We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must”
Review of La Guarida

La Guarida
Ranked #26 of 839 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cuban, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: "It's the most famous of Havana's Paladares" New York Times, August 2002. "The greatest and most magical is La Guarida, so magical that it is temting to protect it by witholding its address" The Guardian, February 2001. "The city's best restaurant....La Guarida is the hardest table to reserve on the island this remains the hippest best restaurant in Havana" Cigar Aficionado, June 2001.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

This was the first restaurant we booked upon arriving in Havana. And it was such a delightful experience all round: the getting there by bicycle taxi, the crumbling mansion with a family living on the first floor (we got lost!), the dark marble staircase and the third floor closed front door (was this the right place?) kept us smiling all the way to our table. The place is packed with treasures on the walls, the furniture, the sculptures, etc., everything is fascinating. The food was good, certainly amazing compared to some of the other food we had in Cuba, and the wine good too. The tuna in coconut was really tasty and the lemon tart absolument délicieuse! I will definitely go back again and want to explore the other rooms and some other items on the menu. I recommend it as a must.

Thank martine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,405)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,681 - 1,685 of 3,408 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2013

Food not as good as the reviews, but definitely worth a visit for the atmosphere. You walk into a building with marble staircases that looks like it was abandoned years ago. When you finally make it upstairs, you are in a charming paradar. Try to get a terrace table.

Thank Elyse E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We had a delicious meal in this paladar, which our Cuban guide said was just "ok." I can't imagine what her interpretation of really good food would be! Our meal was beautifully presented and exquisitely prepared. The restaurant was packed the Monday night we were there - still our waitress was able to smile and joke convincingly despite having to work at lightening speed. I cannot wait to go again - though I will have to since Cuba is not part of the regular tourist route for Americans.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ewparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

In a 3 story building where people live in tiny beat up rooms on the first floor and the second floor is totally empty, you go to the next floor where there is this amazing restaurant. in several small interestingly decorated rooms, the food is truly awesome. Everyone you goes to Havana needs to make there way to this place.

Thank rweis1d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

There is nothing not to like in La Guarida, in my opinion... First of all getting there is intriguing enough by itself. i was hesitant to step in this huge entrance but the smiling and very polite door man welcomed me. And there it was a pure part of Havana, the amazing marble stairs wittnessing the old times luxury. The very kind and always smiling staff provide a very good service throughout the whole dinner. The dishes were all of them very delicate, tasty and full of surprises. The thing is that i could not keep my self seatted because i could not get enough of this buiding. I believe that if you go to Havana, this place is a Must Go!!!!

Thank Maro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Guarida also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Guarida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing