We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food & atmosphere!”
Review of Restaurant La Casa

Restaurant La Casa
Ranked #19 of 783 Restaurants in Havana
Price range: $15 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: La Casa restaurant is the result of a wide family heritage and also a dream came true.Its been more than 18 years since the day we opened to the public in our Californian stylish house, built in the 1950s. Our desire was to become a family restaurant, where guests could enjoy the authentic Cuban food, cooked in our kitchen following the recipes for Cuban food, among those a large number of our family heritage recipes.
1 review
“Great food & atmosphere!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Food is just great - I don't think it matters what you pick. Alejandro, the owner, clearly really wants you to feel at home & to take care of you. Our fantastic guide Daniel, that took care of us for the day, guiding us around Havana, was the guy that booked it for us. What a welcome treat & the best mojitos I have had in my life!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scot L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alejandrolacasa, Propietario at Restaurant La Casa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks for your feedback. It's great to know that you were pleased with our food and the atmosphere warm and familiar. Prepare cocktails that are very liked by our customers, especially the mojitos and pina coladas. We hope to return in La Casa.
Regards,
Alejandro Robaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    792
    255
    55
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“First Havana Experience and Not disappointed!”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our first trip to Cuba and during a day trip to Havana our awesome tour guide brought us to La Casa. All we ever heard is that the food in Cuba (resorts i guess)was not that great and after visiting this spot, we know that is definitely not true! The food was awesome and the atmosphere was even better! Seeing the family running around talking with guests, the staff and patrons all happy and excited to be there made this one of our favourite spots during our trip. I am dying to get the recipe for the 'Cuban Sauce' that was served on the chicken dish if anyone has it :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alejandrolacasa, Propietario at Restaurant La Casa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Truly appreciate your comment and your recommendation. It's great to know that you and your husband, like most of our customers, have left pleased with our food and our services. We hope to see you around here.
Regards,
Alejandro Robaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AMAZING!!!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food here was the highlight of our 6 day trip to Cuba. After bad resort food and constant strive for better food. This was heaven. Being a Non vegetarian I could eat anything or at least I thought I could. Until I realized food in Cuba sucked. After this place, My opinion switched.

Food: 2 of my friends were vegetarian and I am non veg. They made exclusive meals for the 2 and I got the shrimp 3 course meal. Best 18 bucks ever spent. They made some Eggplant curry and a cheese dish. The rice and beans were fantastic. The shrimp dish was fair. The vegetarian was just mind blowing. Honestly a road to a man's heart is his stomach.

Service: The waitress was polite and was a pleasure to being served by. They gave us complimentary shots of Banana Vodka. I had to buy one of those at the Duty Free before I left. We also had to change clothes, they let us into a room. We tried tip the waiters. They were polite to refuse. We did anyways.

Ambiance: Soothing and relaxed. There is a waterfall in the restaurant. You could smoke in the patio section of the restaurant. The decor was homely as it is a Casa.

Definitely you are up for a treat at this place. Our tour guide Jaymara was best at finding this spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ayanosphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alejandrolacasa, Propietario at Restaurant La Casa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thanks you very much for your comment. It's great to know that you enjoyed your visit to La Casa. Certainly in our extensive menu we also have vegetarian options for customers, and lobster and seafood are prefers by visitors. We hope to return to Havana, visit us again, and recommend us to their friends.
Regards,
Alejandro Robaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etobicoke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food in Cuba”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The best Pina Colada ever served in a pineapple, the lobster tails were huge, the soup starter was delicious. The price was more than reasonable for what you received.
We were served quickly the staff was friendly.
This is a must go to place if you are in Havana.
We felt this was the best place we ate at the whole week.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alejandrolacasa, Propietario at Restaurant La Casa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing us. We hope to return to Havana, visit us again, and recommend us to your friends. Over here we will be waiting without fail, sure you will enjoy
much more from our family atmosphere, and food that distinguishes us.
While seafood and pina colada to our customers really like, when they return they can choose other options from our extensive menu, and surely will equally pleased.
Regards,
Alejandro Robaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A true palador”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Paladors are supposed to be family restaurants, although many don't seem to be. This one really is.

We couldn't have had a nicer reception by a family that clearly had pride in their home and restaurant. We met 3 generations of the family in who's home we were in.

The food was good. The appetizer platter was recommended (we had 7 at our table) and they were really interesting and different.

I'd recommend this palador.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SanFranDan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alejandrolacasa, Propietario at Restaurant La Casa, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Truly appreciate your comment and your recommendation. It's great to know that you and your friends, like most of our customers have left pleased with our food and our services. We hope to see you around here. We hope to have you back and and recommend us to your friends.
Regards,
Alejandro Robaina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Casa also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Restaurant La Casa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing