We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as bad as the write ups...”
Review of El Guajirito

El Guajirito
Ranked #649 of 783 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Delicious cuban food, in a country side ambiented restaurant in the Havana
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Not as bad as the write ups...”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were taken here by a "friendly cuban" who was obviously on commission. The air con was great and it was a nice atmosphere - I cannot say it was bad - after our first nights experience it was a lot better and half the cost. We had 4 very fussy teenagers and myself, I cannot eat anywhere that is not air conditioned and spotless. We had a very enjoyable meal, had a bit of a laugh and joke with the waitresses, who my sons were quite happy to chat to (!), in hindsight after reading some of the reviews, there were older men with younger women - the women did not seem to have any interest in the men who were paying for their food! They were more interested in looking at us ( or maybe, in hindsight, they were eyeing up my husband ! ) we did get overcharged but had by then learnt to check the bill, as most cubans are out to rip off the tourist. We did by wine but that was our choice as the food was cheaper than the last place and we are not keen on beer. Give it a try - check your bill though before you pay and expect a service charge.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eilidhmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    229
    162
    122
    153
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
503 reviews
335 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Way, Way Too Expensive!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Like most other reviewers, we were taken to El Guajirito by the Peditaxi guys - they said they would get lunch out of it. The prices were outrageously high - $16 for a meal; $12 for a pizza - plus a tacked on service fee. The waitresses were very pushy for us to order expensive drinks and dishes. Needless to say, we had a snack and left. This restaurant has multiple personalities: waitresses in cowboy hats and belly dancers. This is not typical Cuba. This is a tourist trap. Don't bother with this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AreWeHavingFunYet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“full of prostitutes”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The food was ok, very overpriced for the Cuban standards. Most of the people were men with escorts and old guys trying to seduce the waitresses. - We ended up there by mistake as the bicitaxi recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank madridForFree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
877 reviews
550 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Dreadful, overpriced!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were taken here by our G Adventures guide (who turned out to just pick the biggest and most expensive tourist traps - very lazy)!

The staff are clearly the main draw, only to look and and not to serve though!

I had the toughest bit of chicken I've ever eaten, it was a breast that had been bashed flat, with pineapple but then they coated it with rum and set fire to it - why? I don't know! It added nothing to the flavour. I could barely cut the chicken and this seemed to be an issue for everyone.

This place is extortionate for Cuba and they only get the business because guides take you here to get some kick-back. Shameful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo CA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Locals, Hooters, and good food.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Yes! this is about 60% locals that eat here. Yes, some taxi guys will take you here so they can get a free ham sandwich and coke.Yes, the food is very good compared to many places. Food is still scarce in Cuba and further there are few well trained chefs, most overcook meats like in Europe. Value is good, not great but you would have to really search to find that good chicken lunch for $2.50 USD (The Patio in Centro)

YES, this is the Hooters of Havana, and I think that makes the trip there complete. The downside, the waitstaff are just not as sharp so service is spotty. This would be a good place to start on your first day then get more adventurous.

NOTE: there are two clubs right next door that open after 10pm that mostly locals go to. They eat late in Havana like 10pm or later then dance till the sun comes up.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGeckoSays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Guajirito also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Guajirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing