We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roc Presidente
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed November 27, 2013

In my room the plumbing worked (except that the shower/tub diverter didn't move). Some people in my group weren't so lucky and had to change rooms. The bed was okay, the mini-fridge was good and the cleaning staff did a fine job. Reception was not very nice and wake-up calls were not reliable. The pool was pleasant, filled with salt water, but if you're looking for pristine, you'll be disappointed. I didn't even try to use the internet, but heard from others in my group that it didn't work very well and was also expensive. There is nothing within easy walking distance of this hotel, so if you want to have some cold drinks in your room fridge, bring them with you. My room had a nice view of the city and beautiful sunrises. I might stay here again, but would check out other options in the price range.

Room Tip: Ask for one that faces the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah6804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, General Manager at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2013

Dear: Thank you for chosing to stay at the Roc President. Thanks for taking the time to write their opinions and reviews on your stay with us. Will convey their opinions to the cleaning staff also is a shame that you had a bad impression for the service of reception, which will analyze. We will consider its recommendations. We're glad you enjoyed the view and the sunrise from your room and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights. The hotel is 2 blocks from the Malecon, but a bit of a distance from Old Havana.

Our room was on the 8th floor and was adequate size. The bathroom was marginal, the toilet barely flushed and our shower had a slight dribble at all times (we simply closed the door at night, but what a waste of water). They did however have nice towels. Other people in our tour group also had problems with their bathrooms.

The bellhops and bar staff were all friendly and helpful, but people at the front desk had a bit of an attitude.

Breakfast was good. A large selection of food, both hot and cold, it was one of the better breakfast buffets we had in Cuba.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellingFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear TravellingFloyd: Thank you for booking our Roc Presidente hotel for your stay in Havana. We are glad you have had a good time with us and thank for your opinion about the breakfast buffets, we will give your valoration to the staff and bellboy. We are sorry you have got that opinion about the people at the reception. Thank you for your recommendations. Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This is rather an average hotel. Only 4 stars to Cuban standards. We booked in advance and arrived in an hotel where the bigger part of the lobby was hidden behind cardboard walls for renovation purposes. There was ampel room in front of the counter. That's typical: Cubans wait too long before repairing things and sudden it's breaks down all together. And it's never mentioned in advance. I guess that the majority of the tourists only come once. So why telling and bothering about satisfied guests?

We had a room on the 8 floor, facing downtown Havana. Everything was functioning hot water, hair dryer, fridge..), but outworn. As is this city. Sometimes it's difficult to keep smiling...

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the pool site: beter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bucanero_Rene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Dear Bucaner0: Thanks for your opinion. You are right we were repairing the lobby for some days, but it was with the objetive to increase the quality and the atmosfhere of the lobby for our guest. Unfortunately you don' t mention that we decorated the lobby with differents paints. We have a lot of turists which decided to return to visit us again because they recognize our history.
In spite of your some incidences we are glad you have selected our hotel. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Although the Location was OK, we were very disappointed with the hotel Roc Presidente in Havana. I did say while booking this hotel that i wanted a nice 4/5* but this was more like a 2* (we were told this was a much better hotel in comparison to the original hotel offered by the Holiday place).

The rooms and the hall way had a very strong smell of damp which made our cloths stink.
Ants in the bed room and bathrooms which was very annoying specially when trying to sleep.
The shower had waster pooring/dripping also and was not very hot/warm at times.

Breakfast was average and we had to ask for more when it got empty.

When asking the woman near reception about trips, she wasnt much help, we ended up going to another hotel to ask about trips and things to do in Havana.

The exchange rate was also very poor in comparison to other hotels in the area (1.48 in comparison to 1.53 at the National hotel).

Very disappointing :(

We were shown a different room on a different floor after complaining to the hotel but this was just as bad.

We were only here for 3 nights and also i we really enjoyed Havana, we couldnt wait to get out of this hotel...and move on to Varadero. The Blau Varadeo was very nice and the standard of hotel we were expecting and hoping for in Havana also.

Room Tip: If you dont mind where you are sleeping then this hotel is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MistryR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear MistryR: Thanks for booking in our hotel. Unfortunately your stay was not good, we are very sorry with the incidences your are explaining, About the exchange rate, the hotel receive it daily and it can be different each day, At the National Hotel there is a bank and here the exchange rate is totaly different to other place. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The service was good. The lobby bar and restaurant were okay. There was a live music in the evening in the lobby. The hotel entrance and reception area looked smart and posh. There was a swimming pool as well. The only reason why I am rating the hotel overall at 3 is because we had a leak in the room. There was a heavy storm outside and the water was coming inside. The receptionist gave us another room but there was water inside as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Qrnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Dear Qrnick: We are very happy to read this opinion. Thanks for writing and sharing your experiences. The hotel is located just in a corner very close to the malecon way and it receive an strong rain and wind . We are sorry for the happened in your room. Thanks for booking in our hotel and trust to in the enterprise. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

A good stop over as part of the Classic Cuba Tour, a good position to tour the city not to far form any of the highlights. Classic style and clean. The Hotel is adequate for a short stay while touring.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Chris L: Thanks for your time to write this opinion. We are very pleasure you have had a good time with us. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

First impressions was good from outside. The bedroom was clean and comfortable but the bathroom was in need of a face lift. The bath was going rusty and grouting dirty. Loo seat kept coming off. The hotel smells of damp very badly due to humid conditions. Meals we had were cold. However for a couple of days it was suitable but not for long stay. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nasherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director General at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

Dear Nasherc: Thanks for dedicate part of your time to write your opinion about us. We are very sorry for the inconveniences you had in the hotel. We checked them with the staff and we are working to resolve them. Thanks for your oipinion about the staff they knowed and say thanks. The best to you. Sincerely.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
3.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#25 of 80 in Havana
1,650 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
0.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,747 reviews
3.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Presidente

Address: C/ Calzada 110 | Esquina Avda de los Presidentes Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: $122 - $341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc Presidente 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ROC-Hotels Presidente **** is located just 3 kms from the old historical part of Havana, "La Havana Vieja", a twenty minutes drive from the Jose Marti International Airport. It is only 20 minutes from the East Side beaches and 200 meters from the renowned Amadeo Roldan Theatre. Located in El Vedado, only 200 meters from the famous Pier of Havana, "el Malecon", on the Avenue of the Presidents, and flanked by the Cuban Foreign Office and the "Casa de las Americas", the Hotel Presidente rises gracefully with its 10 floors of history and in its peculiar colours of vermilion. The Roc-Hotels Presidente characterises itself for being housed in a spectacular building from the 1920's, being the first skyscraper in the city of Havana, and for its breathtaking interiors representing the era it was built in, but with all its modern comfort and services that the client seeks. The Hotel was reformed in 2011 following a clear luxury style and keeping all the grandeur of its recent history that included many famous personalities of diplomacy and business companies, as well as the art world. It is for this reason that an exquisite care was taken to preserve every detail during its restoration and decoration. Throughout the interior of the Hotel, displayed are more than 400 classified pieces of art, giving a very unique taste to the guests from the moment of their arrival. They can enjoy the "Lobby Museum", relax by the poolside, or go on interesting excursions to Pinar del Rio, Varadero, Santa Maria del Mar or other famous sites nearby. We offer bed and breakfast (CP board), breakfast and dinner ( Half board). We have WIFI in all rooms and all service areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Roc Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing