We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Havana "Boutique" hotel”
Review of Hotel Florida

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Florida
Ranked #25 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Dymchurch
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Typical Havana "Boutique" hotel”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Stayed recently for four nights at the end of a two week trip to Cuba and the hotel was more or less what I expected. Cuba doesn't do great hotels, so don't expect them.
Arriving near midnight I had a friendly welcome from the receptionist and was escorted to my twin room on the first floor by the night security man. Room 6 is at the front and on the corner. Probably one one of the noisiest rooms in the hotel as regards street noise, which really gets going at 8 am with people on their way to work/school. If you want a quieter room, pay more and ask for a room on an upper floor and away from the street. Room 5 is also noisy and smaller.
The minibar is a bargain. Half bottles of rum for 3CUC! Watch out for the hangover. Breakfast is heavy on the carbohydrates and cold scrambled eggs and grilled frankfurter. Stick to fruit and toast and get in there early, before 7.30.
I didn't bother with the bar or meals. My room was cleaned and bed made, more or less efficiently.
When checking out I discovered that they only accept credit cards for large amounts (like room charges or big restaurant bills), Extras must be settled in cash and be aware that if you want to leave your bags for a few hours before heading to the airport, they charge 1CUC per bag. A bit grasping I thought, but then, hey, this IS Cuba!
The location is very central, right in the heart of Havana Vieja and surrounded by plenty of bars and restaurants so you could do a lot worse. Give it a try.
Advice to the hotel - get Jamie to give your kitchen a makeover.

Room Tip: NOT rooms 5 or 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank solomonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    254
    206
    75
    74
See reviews for
98
394
40
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel Florida provides a great example of why travellers visit. Havana. With its shabby-chic colonial looks, its ambivalent (very Cuban government) hospitality and even the cigar-reeking bar playing live Cuban music into the night. Short walk to the classic bars and restaurants of old Havana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goat-whisperer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We arrived after 22 hours of flight and found dirty sheets, dirty towels and a dirty bathroom. There was always a bad smell in the room, and the same next to the elevator. Breakfast was ok, but this is not important when your room is dirty.

Location is great.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above the bar-restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pantelis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel was very comfortable. We had no issues with the cleanliness of the place. We found the staff very helpful and eager to please. Breakfast was the same every day, but that is not the fault of the hotel, unfortunately it is the economy of the country and what is readily available. The location is ideal, close to everything. Ideally, try to arrive during the day as the drive to the area in the dark is initially a bit frightening, but be assured, the area is VERY safe. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mops126a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I was put here one night due to problems at the Ambos Mundos......it was a grand room, but hairs in sink and bathtub....It seems to be Cuban Standards. The staff was nice but the breakfast room was rather closed and average. What a difference it would make if the rooms were clean. Noise was not a problem as there were double windows and I heard nothing. Location is great.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonne306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed the ambience and location of this hotel . On Christmas Eve they put on a special show and banquet meal which was great value . The rooms had style and atmosphere and the location is perfect for exploring Old Havana on foot with plenty of bars and cafes nearby. Everything was clean and the staff very eager to help.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The room and bathroom was dirty. I waited in vain for the dust and hair to be swept from the floors. The sheets were damp and the towels grey. Having read the glowing reviews posted we can only conclude we are living in a parallel reality. The noise from the streets as well as from the band in the foyer abated for 15 mins at 4am. A London doss house would be more comfortable

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Raquel
Hotel Raquel
#14 of 79 in Havana
711 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#17 of 79 in Havana
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,581 reviews
0.4 mi away
Armadores de Santander Hotel
0.5 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Florida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Florida

Property: Hotel Florida
Address: Calle Obispo esq. a Cuba. Ciudad de La Habana, Havana 10100, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Florida 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelsClick and Gaviota Hotels so you can book your Hotel Florida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florida Hotel Havana
Hotel Florida Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing