'd had a fantastic three-week trip round the island but we both agreed that one of the highlights had NOT been the food (to be fair, we'd be warned so our expectations were realistic.). Nonetheless we were thrilled to get some genuinely tasty food at this pleasant paladar, and though it cost a bit more it was worth it for the diversity of flavours and textures on offer. The large Greek salad we devoured was particularly welcome (olive oil is never available in Cuba, but they had obtained some), and my prawns were also very good indeed.

We were a bit disappointed that the maitre d' got slightly frosty when we politely declined the 'special' he was trying to sell - twice - he needs to accept that some people just don't like octopus! But the complementary rum and cigar were a nice touch and overall we were very pleased to have eaten here - it was a nice way to round off the trip. Just ten minutes from the Hotel Nacional, where we were staying, too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightonianMiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello!
Thank you very much for expresing your opinions about our restaurant and for all the comments made. We work very hard each day to improve our service, and as a result, when our visitors feel satisfy, just as you do, that is the best reward that we expect.
We hope to see you again very soon. You will always be welcome.
Best regards, La Moraleja Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaree Forks, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“A most memorable first night in Havana”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We arrived in Havana on December 31, 2013. Unable to get a dinner reservation at out hotel, our concierge booked us in to La Moraleja. It was truly a night to remember. We were given the choice of if I remember correctly, four menus. As the menus were in Spanish, we asked our host for his recommendation based on our love of seafood. Well, it just kept coming, starting with mojitos followed by many seafood delights, a wonderful bottle of red wine, and ending with an offer of a cigar and some aged rum. We were entertained by the most impressive trio of young opera singers that I have ever had the pleasure of listening to live. My only regret is that we did not check to see if they had CDs available for purchase. We were made to feel like we had joined a family dinner, yet had the privacy of a romantic evening out. The staff were attentive yet never in the way. I would highly recommend experiencing an evening at this restaurant, just make sure to give yourself the time to linger and enjoy every moment. We will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KayandAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hello!!
We are very happy of having made you feel so good, as in family dinner. These "little things" are the most important for us. We really hope you come back soon and we will be waiting for you. So, welcome once more and feel yourself in home.
Best regards from Cuba, La Moraleja Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top notch eating in La Habana”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

This lovely eating spot, walking distance from both the Hotel Nacional and the well-known ice cream place, Coppelia, is a quiet, relaxing refuge. In the garden of a lovely casa, the restaurant has a diverse menu, good food, and excellent service. Must be one of the best places to eat in Havana at a reasonable price.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynnD D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi!
Thank you so much for all the comments. We are very glad of making you feel so good. We hope to you soon again.
Best regards from Havana, La Moraleja Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level 6 Contributor
461 reviews
312 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Outstanding paladar”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Dinner at La Moraleja was memorable! Excellent food, fun and friendly service, do not miss this place! It is a casual, cozy and classy restaurant, just walking through the creative entrance makes one quickly feel at home. Our group of 6 had a fun night sharing wonderful food, music and lots of laughter. Really can't say enough about the excellent service, servers were such fun, really added to the enjoyment of our meal. Would go back in a flash!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alabamatripcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olga L, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Hi!!!
We are very glad you feel at home. We hope to see tou soon again.You will always gonna have wonderful moments at our restaurant, because you deserve it. We work very hard for that.
Best regards from Havana, La Moraleja Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Restaurant - Paladar - La Moraleja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing