We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Havana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel
Ranked #5 of 687 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Havana”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in December, 13th to 16th. Yadilis and Joel are great hosts. The room was very spacious, we were in one of the rooms near the terrace, the bathroom was nice and clean. We opted to have breakfast at the Casa every morning, which was filling and tasty. The Casa is in a great location for sight seeing around Old Havana, and a short walk to the main sights. We were very glad we chose to stay here and if we ever return to Havana i would definitely look to stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhav26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments, it was really a pleasure help you during your stay, We are going to continue work very hard to get better. We look forward to welcoming you back to the house on your next trip to Cuba or recommended to your friend,
Regards, thanks
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,012 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    940
    68
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
81
720
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Joel and Yadilis are wonderful hosts. They are helpful, thoughtful and helped us choose the best transport option to Vinyales.

Every morning we were treated to a fresh, home cooked breakfast that is better than lots you would find in town. This casa has a lovely vibe to it - warm and friendly. I also loved it that we got our own key, which meant accessing it at any time of the day was easy and didn't disturb the family.

The guest rooms are on its own floor so there is ample privacy. We would have stayed there for an extra night after returning from Vinyales, however they were fully booked out. It's a testament to their excellent work ethic.

Excellent location and excellent hygiene standards. Plus great food, what more could you ask? Stay at Yadilis and Joel's Casa!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirleys177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YADILIS, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Hello
we are Yadilis and Joel
thanks so much for your great opinion about our home, we are so pleased for your commentary, We really appreciate your kind comments, we work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier we hope in the future came again.
Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My son and I stayed with Joel and Yadilis for two nights at the start of our trip and another night at the end. Both times we wanted to stay longer but they were heavily booked. The casa is great, centrally located, and an easy walk to everything. The roof top terrace is a haven to come back to at the end of the day and both Joel and Yadilis are extremely helpful and friendly - when they were booked out, they helped us find alternative accommodation which was good quality but not as good as theirs!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaB2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palomita3ra, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello
I have read with great pleasure your review regarding your stay here our house. We appreciate your valuable comments. We can to know how guests are able to appreciate our job to achieve their full satisfaction. We work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier I really thank you taking the time to write these comments which will help future clients to find the right destination for your next holidays. I hope you will have a small corner in you life to remember Yadilis and Joel house.

Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taipei
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

My friend and I stayed with Joel and Yadilis for three nights in November, and we enjoyed our stay very much!

The casa is located in Havana Vieja with many attractions are within walking distance. Our room is spacious and super clean, with hot and strong water in the bathroom, which is important because not every casa in Cuba offers it.

More importantly, Yadilis and Joel are great hosts. They are very nice, very helpful, and speak good English. They work hard to keep the casa clean and their warmth would make you want to come back again! Highly recommend this casa!

Yanchi, Taiwan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Azure M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palomita3ra, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello
I have read with great pleasure your review regarding your stay here our house. We appreciate your valuable comments. We can to know how guests are able to appreciate our job to achieve their full satisfaction. We work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier I really thank you taking the time to write these comments which will help future clients to find the right destination for your next holidays. I hope you will have a small corner in you life to remember Yadilis and Joel house.

Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived by bus from Varadero Airport and were dropped on 'The Prado' in downtown Havana in front of the Hotel Caribbean. It was just a short walk - only a couple minutes to walk to Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel for a 2 night stay (60CUC total). It is definitely close to everything in Havana Vieja and Centro. We were warmly welcomed by Yadilis on arrival and shown to our room on the 3rd floor. VERY nice with fridge, table & chairs and decent size bath, and functioning air conditioner. This room had the nicest furniture of the 3 Casas we stayed in on our trip. There was a little outside noise during the day, but with the AC fan on we heard nothing at night or in early morning.
Let me be clear, we do NOT speak Spanish. We know a few words, but can't really string together a sentence. Yadilis' and Joel's English was far superior, although not perfect. We were able to communicate enough to get questions answered and learn a few things from them. Breakfast was good (4CUC each) with fresh fruit, bread, eggs coffee & juice. Bed was firm but comfortable, more closet space than the other 2 Casas. We took a 'gift' of items from Canada, that are hard to come by in Cuba. We were able to contact our hosts in advance to see if there was any small things in particular that they wished for. We brought AA batteries and Spices to fufill their requests. These (and other items) were warmly received. If you go here and decide to do the same, they have 2 children a girl just turning 11 and a boy 15.
We also had dinner here one night and had a very nice meal (10CUC) of fish for my wife and pork for me.
They were very helpful in organizing us for a bus ride to Trinidad City. Rather than trying to get across town to the Viazul station (think Greyhound), Yadilis said to go to one of the big hotels on Parque Central and get on one of the tour buses. Same price and just a walk back to Hotel Caribbean to catch it. Saved us cab fare and a very early morning!
We would not hesitate to stay here again and refer it to friends.

Room Tip: Didn't see the other rooms but the 3rd floor back room was great for us (Double Bed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drudell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palomita3ra, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello
Thanks for your comments; we are going to continue work very hard to get better. We hope when you come back again you have excellent holidays .

Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

You will not be disappointed when visiting Joel and Yadilis! They are a wonderful couple - helpful, warm, happy and always pleased to help and keen to chat, both on Cuba, and on our life.

We stayed for 3 nights at the end of our trip and couldn't have wished for more - they kindly organised our taxi arrangements, cooked us lovely meals and helped us plan our trips in and around Havana. Both Joel and Yadilis speak excellent English which really improved our stay. Our room had hot water (not often guaranteed in Cuba's casas), was spacious with Air con and newly appointed. Joel is apparently always improving their property (is currently working on a roof top terrace), and there is also a terrace which we sat out at to relax.

Unsurprisingly, they left us with a gift (thank you both!) and warm memories of our Havana experience.

Thanks Joel and Yadilis - we really hope to see you again soon.

Nick & Charlie, Canterbury, UK

Room Tip: Some rooms are bigger than others (4 in total I believe)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palomita3ra, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are very happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We really appreciate your kind comments, it was really a pleasure help you during your stay, We are going to continue work very hard to get better. We look forward to welcoming you back to the house on your next trip to Cuba or recommended to your friend,
Regards, thanks
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed with Joel and Yadilis for six nights having read great reviews on trip advisor.It didn't disappoint.They were perfect hosts and the best place we ate during our time in Cuba.They also arranged a place for us to stay after we departed for Vinales which was also very nice.Extremely nice people whom we would recommend to anyone visiting Cuba.
Anthony and Philip,Ireland

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anthony_moran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palomita3ra, Propietario at Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Hello
we are Yadilis and Joel
thanks so much for your great opinion about our home, we are so pleased for your commentary, We really appreciate your kind comments, we work very hard and this compliment makes our job easier we hope in the future came again.
Thanks so much
Casa Colonial Yadilis and Joel
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.4 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,642 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,335 reviews
2.7 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,633 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel

Property: Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel
Address: Industria # 120 / Trocadero y Colon | Centro Habana, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 687 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colonial House Yadilis and Joel in the heart of Havana just 5 minutes walk from the historic town declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site, Capitol, Revolution Museum, Museum of Fine Arts, Bars, Factories of Snuff, Restaurants La Bodeguita del Medio and Floridita, House of Music, Chinatown, Malecon Habanero, San Carlos Castillo of the hut, The bay of Havana. Just 15 minutes you can enjoy the fantastic beaches of the EastAmenities:• Air Conditioning• TV• Refrigerator• Private bathroom inside the room (hot and cold water)• single or double beds, at its option.• car parking• Telephone• Laundry service• Safe• Terrace• High hygiene. We do not have pets at home• We help you plan your trip around the Island• Dining Service ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Colonial Yadilis y Joel Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing