We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish stay in the heart of Havana”
Review of Hotel Florida

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Havana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Florida
Ranked #26 of 81 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed March 22, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Florida for one night only in February, arrived in the evening and were told we were lucky - we got a free upgrade to a Suite! Probably our booked room was gone by the time we arrived but who cares. The suite was amazing, very stylish colonial interior, reception and bedroom, two balconies, nice bath (wet ceiling but hey, we are in Havana).
The architecture of the building is amazing, spent an hour or so exploring, loved the inner court.
In terms of the noise from the salsa bar, yes, it was loud (even on 2nd floor), the birds started singing at 5am, the external unit of air cons was noisy too and obviously it doesn't help if you turn it off (the exterior unit keeps on running). These are complains from some people who missed the point and chose the wrong destination I would say! If you are in Havana, go out till late, dance, drink, enjoy the amazing atmosphere - if you do so you won't even care about the little lack of comfort I mentioned, and will sleep like a baby.

The breakfast is kind of poor, but you will learn to appreciate it and take as much as you can to keep you going all day as it is difficult to find anything to eat in the city.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zsoltiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (778)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 778 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2010

OK, so there are some on here who complain about the music at this place - but if you're going to expect to be in bed for a decent night's sleep before midnight, then simply don't go to Havana - anywhere! Likewise if you're expecting Marriott standards, then you probably need a little more international exposure before you head to Cuba. I loved this place. Yes, it is noisy until 2 am, but then if you're making the most of Havana, you aren't trying to sleep before then. It's a gorgeous building, and full of history, Would go back again anyday. It's just not the place for fuddy-duddies wanting an early night - so if that appeals.........go to one of the tourist resorts instead, or another island.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank here_and_there67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

Florida and its neighbouring hotel Marques de Prado Ameno are beautiful. However, beware! When we first arrived, they told us there was a problem with the hotel and we had to be sent to a far cheaper, nastier place MILES out of town. They said they'd collect us in the morning and bring us back to our orginal room. They did this EVENTUALLY, at lunchtime and after LOTS of phone calls from us. We weren't alone, that night a family of four and three girls were also moved out, because of overbooking (we later found out). The following day when we finally got into our (paid for) rooms, we saw them trying the same thing with another couple. The alternative hotel they'd sent us to confirmed they regularly receive guests who should have been staying at Florida or Marques. You get no compensation for this either and since you've paid in advance for the rooms you're stuck. When you do get in though, its full of character.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

This is a five-star building containing a three-star hotel - no, make than two and a half stars. We saw four rooms and slept in two of them, and all had serious problems.

Of those we slept in, the bathroom in the first one was an evil-smelling fly-infested place where the water never got above lukewarm and the shower didn't work; in the second, the shower did work, and the water was reasonably warm, but every time you turned on the shower a small river emerged from the base of the bath, flooding the bathroom. Oh yes, and from time time to time, water dripped through the bedroom ceiling from the room above. Oh yes, and my wife had to go out foraging for towels as none had been put in the room. Oh yes, and do be warned that a fair number of room have no external windows (really). Oh yes, and if the staff tell you your breakfast will be served in an upstairs bar, just ignore them and eat in the main restaurant - unless you want the most miserable breakfast you've ever seen.

The staff try to do a good job - and have to put up with a steady chorus of complaints from guests like us - but the creaking infrastructure is against them. The Florida's position is great (unless you have a room overlooking Obispo, when you can expect lots of street noise) But, only a few minutes walk away is the Hotel San Miguel - same Habaguanex management, but a much newer refurb of another splendid old buiding, and so there's been less time for things to get broken/ stay unfixed. We stayed there one night, and liked it much better.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2010

The Florida is right on the busiest street in Old havana-ideal for sightseeing but noisy at night. Lovely old building ,most of the rooms are large and furnished with antiques,BUT dont accept rooms 1,2 or 3 as they are much smaller and right above the live music,which vibrates the floor till 1 in the morning(unless you want to join them each night"!)
Staff were very helpful but take your own toiletries(a good tip for Cuba in general,soap is in short supply ).

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank priscillaBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

The Hotel Florida is actually two hotels together, both with an excellent location in a pedestrian street (Calle Obispo) in Old Havana, within walking distance of all the main monuments and attractions. The courtyard is beautiful and the rooms are well appointed and clean, with high ceilings and classy touches.
The rooms facing the main street come with balconies but beware that they may have some noise. Also, there may be some noise from the lobby area as there is a bar open at night.
Breakfast is basic but good. The waiters are not that keen on getting things outside the menu (like espresso coffee rather than the coffee they serve) even if you are willing to pay for them. Dinner in the hotel restaurant is good but don’t expect amazing food or service either. This applies to most places in Havana, where choices are limited. This is a poor country, after all. But for a treat, try the El Templete restaurant nearby: good selection and excellent quality, even though it comes at a high price.
I would definitely recommend this place and would most probably stay there again if I visit Havana in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jplondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel, and all what stays in our mindnow is... noise noise and noise... Noise from the lobby, the "disco" at the lobby and the streets... The worst noise came from the birds they have in the lobby!!!!
If you like to wake up at 6 o'clock in the morning, stay there...

Forgot to tell you about the water on the floor in our room. A leaking coming from the AC, but the staff couldn't care less.
Nice architecture but service is really bad

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LBeirut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#13 of 81 in Havana
1,682 reviews
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 81 in Havana
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#22 of 81 in Havana
437 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Address: Calle Obispo esq. a Cuba. Ciudad de La Habana, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $140 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Havana
Hotel Florida Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing