We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sercotel Hotel Caribbean
Ranked #604 of 688 Havana B&B and Inns
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Budget Hotel”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Hotel is located on the Prado, so is a convenient location to old Habana. And close to the hop on hop off bus stop. My room was a decent size with 2 double beds and a small bathroom. The room had no windows and a very noisy AC unit, but because the room was internal, old and concrete the room remained cool. The room also had a TV with both Cuban and American channels. The front of house staff spoke english. For $25CUC I got what I payed for.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dylan_crosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    31
    65
    41
    40
See reviews for
16
58
49
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
el cerrito, ca
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Can't deny the convenient location but the Prado is seriously noisy. First three nights we were confined to a room so small that we had to climb over the bed to get into the bathroom. No windows and the room smelled strongly of mold. I could not get my suitcase into the room! Front desk staff completely indifferent. Then we were able to move to the room across the hall that at least had a window, but not much cleaner. Really hit and miss at this place. The lady at the lobby bar, the housekeeping staff and (most of the) restaurant staff very friendly. The women at the front desk are rude and dismissive. Definitely NOT the best Havana has to offer.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 01 & 02 have windows onto the Prado - a VERY busy street - bring earplugs! DO N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sukell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

How this got two stars is beyond me. Two rooms had bed bugs. Unlike other hotels the shower had hot water and no cold. Breakfast is an "omelette" or a ham and cheese sandwich. No ham or cheese in the omelette. Beds are OK. Rooms are OK as far as cleanliness. TV's in all the rooms. Staff not that friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sailmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnac, France
Level Contributor
313 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Well located on the Prado ,half way between Malecon avenue by the sea and the Capitol, this unsophisticated budget hotel is a bargain on the local market .Service is helpful , bedrooms are good sleeping places. As for the breafast served ithe attached cafeteria, it is rather 'light" by cuban standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuyCarnac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you want a room thats luxurious, and feel like a king/queen - scratch off this one!
If your visiting Havana, need a room to sleep, shower, this is for you!

Booked via a package offered by Sunwing travel, stayed for 7days, front desk staff was pretty nice. Anyone meeting you whether friend, family, etc that is not listed on the invoice must pay $25 per day (regardless if they sleep in your room or not).

Breakfast - Not Advised skip and eat somewhere else - bread isn't very good and choices are not the best, however the coffee is really good here- (Splenda users - bring your own splenda as it's not offered anywhere in Cuba)

Room is ok, had decent beds, comfortable enough to sleep in - the AC is powerful by 6AM I was freezing, TV had Satellite (CNN, Discovery, Children's Channel, Music, BBC, Ecuador and Venezuela, Spain Channels and more a total of 20 channels were offered)

Bathroom was fine - toilet had poor pressure, ask for a bucket or buy one in a corner store fill it up with water and dump in toilet (I am a neat freak with bathroom lol) Shower was good only complaint the hot water was burning hot and not enough pressure for cold water.

In a very centric location Paseo del Prado (on weekends artists sell work) - the very famous obispio is 3 blocks away, el capitolio is close by. The Hotel Parque Central is close (great for WIFI/Computer use)

Housekeeper was extremely kind - Barbara - if you take care of your housekeeper they'll take care of you! $1cuc daily ensured my sheets were changed, towels were changed, toilet paper updated, room smelled fresh when I came back.

The safe was billed at around $2cuc per night,this is worth it, keep your money, passport, travel items, and expensive items , $200+. Nothing was lost/stolen.

I slipped and dislocated my knee outside the hotel, mainly my fault for wearing bad sandals - the staff was caring, they called my room to see how I was - delivered food and water to my room that I ordered.

There is a bar, that sells water $1 , coffee and juice -however I recommend buying the 5L water by the store next to the Parque central for $1.5 and keep in your room (Do Not Drink Tap Water!!!!)

Superb Location and Extremely budget friendly - kind staff - really clean.

There is a Payphone on the second floor, visit an ETECSA office to purchase the calling cards - really cheap for local and international!

Recorded a video of the room:
http://youtu.be/3bxtR7T9Iik

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Danny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had the 3 first night in Cuba - La Habana at this hotel, and this is one of my worst hotel experiences ever. At least if you take the price of the room in to consideration.

The hotel looks ok from the outside, and it is fairly close to everything, so I can´t complain about the location, but except from that, it is extremely overprices. The room is a small old thing with a noisy AC. There is a place for you to hang your clothing, and a few laps. It comes with a small safe, but that one comes with a extra fee (2.5 CUC a day).

Bathroom was horrible. If you want a shower you will have to wait for around 5 - 6 min before the water is of a decent temperature.
The toilet was the worst. There is not much water pressure, so you have major problems flushing down after you have been using it.

At the second floor there is a telephone you can use for a charge. We lived at the third floor, and we could hear everything being said when people was calling. There is absolutely no form of sound isolation in the room.

If I can recall correctly we paid 132 € for 3 nights, and it was just a waste.

Room Tip: Simply just avoid this place and choose a private Casa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
1,534 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 785 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

It is a good starting point in Havana, the rate is cheap and you get what you pay for. Rooms with patio windows, not too much light, small, basic, but the linens were clean. Staff is nice and helpful. Breakfast - not too much to choose from, but fulfilling. Hot water all the time, but no light in our bathroom. Safe in room. You want it for its location as it's right on Prado (Paseo de Martí) and it's a good base for exploring the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinde_K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
2.4 mi away
Hotel Habana Paseo
Hotel Habana Paseo
#44 of 79 in Havana
229 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Santa Isabel
Hotel Santa Isabel
#20 of 79 in Havana
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#60 of 79 in Havana
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,564 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Palacio del Marques de San Felipe y Santiago de Bejucal
3.6 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#53 of 79 in Havana
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sercotel Hotel Caribbean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Hotel Caribbean

Property: Sercotel Hotel Caribbean
Address: Paseo del Prado No 164 | entre Colon y Refugio, Havana, Cuba (Formerly Islazul Hotel Caribbean)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #604 of 688 B&Bs / Inns in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sercotel Hotel Caribbean 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sercotel Hotel Caribbean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing