We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Imprenta

La Imprenta
Ranked #104 of 765 Restaurants in Havana
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant deserves a listing.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very interesting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had dinner here in december 2013, 4 people. The most striking feature of this place is the premises: an old print workshop. There is old machinery as decoration, the tables and stools are giant wooden letter blocks and a very interesting courtyard is opened to the sky, surrounded by self-standing pieces of the old court facade... it has to be seen.
The service is professional and the food, good for Havana. The prices are better than others which makes it a perfect place for some lobster.
As usual, there is live music which may be annoying for some.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    226
    79
    40
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Probably the best "value for money" restaurant in Old Havana”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

Very nice restaurant, professional and honest service, very good cuisine, great lobster for 12 CUC, lamb for about 7 CUC.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Petr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rmd73
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over priced tourist ripoff - best avoided”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We were wandering past this restaurant one afternoon having a look at the menu outside when a couple emerged and declared it as having been the best meal in Cuba to date. Being firm believers in recommendations we vowed to return later that evening.
The blackboard outside was advertising an interesting array of food including chateaux briand, pastas, soups and the like. Once shown to our table, however, upon requesting the menu we were told that this would not be possible; there were only two choices available - the grilled meat selection or the grilled fish selection. This appeared to be supported by what our fellow dinners were also tucking into.
We opted for one of each and the food was nicely presented and of fair quality albeit a little bland (something we had become accustomed to in our brief time in Cuba).
The building itself is an old printing press with the much of the furniture cleverly crafted in the shape of letters - this was a really nice touch. Unfortunately, however, the most memorable part of the meal was the bill. At just over 40CUC for two mains, two deserts and two bottles of water this proved to be the most expensive meal during our stay in Cuba. We managed to achieve similarly bland and uninspiring food elsewhere for a fraction of the price.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank rmd73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice try, but try again!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

The place is beautiful.
The food and the live music need an upgrade. The service was great, so were the mojitos, but the main dish of the 2013 Christmas night, definitely was not the food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank camo_rj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
258 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The best furnished restaurant in Havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Their specialties are definitely not suitable for a vegetarian, but I could have some cheese and vegetables. The place is and old printing house, and everything is nicely adjusted to the theme.
Unfortunately the location is the most touristical one in Havana.
Friendly staff, decent mojitos.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eballix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Imprenta also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Imprenta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing