We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cuban Hooters”
Review of El Guajirito

El Guajirito
Ranked #482 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Delicious cuban food, in a country side ambiented restaurant in the Havana
NY
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Cuban Hooters”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Cute waitresses in skimpy outfits. If that floats your boat, come here. Otherwise, it's still okay to eat here--the food is above average and the service was very good. It's possible that a taxi driver will direct you here in order to get a commission, but I wouldn't avoid coming here just because of that. One rip-off--it was suggested that we order a glass of wine, the "house special." When the bill came, we were charged $7.50 for each glass of wine (Concha y Toro). For that much we could probably have bought a whole bottle.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobMyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    245
    170
    130
    160
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Tablao de Pancho”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Not sure if the name has changed but when we were there in October 2012, the name was Tablao de Pancho at this restaurant - same address as El Guajirito and same restaurant interior from the pics on the other reviews.

We had a private tour of Havana arranged through our hotel in Varadero and asked the taxi driver to recommend a good quality, reasonably priced restaurant for lunch. He took us to this building - which looked quite dismal on the outside but was a pleasant surprise on the inside. Lovely warm rustic atmosphere with friendly prompt service.

The ambiance was wonderful, the service was great - but the food was sort of mixed in quality and average at best. My husband had a dish which translated means basically "minced meat Cuban style" - the flavour was quite good and it came with a healthy serving of beans and rice as well as a salad plate. I had paella and it was probably the worst paella I've ever had. By and large we have found throughout Cuba that the meat tends to be a very poor quality and this was certainly true in the paella where the chunks of meat were mostly gristle and the chicken was stringy and tough. This version of paella had no seafood so I can't speak to that. And the flavour was quite bland compared to most paella dishes I've had anywhere else. It looked deceptively appealing and my mouth watered when it arrived on the table, but it was such a disappointing meal. But that being said, the dish was certainly edible and most definitely large in quantity. I actually specifically asked the waitress ahead of time if the paella was particularly large in serving size as paella is often served for more than one person and I would order something else if it was going to be a very large dish, but she assured me it was just a plate size. You will see from the accompanying picture that it was a gigantic serving. I ate approximately 1/4 of the meal and left the rest. The highlight for us was the lovely atmosphere and the live music.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bellainontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chincoteague, Virginia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Seems like business built by paying the taxi and carriage drivers”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

First let me say, this was one of the best meals we had in Cuba. It was also the most expensive by more than 100%. We were brought by this place hidden inside an unremarkable old run down building by our carriage driver, no idea it had a couple of restaurants hidden upstairs. We were shown around, and then made reservations for the following night. The place was well air conditioned after you got inside the security door, and they had spent a long time on the decoration in their western cowboy motif. The staff were dressed in these hot little white cowgirl outfits that really accented their figures. We were seated in the dining room right by the windows to the kitchen. Service was good, and nice looking. The food was fine, not specatacular, but pretty good for the area, and we could watch its expert preparation. We did notice some elegant looking deserts, and I have to say, the deserts were of such quality that we had to ask and it was confirmed they had a pastry chef. Also bread served prior to and with the meal was an excellent selection. During our meal we could not help but have a number of other tourists parading around us on their tours by taxi and carriage drivers, kind of an interruption to our dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We went to this Restaurant on the recommendation of our guide. We enjoyed the experience and the menu was varied including a good choice of authentic Cuban dishes.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnK_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

If you would like to have some good local food while enjoying live music this is the best place to go. Not crowded at all.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank NuriaAlvarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Guajirito also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to El Guajirito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing