We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Casa Lisette

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Lisette
Ranked #195 of 694 Havana B&B and Inns
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2012

After originally having tried to book online at Casa de Ana, we were recommended to stay here and were very pleased with the accommodation and friendly welcome to Havana.

The location in Vedado is in a safe area, and easily accessible to the Havana tourist bus that goes into Central/Old Havana. There are also many Taxis going past on the main road that are easy to hail if needed.

Lisette and Robert were very welcoming to us and helpful in suggesting various things to see and do. They also have a breakfast option available for 5CUC which made things very convenient and we enjoyed very much.

The room was clean and comfortable, with an air conditioner, mini fridge and a TV. Although the bathroom that we had was separate from our room, it was still for private use and was clean and functional.

Would certainly recommend this Casa as a place to stay whilst in Havana.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
35
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
102 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2012

Although a fairly basic "Casa Particular" in Havana, Roberto and Lissette made us so welcome and helped us with every aspect of our trip. We returned at the end of our months tour of Havana and they let us leave our bags there all day until our evening flight and rang a taxi for us. Roberto speaks ok English and has a big smile. Of the 13 rooms we stayed in Cuba, this was the safest and most friendly.

Room Tip: Keep the windows closed to cut out the traffic noise. Head due South to a simple cheap 24 hour bar!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We booked on line having never visited Cuba and were so fortunate to have picked Casa Lisette. Our hosts Roberto and Lisette were warm, welcoming and made us feel very in their comfortable in their home. They cooked for us each evening and we shared a Ventine's meal with them on 14th February. We enjoyed ourselves so much we booked two more nights with them before we left for home sharing our experiences of Cuba with them. Staying with a family in Cuba is to experience something of their way of life and we really appreciated this. We are a couple in our late 60 ies and would recommend having an 'adventure' in Cuba and staying with Roberto and Lisette in particular. They also booked on-going accommodation for us which was a great help and another great experience. We hope to stay with them again in February,

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spangle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent a week at Casa Lissette and we cannot wait to visit them again! The family is generous, kind, funny and helpful; they made us feel at home. The bedrooms are comfortable, the breakfasts are fresh and delicious, the neighbourhood is a safe residential space with great restaurants and cafes. Make sure you try the lobster prepared by host for dinner! Staying at Casa Lissette allowed us to get as close and intimate to life in Cuba as a tourist ever can. Don't hesitate in staying at Casa Lissette!

Room Tip: Rooms have an A/C, TV and fully stocked fridge. House is charming and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

We had booked two weeks at a Varadero all inclusive but wanted a Havana experience as well. we arrived in Havana from Varadero by local transit - it was an easy bus trip to arrange and very comfortable. the Havana main bus terminal is a short cab ride to Casa Lisette.
we originally hoped to stay at Casa Ana but it was not available but Ana arranged for us to stay at Casa Lisette. Casa Lisette turned out to be the hilight of our Cuban holiday. Lisette, Roberto and family opened their homes and treated us like family. it was the little things they did that made all the difference. They noticed it was my husband's birthday and surprised him with a special Cuban gift that became our favourite Cuban souvenir.
Our room was updated and fresh and the location is not close to Old Havana but rather in a pleasant residential area. We were able to catch the hop on hop off tourist bus right at the corner of their block. or you could take a cab to Old Havana for about $5.
Lisette and Robero prepared wonderful meals and the presentation of each meal was a delight.
We arranged a tour of Old Havana through Casa Ana with Pipi as our guide - we highly recommend you combine your stay at Casa Lisette with an Old Havana tour with Pipi. Casa Ana and Casa Lisette are in the same neighborhood.
Our only regret was that we only stayed 2 nights with Lisette and Roberto. . .next time we'll stay longer!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonamecanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

Accommodations - We stayed with Lisette, Robert and Robert Jr for a long weekend. Our room was on the main floor of their beautiful home and had it's own newly renovated private bathroom. Our room had a/c and a stocked mini-fridge. Although there is a window, it faces a wall so there is no view (you might want to close the window so you don't hear the traffic at night). The house has a big front terrace with a hammock which was perfect to enjoy a drink or a book. The family was very kind and accommodating, they made us feel right at home. They'll give you a key so you can come and go on your own schedule, as Havana can result in some late nights, they leave you a note pad to tell them what time you'd like to have breakfast. Lisette works in a tourist resort and, as a result, is an excellent hostess. Robert is also very hospitable, always ready with a rum drink and time to chat.

Location - It's a big old house in a residential neighborhood. The house is located about 2 blocks from the Malecon and 3 blocks from the cemetery (where you can catch the hop on hop off tourist bus). It's a long walk to old Havana (it took us 2 hours) but if you're up for it, it's an interesting walk through the university and central Havana. A $5 cab ride will also get you to old Havana.

Food - Lisette and Robert make great breakfasts and dinner. We had big breakfasts everyday and they made us a huge lobster dinner one evening. On my tourist visa, they noticed that it was my birthday while visiting and surprised me with a birthday cake.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Where2Wander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

This Casa is really good. Great people, atmosphere and room. Just by 23 st. that is the main street down to Old Havana (1CUC to oldtown). Good english skills and very good food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarinNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.0 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,205 reviews
1.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#11 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#18 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#30 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Lisette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Lisette

Property: Casa Lisette
Address: Calle 24 /378 bajos entre 21 y 23 | Vedado, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 694 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE HOUSE OF LISETTE is located in the vedado district in the center of the city, exactly in the street 24 and 23, with access to all of the routes for transportation to historical places, restaurants, museums, etc,quiet area in addition to a lot of security in our facility all the time ,with pleasure we will waiting for you thank you very much. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing