We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gran Caribe Club Atlantico
Nearby Hotels
$298
$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$182
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$241
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$208
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Melia Habana(Havana)
$273
$214
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$186
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$97
$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$443
$257
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
45
151
151
83
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
151
151
83
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttlespanish lessonsnight lifesmall hotelpiano barlots of fresh fruitcuban foodcleaned every daylive musicguanabopesojosemario
Filter
Updating list...
132 - 137 of 506 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Jan 2-4, 2014 my husband and I, with 5 other friends, stayed a the Hotel Club Atlantico. We have been asked to give some feedback - so here we go! We were looking for an affordable all inclusive close to Havana so we would explore the beautiful city. Atlantico seemed to be the best option due to location and price. Although the hotel was only a 3.5 star, we thought "how bad could it be?". Well it is pretty bad! We recognize that we were in Cuba, the resort was built in the 1950's, and their standards are not the same as other all inclusive resorts we have stayed at in Mexico for example, but: although the bedding was clean the floors, walls etc in the rooms were filthy, pillows are about 1/2 inch thick, so ask for three. Food was atrocious! Cold food, fruit, veg, meat, cheese, etc was left out for up to 3 hours without any ice or coolant under it. Consequently it had an odd "sheen" as the flies buzzed around and the birds landed to snack and poop. The cheese was literally melting. The hot food, although hot, was slop it was hard to identify what each dish was. Table cloths were never changed, so each day we were greeted to the same grease, food, and bird poop stained table cloths! Needless to say, we all ended up with the trotts! Wait staff were great, and did the best with what they had to work with. Miguel the bartender at the indoor bar was amazing and provided excellent drinks and service. The "bartender" at the outdoor pool "snack bar" was by far the most unfriendly person we have ever encountered. It was a chore for her to serve us drinks, and in fact if you did order any food (the only food offered there was a small bun with cheese and some kind of meat in it), she would serve it to anyone else she knew that happened to walk up to the bar - as you stood by waiting!! We did not feel safe there, and therefor guarded our belongings, as there were a number of men milling about in the lobby and standing in the hallways as the cleaning ladies had our hotel room doors open to clean. Very unprofessional. When our camera got stolen at the pool snack bar, (we were the only ones there besides the barmaid) staff were of no assistance whatsoever...they could have cared less. The only redeeming value this hotel has, is: the beautiful Santa Maria Beach and the free shuttle bus to Havana twice per day. I would definitely upgrade to a 5 start next time!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sheelagh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear customer :

We regret that your stay in our facility has not fulfilled expectations. I am pleased to inform you that the 3 STAR HOTEL ATLANTIC IS and as such the services offered met your governed by the NC -126 standards and HELLO CLUB brand with a wide range and domestic products. The buffet restaurant has tables to display hot and cold foods so there is no need for ice or to give the desired to edible temperature . The pool bar serves until 17:00 every day offer 3 daily varieties sandwiched between them ( hot dog, ham, cheese , hamburger etc.).

We are imbued with constant maintenance of the structure to be old and vulnerable to weather and moisture nitrate . However rooms have 4 towels , 4 sheets, 4 pillows and our staff
( waitresses ) are available 24 hours to meet the demands and requirements of our customers. It's a shame that the mechanism of organization that the installation is plotted to maintain order and achieve customer satisfaction has not met expected by you. We have a commitment to quality with our guests so we consider each of the considerations to make them feel at home. Unfortunately we do not share your point of view because we are governed by laws and ministerial standards of quality and hygiene which characterize us and represented worldwide .

We regret that the image of our personnel will be degraded with comments because everyone who lived with you during your stay at our facility are respectable Cuban and as such deserve respect. Our hotel has security group meets established standards and complies with the law.
Your opinion will be taken into account in the review of our restaurant Buffet . We regret receiving such a negative review as we work for the sake of customer satisfaction. When installing any dissatisfaction with services is transmitted to our technical quality along with representatives of the agencies draw on the opinions of customers giving priority to improving reviews, critical personal views or other .

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Well I must say this place wasn't as bad as a lot of people are saying in here. I will start with the bus ride over. About an hour long and one of the shorter buses do to the fact everyone else is going to Varadero. Nice ride. Quiet ride and beautiful scenery on both sides off the road. Ours was a morning flight so our room wasn't quite ready. Easy check in though. They took our bags and got our bracelets and headed for lunch and drinks. The room itself was small and thin but clean and had a decent balcony. The bathroom was fine, lots of hot water. The lunch time offered the buffet which had something on the grill each day or you could reserve a time between noon and two for the beautiful spot up above the pool bar. Just a beauty spot. Great views and they grilled up chicken, pork or fish with rice,salad and squash. Very good. Dinner time we only went twice and it was pretty much the same deal as lunch at the buffet. Did not try the a la carte. Four evenings we took a cab into Guanabo. Five bucks one way. Chicken little restaurant there was fantastic. Really awesome. Best restaurant I have been to in Cuba. Now for the good stuff. The beach!!!!!!! Right in front of the hotel is heaven on earth I tell ya. I have been all over Cuba and I must say this is as good as the one on Cayo largo. But what makes it better is it's just steps away. On a calm day and the small tide is out the water creates a twenty foot pool about one and a half deep and then a twenty foot sandbar with like two inches of water ripple over it. What a spot to sunbathe or just sit and have a drink. On a windy day it is very safe and great waves to play in. The beer at the pool bar is from a fresh can. Very good. Careful with the pool bar lady though. She makes a pretty strong drink. Got the wife loaded our second day there :) The crowd at the hotel were mostly older and quiet. Zero party people. If you are looking to party on the beach just take a walk down to the local area. Lots of garbage though when the Havana folks come to the beach. The free shuttle into town was quick and fun. Great adventure. Over all if you are looking for a beautiful beach and a city adventure full of sights for your eyes, ears, nose and mouth try this place. If you are looking for fancy fancy then spent your money and go elsewhere. We paid six eighty five for the week from Toronto :) Cheers

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank RandalB3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Customer
We are pleased to receive this review and know that your stay was satisfactory. Thanks for recommending the Traveller community TRIPADVISOR your personal judgment and clean up the image of some people who do not respect the privacy of other guests. We appreciate your kind comments regarding our staff and care during your stay in our Hotel. Comments like yours help us to improve every day, but only provide entertainment until 11.00PM based musical formats, show paint and dance groups I assure you will be taken into account his observation on our part.

Greetings;

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Personally I wont go back. It is my second time at a Gran Caribe "resort" and also my last. Total lack of management, actually didn't see any one that remotely resembled a manager. Some staff were great, most are dis-interested. Don't blame them, they have little to work with. Hotel is in need of maintenance. Food was barely passable and definitely the worst of any hotel I have stayed at in Cuba. Rooms are ok but:Mattress was brutal. Furniture is old and broken. The location is this places only positive.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dvr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest:

We regret that your stay was not satisfactory . All comments received them as opportunities to improve our services, our goal as hoteliers is that our guests leave happy . We are imbued with constant maintenance of the structure to be old and vulnerable to inclement weather . We have qualified personnel to provide quality service and care for our clients staff, hotel management works every day of the week and every complaint uniformed or advice received is fed back to all its member . The head of the facility may be required from the reception or directly in your office that is located in the main hall available every day of the week , however the Companion of public and commercial relations with listening the OPT give solution and continuous attention to any deficiencies detected by our guests in the period of your stay.

Regards
Raul Gomez Orta
Director General
Complejo ATlántico Villa los Pinos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Last January 2013 we stayed at the Atlantico due to it's proximity to Havana. Based on reviews we weren't expecting 5 star, but we're ok with that. If the price is right, you just eat out more often.
So we were pleasantly surprised when we found that the food, although not gourmet, was quite good. Our daughter, who is extremely sensitive, didn't have any problems with stomach upset while there. The restaurant staff were amazing. When we walked in they would bend over backwards to grab us a table and get our drinks. If you went near the coffee machine or the bar for a cappuccino, they said no, no, I'll get it for you. We did talk to them (sometimes practicing the few words of Spanish we know) and ask about their families and of course we tipped them. Did this make the difference? Who knows, but it was worth it. We didn't end up trying the a la carte while there so can't comment.
Our room was clean and quiet and the maids were friendly and helpful. Our only complaint was that the bed was not too comfortable, but the pillows were ok.
The beach was great and the beach staff were awesome. As soon as you walked onto the beach, a young man would jump up and get lounges for you, put them where you wanted them and then whip out a little whisk broom from his back pocket and dust off the sand. The lifeguards were great too. We got to know Damien and ended up leaving our binoculars for him, something no lifeguard should do without.
The nightly entertainment was very good. We ended up buying cd's from several of the musicians.
We did take the bus into Havana about 5 times during the week and got to know the driver and also chatted with the hotel staff who were either picked up or driven home on some of the trips.
This year, unfortunately, the hotel was booked, so we ended up in Varadero at another older hotel. Other than a better bed (but pillows about 1 1/2 inches thick) this place was almost totally the opposite. Will not go back to that one, but will definitely go back to the Atlantico.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest:

I'm glad you had an enjoyable stay. We'd like to see them again. We are delighted that your experience at our hotel was successful. We appreciate your business.

Regards

Raul Gomez Orta
Director General

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Stays there 10 days 4-14 January: on arrival, no light in the room, no able to open any drawer. I have to wait two days to get the beach towel. Gym is closed for ever, pool not clean, bar with orange juice and some day's pina colada and cheap beer. Five days over 10 without milk for coffee. You must expect a one star hotel for everything. People are very friendly, but the worst is the food. I did have low expectation, but this was very very bad food. I pay low price and expect to go elsewhere to eat, but I also think to eat there for lunch. You must expect very low quality and very cheap meet (chicken, very small fish and pork).
I have been five times elsewhere in Cuba (Holguin, Cayo-coco and Santa Clara) I was expecting low but never that low quality.

Room Tip: truck and buses are comming early in morning like 5am, choose a room away from driveway
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puma0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Infodireccion, Director General at Gran Caribe Club Atlantico, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear customer:

We appreciate that you send us your opinion about your stay in our facility. It is indeed an ancient structure founded in 1954 founded anniversary meeting in the month of May (60 years) receiving tourists from around the world throughout the months of the year. Remains low maintenance hard work and is constantly victim of climate change, and its proximity to the sea erodes the salt faster, however continue to work even more on improving our structure. The rooms are not sold as suit and standard measurements are 4x3 M2 capacity provided for accommodating 2-3 people each. Cuba is considered a Tropical country exist in different times of the year according to the vector weather as mentioned (mosquitoes) for this installation and other companies in the country have taken sanitary hygienic measures in order to minimize the effects of it as conditioned , spraying and harvesting of trees and surrounding plants. Measures have been taken up working with the NC 441/2006 where the use of crystal glasses, dishes or other in the pool or beach always considering the welfare of our customers is prohibited.
Compliance menu to be offered in the buffet restaurant is by the standards of HOLA CLUB 3 star Hotel. The same holds choice of chicken, pork, fish and beef, in the pool area is located the Snack Bar bridando services every day by offering alcoholic beverages cocktails made with Liqueurs, Ron mulatto, Ron and Ron Santero or nonalcoholic Cubay from 10.00 18.00 3 varieties of snack maintaining as ham, cheese, dog and hamburger from 10.00 to 17.00, having no problems so far with providing the supplies needed for their realization.
We recognize the time you have given us to give us your personal opinion. We regret that our facility has not met your expectations, and we hope that in the future give us the opportunity to reverse this approach with your visit.

Greetings;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews