We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Guarida”
Review of La Guarida

La Guarida
Ranked #29 of 832 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: "It's the most famous of Havana's Paladares" New York Times, August 2002. "The greatest and most magical is La Guarida, so magical that it is temting to protect it by witholding its address" The Guardian, February 2001. "The city's best restaurant....La Guarida is the hardest table to reserve on the island this remains the hippest best restaurant in Havana" Cigar Aficionado, June 2001.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've been to La Guarida five or six times now and I have never been disappointed. It's certainly on the 'must visit' list for anyone visiting Havana, but unfortunately that's the main problem with the place - every tourist in Havana goes there, so it's always full of tourists. Nowhere's perfect, I guess!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank AlistairRiddell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,629 - 1,633 of 3,339 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2013

You must not miss a meal here, but book in advance. The building is fascinating with its use as mini-family homes and a restaurant, in what was once a magnificent building which retains a photogenic charm.
The food was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient. It well deserves its popularity. I would love to go back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pennina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We went at lunch so walked just a few steps out of the old town, we didn't need to book but it is recommended if going in the evening. Food was the best we had during our stay, the setting was lovely in crumbling Cuban colonial building up the stairs and passed the washing but once inside it is beautifully decorated with great service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend you book a table here while in Cuba. Cuba is renowned for poor food, but La Guarida will see to it that you have at least one great meal!
We booked in advance online, no problems. It's a little difficult to find and in an area that's not great so definitely get a taxi. The restaurant is in a stunning crumbling mansion, and it isn't state-owned, so the owners keep the takings! The food was excellent and yes, it is a little expensive (in Cuban terms at least) but no more than you'd pay for a good meal in the UK. Service is great and the wine was pretty good too. Really not to be missed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Angela1Wales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

The setting is delightful. Full of contrasts. Food was tasty and good quality. This is a must if you are in Havana.
Totally charming.

Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guarida also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Guarida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing