We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Roc Presidente
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hotel is like much of Havana. Old, but charming.
The location is not in the middle of everything, but a 5 to 10 minute cab ride will get you where you want to be.

The rooms are basic with a little furniture, so, so bed and lumpy pillows. The bathrooms are very adequate but they do have noisy fans and drippy faucets.

The elevators work, the security and doormen are friendly and helpful. The included breakfast is good. Be sure to spend some time by the very enjoyable pool. The pool snacks and beverages are reasonably priced.

Taxis is usually always available at the front door. There is a large verandah area which is a great place to enjoy a mojito and cigar.

The front desk will exchange your currency and there is also a currency exchange office in the hotel with slightly better rates.

I paid $59 CDN per night for a single with breakfast. Not a bad deal.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Sr:
We are very pleasure for your opinions. These are very useful for other guest which are thinking to visit our hotel. Thanks for your opinions about the personal they will know about it. Thanks for your valorations about the breakfast, the pool snacks, mojito and others. We are very happy you have had a beautiful time between us, it is very reconfortable for all our staff because you are the reason to exist us. We wish you to much succes in your life. The best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,025)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 1,025 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Keep in mind that CUBA is a communist country, and almost everything, hotels, restaurants, businesses, etc are all owned and operated by the STATE, and all their employees work for the STATE.
Entering this hotel was like going into a European hotel of old. Large lobby with nice furnishings, a veranda with seating outside for the warm weather, and a look of 60 years ago. The staff was attentive and helpful-more than one might expect for workers in our country that worked for the government. The hotel has 10 floors, served by 2 fairly slow elevators. The rooms are adequate, and the bathroom plumbing and fixtures are 1950's. Breakfast was good, with many choices and they kept it coming when trays were empty. All in all, it was a satisfactory stay of 6 nights.
The hotel is just two blocks from the ocean, but there is not much in the immediate neighborhood. Very safe area at night.

Room Tip: Try for a view of the park in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank eds672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ivettehabana, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Roc Presidente, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Guest:
We apreciate very much your opinions about our hotel , the services, the breakfast, and others. Is very important for us you have had a beautiful time between us and you keep in mind good memories from the hotel and its personal. You have reason this Hotel is 83 years old and we work each day to preserve all the pieces and works of art that you had the opportunity to see yourself. Thanks again for writing.
The best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel was very welcoming after an epic trip from South Africa. The room was a decent size and had a tv and an empty minibar (i never take anything anyway). The minibar comes in handy to chill water for the next day.

The toilet didnt flush immediately but a quick call to the front desk and a technician was sent up. Turns out we dont know how to flush the toilet and it wasnt actually broken, big oops. The shower temperature was not great but with a long journey and the heat of Havana in the evening a cool shower was refreshing.

The restaurant served mostly pizzas and pastas, but the cocktails were cool and we had dinner on a very wide patio listening to a live band that played salsa.

The hotel breakfast was a typical continental breakfast served by a beautiful pool.

P.S they have internet and all the computers work, they also have a book exchange.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kalai_holiday_junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The hallways have seen better days (grim, dark, greenish tinge fluorescent lighting and beaten up carpeting), although the rooms are decent (also seen better days, the curtains hid a big crack, etc) but probably in-line with what to expect for Cuba and the price. The staff service is very good. Ask the concierge for tips to good local restaurants (paladars, the private restaurants that aren't publicized) that you would never find in the lonely planet guide and are great. When one of us got sick, they had a nurse and a doctor come to the room almost immediately (they have a hotel nurse!) to check on us - wrote the prescription and brought it to us at the dinner table in the hotel restaurant! That was terrific. Location is decent, a 10 min cab ride to the main attractions. The hotel restaurant at the front is ok, average considering Cuban food. The sandwiches served at the bar by the pool are actually pretty good, go there instead.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A22L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We had a combined package from Vancouver, BC, Canada. 4 nights in Havana followed by 10 in Varedero.

Due to an early flight, we arrived at 6AM to be told there was no room available, we'd have to wait until noon unless we paid for an extra night. Being jet-lagged and tired didn't deter us. We stood at the reception and told them we'd wait. After 15 minutes of malevolent staring, the receptionist dragon relented, and gave us a room. We believe this was a ploy to extract extra money from us.

The room was up on the 9th floor of the 10 floor hotel, and was a very good room with great views. Well, some things didn't function too good. Only some windows opened, and the shower chugged like a machine gun, but that only seemed to add 'character'. With the wind whistling through the gaps in the windows, we hardly needed the air conditioning.

The breakfast was very good. We also had a couple of poolside meals (the mixed grill) which weren't too bad either. We began to disbelieve the rumor that Cuban food was bland.

The pool is nice, and they make mojitos using fresh home grown mint. If you tip the barman, the cocktail strength increases :-)

The hotel is a little 'out of town', but it was fun sampling the Havana Taxis. $5 to $6 for a ride to the old town. ($7 or $8 to return late at night). We had great fun in the city.

Our rep told us of a small supermarket 100m from the hotel. There a large bottle of water cost 69 cents. However the cashier blatantly tried to charge us $4. Watch out for this, other travelers had similar experiences in other supermarkets. Make them scan everything and count your change. Don't buy anything without a price or you'll get scammed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room as high up as you can. The street noise decreases the higher up you go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

That is if you stay a night or two. A transit type of hotel, with good location, few meters from Malecon and a short walk from La Rampa. Service is correct but on Cuban level - yawning staff, broken chairs, poor breakfast. Bellboy service is good. Room clean but show signs of wear. A safe choice in Havana.

Room Tip: None, they look pretty much the same. No Malecon view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lufthansi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

For the money we paid, we were not that impressed with the hotel. However we did not stay at any Casa in Havana, so it was hard to compare.

The best part of the hotel: a clean room that is relatively quiet with no chickens squawking

Location: Hotel Presidente is in Verdado which is outside of old Havana. Initially it looks doable on the map. My boyfriend and I love to walk and by the end of the two days, we were finding it so what far, it was at least a 45 minute walk to old Havana and its quite tiring if you spent the whole day walking around already.

Buffet breakfast: nothing special especially when you compare what you can get at the casas

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GChan156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
2.3 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
3.6 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,783 reviews
3.7 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
2.3 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Roc Presidente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roc Presidente

Address: C/ Calzada 110 | Esquina Avda de los Presidentes Plaza de la Revolución, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: $188 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roc Presidente 3*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ROC-Hotels Presidente **** is located just 3 kms from the old historical part of Havana, "La Havana Vieja", a twenty minutes drive from the Jose Marti International Airport. It is only 20 minutes from the East Side beaches and 200 meters from the renowned Amadeo Roldan Theatre. Located in El Vedado, only 200 meters from the famous Pier of Havana, "el Malecon", on the Avenue of the Presidents, and flanked by the Cuban Foreign Office and the "Casa de las Americas", the Hotel Presidente rises gracefully with its 10 floors of history and in its peculiar colours of vermilion. The Roc-Hotels Presidente characterises itself for being housed in a spectacular building from the 1920's, being the first skyscraper in the city of Havana, and for its breathtaking interiors representing the era it was built in, but with all its modern comfort and services that the client seeks. The Hotel was reformed in 2011 following a clear luxury style and keeping all the grandeur of its recent history that included many famous personalities of diplomacy and business companies, as well as the art world. It is for this reason that an exquisite care was taken to preserve every detail during its restoration and decoration. Throughout the interior of the Hotel, displayed are more than 400 classified pieces of art, giving a very unique taste to the guests from the moment of their arrival. They can enjoy the "Lobby Museum", relax by the poolside, or go on interesting excursions to Pinar del Rio, Varadero, Santa Maria del Mar or other famous sites nearby. We offer bed and breakfast (CP board), breakfast and dinner ( Half board). We have WIFI in all rooms and all service areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Roc Presidente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidente Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing