We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see (and taste) in Habana”

Museo del Ron Havana Club
Ranked #42 of 232 things to do in Havana
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: At the Museo del Ron Havana Club you can learn about the history and making process of this Cuban rum. Tours run every 15 min in different languages. Booking is recommended. The use of cameras is allowed and at the end of the tour you can enjoy Havana Club 7 year-old rum.
Perth
Level Contributor
223 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“A must see (and taste) in Habana”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Interesting tour through the museum. A bit of fun where most of the museums are so dour and full of the incessant wars and revolutions.
Some great rums to taste - put aside your preconceptions, there is rum to rival fine whisky here.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DiggerPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    432
    267
    78
    25
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, Nederland
Level Contributor
157 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good tour with some tasting at the end”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

A short tour in spanish, english, german, french or italian gives you an idea about the history of Havana Club and mainly the process of making different types of rum. You can taste one kind of rum in the end. Can get a bit crowded.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tissa010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good but over-priced!”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was really excited about visiting the Havana Club musuem after visiting other similar experiences (Jack Daniels factory, Guinness etc), and although our tour guide was funny and informative, for $7CUC the tour only lasted around 20 mins! You did get a free shot of 7 year old rum at the end, which was really nice, and I would reccommend the drink served in the reception area where they were using fresh sugar cane and oranges, really refreshing and lovely.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank emilyl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1,505 reviews
960 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 770 helpful votes
“Short and pricey”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having been to Cognac houses, whiskey distilleries and beer breweries, I usually know what to expect from this kind of tour. I have to say, though, I was disappointed by this tour. It was really brief, it couldn't have lasted more than half an hour and for that they charge you 7 CUC. Our guide was nice and funny, but still, I didn't learn much new stuff by visiting the Rum museum. You finish with a rum tasting in the museum shop, but beware, the rum available for sale here is quite overpriced. Go to any grocery store and buy your Havana Club there instead.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fun and overpriced”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The Museum of Rum is a very small museum, costing 7 CUC/visit as per January 2013. For that you get a guided tour (you have to have a guided tour) that explains quite nicely the basics of rum making and the history of sugar industry in Cuba in very broad and politically correct terms. The word Bacardi is not uttered once, which is funny considering that the Bacardi family was responsible for making Cuban rum world renown. There are many references to the exquisiteness of Havana Club rum, and we did learn some interesting details about the characteristics of the different types. Then we received a free sample of the 7 year Anejo (which recoups half of the entrance price). There is also a bar and a gift shop, and they have music although we did not stay. Overall it was worthwhile.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museo del Ron Havana Club also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Museo del Ron Havana Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing