We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat 1920s hotel in great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roc Presidente
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Presidente is off the beaten track, which is exactly where you want to be in Havana. Nestled in a residential neighbourhood and a block away from the Malecon, you see many elements of Cuba life from the wrap-around veranda. There is an elementary school across the street providing an interesting window on Cuban families. Located on the corner of a main boulevard, the parade of automobiles is endless. 40s and 50s american cars of all manner of condition belching black smoke from replacement diesel engines (Cuban mechanics must rank amongst the world's most resourceful). The surrounding neighbourhood is an interesting slice of life in present-day Havana. Crumbling mansions fight the elements, outdoor markets sell vegetables and caged birds, a luxury hotel 10 minutes away along the sea wall; walks from this location are always interesting. Keep your eyes on the sidewalk though. Lots of potholes and missing manhole covers are a hazard.
Staff were generally hepful and friendly. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and the wine cheap ($10 Cdn a bottle) and you're only 5-10 minutes away from Parc Centrale by cab($5 Cdn) when you're ready for the tourist experience. If you want to experience the REAL Havana, Presidente is a great base from where to begin your explorations.

Room Tip: Upper floors facing the side street aren't noisy and offer views of the boulevard and the school
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caution2thewind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,028)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

312 - 318 of 1,028 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2013

Located in the Vedado district of the city, about a 30 minute walk away from old Havana, this is a nice Colonial style hotel. Live traditional Cuban music in the lobby during the evening. It's a bit of a hoof into old Havana on foot, but the area around is quite which may suit some people as it can be noisy city. I'd book again.

Room Tip: Get a room looking out over the seafront. Nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Hotel Presidente in Havana is a charming hotel in the Vedado district near the Malecon. The hotel has a friendly staff, except in the buffet dining room where we ate one evening. The rooms were strange without windows. We lived on the 8th floor with potentially amazing views. Unfortunately however, there were no ordinary windows in the room that you could look out through. Instead there were paneled doors with frosted glass. To look out you needed to open the paneled doors but then the wind blew straight into the room.
Since the hotel is located in Vedado we had to take a taxi every time to enter the Old Havana.
A tip in Havana is to go on a guided tour by horse and carriage. It is both nice and affordable. Do not miss to go with the cozy old American cars.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We traveled to Cuba on a cultural tour last week and were booked at Hotel Presidente for the week. Upon arrival we were assigned to room 601 which is a front facing huge corner room. Arriving on Saturday evening, the street in front of the hotel was very busy and the noise level was horrendous. Luckily after much negotiating with the front desk, we were able to move to a smaller room down the hall (room 611) on the same side of the hall which still had road noise but not nearly what the front facing room had. After discovering how well my "white noise" app for iphone worked during the night, I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The staff was helpful and courteous, the morning breakfast was quite adequate and there was basically something for everyone. The poolside bar served pretty good pizza along with local beer (VERY inexpensive too!). The formal restaurant provided the first night dinner which was very good as well. 2 dollar (cuc = usd) glasses of good Chilean wine from the bar while working away on the internet was also enjoyed. Great nightly entertainment in the lobby as well as a wonderful artist gave a very festive atmosphere. We loved our maid, Tina, who left little notes, swan shaped towels, and creative bedding displays. She did a great job with our whole floor and lit up the hallways with her smile.
The only downside was that one of the elevators broke down on Monday and was still out of use on Saturday when we left - but this was nothing more than a minor issue - the stairs got some good use that week. I felt the hotel was pretty far from Old Havanna - definitely not walking distance but there was an abundance of pedi cabs and taxis to take guests to/from which ran about 8 cuc's (usd) each way - there was a couple of small local shops to purchase snacks, beer, rum or water within walking distance. We had a fridge in the room along with good aircon. The pool was cleaned every morning and overall the hotel and rooms were spotless and we had no issues with hot water at any time of day. If I were to stay here again, I would definitely request a room overlooking the pool to avoid the traffic noise - but even with my extreme "light" sleeping issues - I enjoyed the hotel much more than I thought I would from reading previous reviews.

Room Tip: For light sleepers: choose a room overlooking the pool. Higher floors have great views of the local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank squiggles1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The breakfast varied each day on the hot choices, although the first day was better the variety was good. There were problems with a water leak during my stay, I had no water but I could hear it pouring somewhere over above my bathroom. There was some effort made to solve the problem over the next 48 hours, but not enough for those that had been moved from the Nacionale because it had had water problems too!
The pool is in shade for the morning owing to the hotel, as for the evening the pool bar was dead, maybe it could do with some entertainment.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adder_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I arrived after an 11 hour flight and a 2 hour transfer with bad, dark weather accompanying me. The hotel was fully booked upon arrival and I was assigned a room on the second floor, right next to the street. This made for a lot of noise which, initially, spoiled the feeling of a nice relaxing holiday. Some things didn't feel right, like the TV malfunctioning (electrical outlet was completely detached from the wall) and the mini-fridge being completely broken. I found the bed to be good, contrary to other reviews I read here.
After a lot of street noise on Saturday night and some English speaking people shouting in the hallway at 3 AM the following night, I decided it was necessary to request another room. The reception staff listened and understood my problems and allowed me to change room on Monday, to the 9th floor. A spacious room next to the elevator but with a view, and crucially, much more quiet. From then on my stay improved a lot and I would like to thank the staff for helping me out in this.
I thought the breakfast was really very good, extensive and well taken care off. The later you come there, the less people there are. This hotel seems to have a mainly French (speaking) clientele, which means those jetlagged people have breakfast as soon as possible. Try to avoid them.
The location is not ideal if you thought Old Havana is just a few steps away – it is easily accessible by taxi though. For me, however, it was good. I enjoy walking and followed the Malecon boulevard every day to the city centre (about 1 hour 30 min one way). The neighbourhood of the hotel itself is quite nice too, with residential buildings setting the tone.
In the afternoon the sun is out at the swimming pool. I enjoyed the mojitos and hot dogs plentifully.
My gratitude and appreciation go out to the reception staff which helped me in changing room. It also goes out to the doorman who suggested some good addresses and to the black-haired ever-smiling lady responsible for arranging day trips (sorry that I didn't take that trip in the end!!). Although by Western standards this is probably something like a three stars superior, I have decided to give it a four star rating.

Thank you for being my home during 7 inspirational days!

Room Tip: a better view and less noise when higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tobias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights as part of our 2 week trip in Cuba (remainder in Riu Varadero). Five years ago did a similar trip but stayed at Hotel Nacional. Although the pictures showed both hotels as similar, the Presidente is much smaller and not as luxurious. The hotel is further away from the downtown area but still within the city limits. The staff are friendly, helpful and multi-lingual. There is a restaurant and also a buffet restaurant (where breakfast and dinner is served). Lunch can be obtained at the pool bar. Rooms are clean and spacious. Taxi available outside hotel which will cost about 5 CUC (about $5 Cdn) to get to old Havana. Nice area to walk and very close to the Malecon (very long walkway along the seashore). The area in an upscale part of the city (Vedado). Caters mostly to European travellers. One negative experience was that a British soccer team was staying at the hotel two of the three nights. On one night, they were extremely rowdy until 1h30 in the morning where I finally called Reception to complain. I don't know why the staff didn't address this issue after 11h or prior to my complaint. If we returned to Havana, we would either go back to the Nacional or stay in a upscale hotel in the old Havana. Food for breakfast and dinner is average!

Room Tip: A room facing pool which would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,807 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,756 reviews
3.9 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Presidente

Address: C/ Calzada 110 | Esquina Avda de los Presidentes Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: $171 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc Presidente 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ROC-Hotels Presidente **** is located just 3 kms from the old historical part of Havana, "La Havana Vieja", a twenty minutes drive from the Jose Marti International Airport. It is only 20 minutes from the East Side beaches and 200 meters from the renowned Amadeo Roldan Theatre. Located in El Vedado, only 200 meters from the famous Pier of Havana, "el Malecon", on the Avenue of the Presidents, and flanked by the Cuban Foreign Office and the "Casa de las Americas", the Hotel Presidente rises gracefully with its 10 floors of history and in its peculiar colours of vermilion. The Roc-Hotels Presidente characterises itself for being housed in a spectacular building from the 1920's, being the first skyscraper in the city of Havana, and for its breathtaking interiors representing the era it was built in, but with all its modern comfort and services that the client seeks. The Hotel was reformed in 2011 following a clear luxury style and keeping all the grandeur of its recent history that included many famous personalities of diplomacy and business companies, as well as the art world. It is for this reason that an exquisite care was taken to preserve every detail during its restoration and decoration. Throughout the interior of the Hotel, displayed are more than 400 classified pieces of art, giving a very unique taste to the guests from the moment of their arrival. They can enjoy the "Lobby Museum", relax by the poolside, or go on interesting excursions to Pinar del Rio, Varadero, Santa Maria del Mar or other famous sites nearby. We offer bed and breakfast (CP board), breakfast and dinner ( Half board). We have WIFI in all rooms and all service areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Roc Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing