We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awful and terrible”
Review of La Roca

La Roca
Ranked #49 of 783 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: International, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awful and terrible”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

The gastronomic experience is the following: breaded meat with LOTS of oil and bland taste.
They don't offer any fresh juice nor anything other than the canned drinks.
Price is affordable but even too high for the quality of the food. The AC is on constantly providing a 16 Celsius all the time. No toilet paper...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ParticularCuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    235
    63
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great rstaurant, great value for money”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Great restaurant for excellent value. Massive sandwiches and burgers for 2-3 CUC and set meals including 1 drink and dessert for less than 5 CUC. We stayed in a hotel close by for 1 night and went to La Roca 3 times. :)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bla-bla-blubb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“La Roca has changed for the worse”
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Previously one of our favourite restaurants in the city, La Roca has undergone some changes which left us scratching our heads... and walking out the door. We normally eat here every year, as it is near the hotel where we usually stay. This time, we walked in to find the decor completely changed. The place is now dark and cramped, with too many tables and chairs squeezed in.

The server gave us a list of dishes which we thought were the specials of the day, but we later wondered if she was listing the only items available. We perused the menu but for every item we tried to order, she told us they didn't have it and tried to steer us to something more expensive. The third time this happened, we gave up and decided to leave. I am not a picky eater but did not see anything in the limited choices available that I wanted, and the closest to the one I tried to order was more than twice the price.

With new restaurants opening and increasing competition, we wondered if La Roca was trying to go upscale. But the charm of the old restaurant has vanished and we found the decor cheesy and even a little creepy. We will not be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

The fact that there are usually more Cubans than tourists speaks to the value of this restaurant.The menu is extensive and the prices are unbeatable. Lineups after 7 but you can always get a seat in the bar while you wait for your table. Eat well for $6 CUC, including a drink.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food for cheap!”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

For less than the equivalent of 5 US dollars, we got a meal that was large and filling. It was a good variety of Cuban food, and along with the entree, a drink and dessert were also included in the price of the meal. Located right up the street from the National Hotel of Cuba, it was easy to walk to. Worth a trip if you're looking for authentic Cuban food at a low price.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Meghan_Nicole11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Roca also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to La Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing