We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Plaza Hotel in Old Havana”
Review of Hotel Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Plaza
Ranked #67 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“the Plaza Hotel in Old Havana”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Situated in the heart of Old Havana, it's an ideal place to see the old town.
Yes, it's a tired, 104-year-old-building that was once 'glorious'.
Yes, the food leaves something to be desired.
(That's Cuba, eh?)
BUT, the beds were comfortable, the A/C worked fine, there was a TV, a small fridge, a safe, lots of hot water and friendly, happy staff.
AND, did I mention that it's right in the heart of Old Havana?

I've written a diary of our 5-day stay at the Plaza:
http://www.gummy-stuff.org/Cuba_Diary.htm

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjPonzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    162
    404
    344
    337
See reviews for
175
555
126
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful colonial building perfectly situated close to Old Havana. The room we had was dreadful. Mould on the shower room ceiling. Uncomfortable beds - 2 large singles when we booked a double and very dodgy electrical sockets. And no window so rather like being in a prison cell. Avoid

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

Upwey, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here twice during three weeks. Beautiful lobby, location and excellent service. Food good, breakfast was a bit of a rush when there were large tour groups staying, otherwise good. Great views from the top floor (where restaurant is located) and wonderful location for walking old Havana, which one should definitely do. Helpful staff on reception. Maintenance in the rooms left a little to be desired - as with many buildings in Cuba, the wiring seemed to be done by amateurs and I did not dare turn on the air-conditioning after I viewed the exposed wiring held together with gaffer tape!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathM253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

I always return to that magic place. It is a real flashback to the 30's-40's. The rooms are fine, the staff is also great. Lobby bar is well priced and grand looking. Roof top restaurant offers a great view of the Capitolio building. Frankly it is greatly situated in the middle of it all, and close by to all that you may want to see. Very clean hotel, and great Staff, including the very best Marifelys.

Room Tip: All rooms are pretty quiet, but you may request a room that opens on a interior garden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monsieur K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, VA
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

On the plus side: You can walk all over old Havana from here, the lobby is beautiful, great view from the roof-top restaurant, reasonable priced sandwiches available at the bar.

Negatives: Some of the rooms are in pretty rough shape. Phone in my room didn't work. Door to refrigerator cabinet was falling off. The breakfast buffet often runs out of coffee cups, silverware, napkins, etc.

If you stay here, try to get a room facing the inner courtyard. These rooms are much more quiet that the rooms facing the street. I've spent four nights at Hotel Plaza. Two facing the street - difficult to sleep with all the horn honking. Two facing the inner courtyard - much better for sleeping, but the room was a little rough.

This is a government run hotel. They are trying to improve, I was told. I might stay here again, if my budget called for a 3 star hotel in old Havana.

Room Tip: Again, rooms facing the inner courtyard are more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The location is the only good thing I could say about this place. The beds were very uncomfortable, the staff very rude, breakfast buffet was awful and in my room there was mold all over the bathroom ceiling and wall. The only business this hotel seemed to generate was from tour groups. If staying in Havana, stay in a casa and get better quality and save lots of money!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prairiegirlwpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Easy walking distance to almost everything but everything else needs help. The breakfast buffet is not laid out in logical order- it seems silverware, dishes, glasses are just set wherever- plus the food - who wants a choice of peas and carrots or cooked pumpkin for breakfast. And how about rooms with windows so high, you cannot see out of them. Chances are, if you stay here, it is because your tour group chose it-but if you have a choice, try a casa particular in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 100countries245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#16 of 79 in Havana
1,580 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.3 mi away
Hotel Roc Presidente
Hotel Roc Presidente
#19 of 79 in Havana
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park View Hotel
Park View Hotel
#61 of 79 in Havana
425 reviews
5.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,611 reviews
0.0 mi away
Iberostar Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Plaza

Property: Hotel Plaza
Address: Ingnacio Agramonte 267 | Habana Vieja, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TravelUp and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing