We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location - wonderful breakfast - great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Parque Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iberostar Parque Central
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
248 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great location - wonderful breakfast - great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

I just spent 7 days in Cuba on a "People to People" exchange. This was our base hotel. What a great location in the middle of Old Havana, near many of the hot paladars and scenic sites like the Prado, Central Park, museums and classic bars and lots of street action. The morning breakfast buffet is quite amazing with many options - great fruit, many different types of breads and cheeses, hot items and salads. Even can have a Mimosa! Wonderful staff. Two great roof pools with great views and wonderful at sunrise or sunset.

Would highly recommend this location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ReginaPhelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear ReginaPhelps,
We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Parque Central. We are delighted that your holiday has been perfect in our resort and that you recommend us.
We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at Iberostar.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,694
    2,161
    433
    118
    94
See reviews for
1,055
3,578
240
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bromley
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location for walking around central Havana with plenty of interesting architecture and attractions within easy walking distance. In the older part of the hotel the rooms are very large, clean and comfortable but quite dated. Make sure you request a room lower than the 7th (top) floor because if it rains be prepared for leaks! We had a room smelling of damp with a damp patch on the carpet but could not change as the hotel was full. I believe the newer section of the hotel has better appointed rooms but the new building doesn't have the charm of the older part. Havana buildings are mainly colonial, very beautiful but crumbling so you just need to be aware but if you accept that it is part of the charm and can 'go with the flow' you will enjoy this amazing city. You MUST use the personal safe that is in the room as it is well known that money will go missing if you do not. The Cuban people are wonderful, vibrant, friendly and happy but they are poor so if you put temptation in their way then you must expect them to take advantage.
The roof terrace was fantastic. A lovely pool and bar looking out over the rooftops of Havana. A great place to relax after a busy day sightseeing and to soak up the sun.
Breakfast is quite an event. I have never stayed in a hotel where there was so much choice. By far the best breakfast I have had anywhere in the world. Everything you can think of is available for a truly international menu and most of it is freshly cooked to order right in front of your eyes. We filled up in the morning and skipped lunch because food available in the smaller surrounding restaurants is fairly basic and bland.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Happytaveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Happytaveller,
On behalf of the staff of Iberostar Parque Central, I would like to thank you for choosing us as your host hotel in Havana. We are glad that you have had an excellent vacation and that you think that we have the best breakfast buffet of all. We apologize for the smell in your room as a cause of the humidity and heavy rain. November and December were months of the heaviest rain Havana has seen in many many years, we know this is not an excuse and now we know how to be double prepared for weather conditions so extreme as these we had. We will be renovating the hotel next year and will change the carpets so I am very sure that this problem will be soon counteracted.

Kind regards,
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 9th Dec to the 13th Dec this year on our first trip to Havana. Transfer from the airport took around 30 mins and check in took around 5 with the very pleasant staff on the reception. The main foyer/bar area was large/airy with plenty of seating options and decorated beautifully for the Christmas period. We had room 719 in the older building of the two which make up this hotel.

Our room was spacious, very clean with one of the largest beds I have ever slept in! A large TV is provided along with a table area, desk and double doors which opened to let a little of Havana in. The mini bar prices are expensive (as they are everywhere) there is a local supermarket a couple of mintues down the road where you can get water and soft drinks etc. The bathroom was clean with a separate shower and bath, however it could have done with a little modernising. Everything in the bathroom was in good working order, but looked a little tired. I have read some comments about money being taken from rooms, and can only make the following very clear. There is a large easy to use safe provided free of charge in each room, we used this religously to keep any valuables/cash and therefore we didn't have any issues. If you choose to leave any valuables outside of the safe (in any country I may add) then you have to take responsiblity if they go for a walk. The air conditioning in the room worked really well, with a simple thermostat control on the wall.

We only ate breakfast in the hotel and as we had a special deal ate this in El Paseo every morning, which was like having a private breakfast. The staff in El Paseo were excellent, being both professional whilst being welcoming and friendly. The buffet was excellent and if you wanted anything from the main buffet (such as an omlette), the staff were happy to go and get it for you.

The pool area on top on the old building is nice to come back to after a long day of exploring Havana, however the pool area on top of the newer building is nicer. Don't expect the whirpool/jacuzzi area of either pool to be warm as neither were when we visited.

Overall this is an excellent hotel in a brilliant location for exploring all parts of Havana and I would recommend to anyone. As per other reviews, there is some noise from the roof top bars/restaurants around you but this usually finished between 11 and 12. If you want to have a quiet morning then ask for a room as high as possible, as even being on the seventh floor we could still hear a little of what was going on on the streets below. Havana is a city full of life,culture and wonderful people, it simply must be included as part of any trip to Cuba.

Room Tip: Go high if you want to avoid some of th street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Anna_W76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Anna_W76,

We would like to thank you for choosing our hotel as part of your holiday. We feel very happy to read your positive comments regarding our staff and facilities.

We will make sure to congratulate the staff at Paseo restaurant for contributing on your wellbeing.

We are confirden that you wil lbe staying again at Iberostar.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

How great it is to enjoy the evening by the pool on top of this superb hotel in central Havana. For us and many others in here it is the reason for selecting this hotel.
However, the new Spanish management is not reliable it seems. When we buy the Hotel Parque Central product, it is inclusive of the pool area with the music, atmosphere and the fantastic service. Now it seems like they sometimes sell this part of the product we have already paid for a second time to another party, denying us the access. When will be next time short term profit will be overriding the focus of the guest?
This was a little harsh after awarding top rating for previous 12-14 nights at the supposedly best hotel in Havana. On the plus side, internet slightly better a year later!
However, I expect to get what I pay for. I expect a compensation.
At the end -if you are a cigar smoker, the cigars here are cheap but of low quality. They are lacking the maturity a top cigar should have. The best Cuban cigars you get anywhere but in Cuba; this applies to all hotels of course. Why care; 90% of the tourists buying cigars can’t tell anyhow but for us regular smokers we tell the difference.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Olecigar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Mr. Olecigar:
We would like to thank you for your review and for staying once again at our hotel. We are well aware that you have written about your services in the past and we appreciate that you have returned to us.
Our hotel receives many types of tourism. We get free individual travelers, meetings and incentives, weddings, external clients renting catering facilities etc. When we commercialize any of our services we take in consideration the lowest possible disruption to the rest of our customers. In this case, when any of our clients wantsan event in the swimming pool, we are careful enough to have the swimming pool on the other building available for our customers in order to enjoy this service. As well, we always advise all our customers, indicating them with signs in the lobby and in the pool areas, about the other available swimming pool. On the same hand, the pool is never closed the whole day, so we always give the opportunity to our clients to use the pool until after midday and then we prepare for the activity. We would like you to know that we regret the fact that this was an inconvenience for you.
Our cigars are always supplied by the authorized suppliers in Cuba. We never commercialize a product that is not authorized for its sale by the Cuban government.
We appreciate your positive feedback regarding our services and music and hope you give us the opportunity to be your host once again.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Hotel is well located and facilities are good.We booked into the Hotel on Dec 5th,2013 and had a full day trip to vinales. Later we returned in the night around 7pm- we were away from the room for about one hour no more. Much to our surprise we realised about £80 and US $45 had been stolen from my wife's purse, which had been left in the room. We then found out that our friends staying in a neighbouring room had also lost about £60 !

We complained to the management immediately. We were told that we were mistaken initially. An investigation was apparently carried out, but then we were told flatly that the money was not taken from the room !

This is extremely poor, particularly in light of two separate guests reporting the same problem. The Hotel essentially denied any liability, and made no attempt to compensate what was a not a small amount of money.

This coloured what was otherwise a lovely hotel, in a beautiful country.

PS I note that there have been other reviews addressing the same problem of theft.

Room Tip: super hotel, just need to tighten up the security. We did essentially pay for VIP treatment, and did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Dr_Ekanayake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, January 5, 2014
Dear Dr_Ekanayake,

On behalf of our hotel staff and management we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your holiday in Cuba. On the same hand I would like to stress one of your first points in your review, and this is that we never tell a client that an incident did not happen in the first place when we haven’t even done a previous investigation. You also do not state in your review that you were uncertain about missing the money during the excursion you took to Viñales when everyone in the bus (including your friends who were also missing money) had to leave the belongings and purses; belongings that you claimed didn’t check but after approaching our staff stating you had some money missing. We have very well trained security department and the chief of security personally checks the entries in your room of any person that enters or tries to enter (even a client that by mistake puts a key into your door denying access). We gave you all the written proof that none of our staff had done an irregular entry, the only entry in the evening was your turndown service which you were aware of and didn’t last more than 9 minutes in your room (which is not enough time to register all your bags searching for money and leaving everything intact). As well you are supplied with an electronic safety deposit box, free of charge for all our clients to keep their belongings.

We have emailed you all the information after your departure and the conclusions of the investigation done by the security department of our hotel and truly apologize that you had to go through an unfortunate situation during your holiday but unfortunately there is no proof that this incident took place in our premises as you were not sure in the first place if it did really take place in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

amazing view of Teatro de la Habana and the Capitol, walking distance from the centre of Old Habana, which in my opinion, is the best place to stay - minutes away from El Floridita, El Bodeguita del Media with amazing salsa bands, very very safe (we walked it back at 3am), music played in the streets, minutes from Catedral de San Cristobal etc etc. We stayed in the old part which in my opinion is much more authentic (newer part is like a European business hotel). For me a must-do is the Havana Club rum factory (live salsa band there, amazing), watch lives cigars being made at the Hostal Conde de Villanueva (famous for its Casa del Habanos), have a great meal at Dona Eutemia, take the epic picture with the silhouette of Che Guevara in Plaza de la Revolucion,have a mojito at Bodeguita del Medio, and definitely, hire a pink chevvy :)))

Room Tip: the old part is more authentic, and the higher up you are the better the view - AMAZING.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamaica29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Jamaica29,

We would like to thank you for staying at iberostar Parque Central. We feel proud by the fact that we have offered you a lovely holiday in Cuba.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We were placed in the newer part of this hotel - an annex building, accessed either through the main hotel or from the side road. The rooms were large, nicely appointed, clean and comfortable - comparable to a very good business hotel in Europe. Whilst it perhaps didn't have the traditional feel of the older building that didn't bother me in the slightest! After some "interesting" rooms in hotels in other parts of Cuba I almost cried with relief on arrival.

The location is perfect for visiting Habana Vieja and the rooftop pools provide excellent views. We stayed in May when the weather was glorious and consequently it was quite hard to get space at either pool. My only other gripe was ordering room service - I phoned 4 times with no answer and eventually had to go down to reception.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahWrigles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Dear SarahWrigles,

We would like to thank you for staying at Iberostar Parque Central. We are glad to read your positive comments in your review and apologize for the problem in touching base with room service.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again at any of our hotels.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
5.5 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Parque Central

Property: Iberostar Parque Central
Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#5 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Parque Central 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and Iberostar so you can book your Iberostar Parque Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing