We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Havana
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Recently renovated, this hotel is a gem in the centre of the Old Town. The hotel has a beautiful central patio filled with plants with a lovely atmosphere and restaurant area which serves one of the better all-inclusive breakfasts that can be found in Havana. I cannot fault the friendliness of the staff; they were incredibly attentive and were always sure to greet us upon entry and exit of the hotel and truly went out of their way to make sure we were enjoying our trip. We enjoyed our stay so much that we returned after a few days out of the capital as we knew we would be met with a good quality, clean and friendly hotel. The rooms are charming; simply decorated with all your basic amenities.

All in all a lovely hotel that I would recommend to anyone coming to stay in Havana.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bsapsford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_Florida, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Your feedback is very important to us and encourages us to continue improving our services. We are glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to your preference when visiting Havana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    17
    20
    11
    10
See reviews for
14
39
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed in January 2013.

In a country beset by neglect, this hotel stands out in the central part of Havana. The rooms are comfortable with solid windows shutting out the outside street noise. A rooftop pool and snack area are an oasis.

The central lounge is a focal point. Drinks, light meals, and nightly entertainment mark the end of a busy day.

Given the state of Cuba, this hotel is reasonably run. We did, as noted by others, have an overbooking problem for your group, but alternative rooms were found within an 8 - 10 minute walk.


Like to a 8-9 minute video of my trip to Havana includes a view of the lobby through the large skylight from the 6th floor. http://www.roberthartungphoto.com/p340893692#h55826614

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rwhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
walton on thames
Level Contributor
47 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is lovely inside with a beautiful patio full of plants.The room was average with fridge ,safe reasonable bathroom.The room didn't have a window but thats common in Havanna.
It is well situated in the heart of Old Havanna.THe staff were reasonably friendly.THe breakfast that they boast as "the best in old Havanna"is awful!They say it is served from 7 am but when we and 2 other couples got there at 7am the lights were still off and they were just about starting to get it ready.It didn't seem to bother them them that we were in the dark.
As far as cuban hotels go its quite good really.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank toothlady66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

What a shame this beautiful hotel is run so badly. As a previous comment notes, this hotel appears to regularly overbook their rooms and doesn't seem to think they need to give you your money back when you don't get what you have paid for. We booked the Prado Ameno Suite for our honeymoon and were shown to a standard double room. When we complained we were offered a twin room?!! and pretty much told we could lump it. We were told we could move into the suite the next day, but it turned out it was still occupied so we never got to stay in the room that we had actually booked and paid for. "It's not my problem" is actually what we were told by front desk staff, and that we would have to wait to get back to the UK to try and get our money back from the agency we booked through. The hotel itself is beautiful and in a great location. It's just a shame the staff are so poorly trained and the overbooking so rife. Would not recommend unless you are prepared to be conned.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Early May 2011 I stayed here for a few nights. The location is perfect; right in the heart of Old Havana. Just step outside and you're there. Rather large rooms, a little awkward to get in there though along the low arches. Well equipped bathroom, large beds, noisy fridge and a noisy street also during the night. But than; you're right in the center... If you like the quiet do not go to Havana I'd say.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel. No street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EndeWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

The Marques and the Florida are one and the same. They're lovely and full of character, but they overbook the rooms and for one night of your stay you'll be paying top dollar for a nasty, out of town, corporate place where they send you pretending there is "no water" or "no electricity" at theirs. It happened to us and several other people during our stay.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Christine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
Hotel Palacio O'Farrill
#55 of 79 in Havana
473 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#24 of 79 in Havana
724 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beltran de Santa Cruz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Conde de Villanueva
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Tejadillo
Hotel del Tejadillo
#41 of 79 in Havana
316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#17 of 79 in Havana
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno

Property: Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno
Address: O'Reilly Street 253 | Old Havana, Cuba, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Marques de Prado Ameno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing