We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casa in Habana Centro.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Amada & Malecon House
Ranked #93 of 687 Havana B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great casa in Habana Centro.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Casa Amada. We stayed for 5 nights in late December before heading to Cienfuegos.

The casa is in a great location in Centro Habana. Just off Neptuno and a few blocks from the Malecon. There are several small stores with in a few blocks (on Neptuno) where you can buy water, beer, rum and snacks. :)

Our room was large, clean, comfortable, equipped with 2 single beds (as requested), a wall mounted fan and a mini-fridge. It also had several windows opening on to the corridor. It was the perfect room for our first few days in this beautiful country and the best casa we stayed in during this trip.

The breakfast was good, but basic; coffee, fresh fruit juice, fresh fruit, eggs (scrambled, fried or omelet) and bread & butter. Dinner wasn't offered.

Didn't meet any other guests as there isn't really a common area that I'm aware of.

They were able to help us with laundry when requested. Quick turn around, reasonably priced and no bleach stains or other such mishaps.

Elizabeth was kind enough to call our casa in Cienfuegos to confirm our stay. She also got us a reasonably priced taxi (Gilberto) to the Viazul station for our departure.

I would book in advance. Landline is +537 862 3924 or casaamada@yahoo.es

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RestlessRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    43
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
24
82
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília, Distrito Federal, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I am trying to book a place to stay in Havana and seems impossible to book online. Can anyone help me please?
If anyone has this casa amada telephone number would be great, so I can call then and ask if it is available for the date I need.
Regards

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Elida D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locarno, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We arrived at Casa Amada at 2.00 in the morning after luggage problems at the airport. The outside was uninspiring, and there were no less than 3 iron to ceiling metal gates to get through before reaching the first floor. An elderly lady waited for us at the top gate and let us in wordlessly. She showed us to our room, which was perfectly adequate with a decent bathroom, soap and towels. We were told we could have breakfast whenever we liked¨!. And we had the best breakfast, prepared to order omlette and fresh coffee, toast and jam as well as fresh fruit juice. There are several rooms, and a communal lounge area, with family photographs and a lovely old world atmosphere. The family was very hospitable, despite the iron gates, and very accommodating - late arrival, late breakfast, late check out and they called us a taxi next day to the airport

Room Tip: Our room was facing the street. It might be quieter in the rooms facing the courtyard, but we slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giudicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Older house, early 20th century? Thick walls, high ceilings (18 feet?), once had windows opening between rooms laid out in a row, and onto patio corridor. Now closed off for privacy, bathrooms, air conditioning. Less airflow, but very acceptable; nice to imagine as it once was. Terrace overlooking the street, hear talk, drumbeat, salsa music, vehicle horns from many sources. Good fan, quiet room w/out outside window. (Choice of another w/ street window.) Habana Centro; neighborhood seems rough in terms of narrow uneven sidewalks, but not dangerous. Maybe 15 minutes walk to Old Habana, sights, monuments, salsa bars, etc. Great breakfast and supper. Passed on urgent phone and email messages from Canada. Fridge and minibar. Gyselle speaks very good English. Assistance w/ taxi to airport.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this house for three nights even though we were a bit apprehensive about staying at a Casa particular. I'm glad we did. The room had a.c. a fan and hot water. The place is quiet and you can hide out without being bothered or interact with the owner and staff. The breakfast was good, it included lots of fruit and eggs with fried bananas. The house is about 10 blocks from tourist attractions such as central park, bus tour, main streets... it's walkable and you get to see cubans going about their normal daily life not around by tourists... There's a store on Neptuno called El Bodegón that sells 1.5 L of bottled water for 1 peso... the cheapest you'll find anywhere!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiquitaChiquito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Nice clean casa with big spacious rooms and really comfy bed. The staff were friendly and helpful and tried hard even though we couldn't always communicate! The breakfast was really good - eggs, coffee, bread and loads of fresh fruit! The sitting area and internal balcony made it feel spacious and airy. The only downside is it is about a 15 min walk from the Plaza Vieja but it's nice to see the real less touristy side of Havana and we always felt safe, it wasn't a dangerous walk. We nearly went for one of the big expensive hotels in the centre but read mixed reviews for what was a lot of money, I am so glad we didn't. This was a lovely b and b, with everything you could want, plus it was about a tenth of the price and a more authentic Cuban experience, what more could you ask?!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
none
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at Casa Amada for two days in June 2012. We felt right at home. The rooms were very clean and the breakfast was delicious. They helped us with everything we needed there. They helped call a taxi when we were leaving, the car got there on time and it was a nice car if you have seen most of the taxis in Havana.

The location is ideal. You can walk to almost everything you want to see in town. That was really convenient. We almost booked another casa in Miramar, that would require taking a taxi everyday.

We shortened our stay in Havana for one day and they didn't charge us anything for the cancellation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
1.3 mi away
Hotel San Miguel
Hotel San Miguel
#37 of 79 in Havana
197 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#40 of 79 in Havana
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#46 of 79 in Havana
230 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hostal Valencia
Hostal Valencia
#145 of 687 in Havana
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Buena Vista
Casa Buena Vista
#142 of 687 in Havana
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Amada & Malecon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Amada & Malecon House

Property: Casa Amada & Malecon House
Address: Casa Amada Centro Habana Calle(Street) Lealtad, n 262 altos (upstairs) | entre Neptuno y Concordia Centro Habana, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 687 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Amada,Havana Centro, guesthouse, it is a colonial house, located at lealtad No. 262 upstairs, between neptuno and concordia , havana center, havana city, cuba , about fourthteen years of service to the international tourism, with double private and wide rooms, private bathrooms , climatization and minibar . the client can enjoy of two terraces with ornamentals plants , living-room and dining-room . the house gives you the opportunity of having breakfast and dinner with cheap prices . the clavero-perez family gives the clients segurity , confort and hospitality. Malecon House, Vedado, along the Malecon Habanero .With a beautiful sea view and out of the boats to the bay of Havana, just a few meters from the Hotel Nacional de Cuba, the Habana Libre Hotel, Cat look Eye, Red Salon Capri, Casa de la Americas, near the ramp, which assumes the street name from the corner of 23 L northward to the Malecon. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing