We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot on”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Ranked #1 of 81 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights after spending 7 nights in Varadero. The best choice we could have made. Room, staff, food, location all perfect. You have to run the gauntlet of chaps and a lady (called Julie) offering you taxis, tours, horse drawn rides every single time you walk out of the front door, but that's par for the course in Cuba. The hotel were kind enough to let us have our room on departure day for a couple no extra hours at no charge, as they had no one booked into it. We can't praise this hotel and it's staff enough.

Room Tip: Buy a cigar in there, the whole ceremony of the girl lighting it for you is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1962couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Northampton,

Thank you very much for these nice words. Rest assured that I will pass all your compliments to the staff involved, I would like you to know that I am pleased that you've enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Hospitable regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,768 - 2,774 of 7,257 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2013

The 7th floor views of Old Havana from our room were amazing. We hear Aida from the roof top bar as the evening drew to a close as the Theatre is so close by. All the vintage cars park outside this hotel so people can take them for a trip around Havana. We did one in a '52 Chevy painted bring bubblegum pink with Jenny and Omar that the concierge organised. Picked up cigars and rum from the government shop and did a tour of Old, Central and New Havana. See the statue of Christ, Che Guevera's home near the same, the monument to Jose Marti, Revolution Square, the Cathedral and the Malecon.

The pool on the roof is the highlight. Amazing views of the Capitol building and the ocean. Try the local cocktails and fruit juice. The long street outside leads you down to the fort. It really is a great location.

Locals consider this the new best hotel in Havana ahead of the Nacional hotel but bear in mind this is in a sanctioned country so a lot of stuff just isnt available. That being said what they have they make good use of.

My only gripe? Food! I was constantly starving as there is no vegetarian food! That being said I stuffed myself at breakfast to make up for it as they really put out a ridiculous spread. Wish they kept some behind so I got some proper lunch. I was restricted to pizza.

Visit Havana.Its worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Old Havana on one of the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Binkyatavern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Binkyatavern,

Thanks you for your most positive comments on our hotel and I am pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your stay.

Regarding your comment on vegetarian food at the hotel, I fully agree with you that that is a pending task for us, a topic that we can overcome as many other inconveniences.
Personally I made aware the team kitchen about your impressions and I am convinced that in your next visit you will score us with 5.
Once again thank you for your positive feedback,

Hospitable regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My family and I (husband, 7 year old and 8 month old) stayed here for 2 nights on 22nd Aug on a B&B basis with Virgin. On arrival at the hotel I was immediately blown away, the lobby is grand and gives the perfect ambiance for this hotel. As with most queues in Cuba we were put to the front as we had young children (annoying to some childless travellers, but after travelling for 18 plus hours it is a gesture much appreciated).

ROOM
We were immediately checked in and accompanied to our room by the bellboy. I made a couple of requests beforehand, like a babycot and room with great view, both were given. The room was huge, more than enough room for 4 of us. There was a bath and separate shower in a good sized bathroom. Can't comment on the cleaning staff as we opted not to have the room cleaned as we were only there 2 nights. Our view which was over the main square was perfect. We heard no noise from the street until we opened the balcony doors. Which was something I liked to do, watching the world go by below you was beautiful. When you tour around Havana you will see many Cubans standing on their balconies just watching the world go by, and having done that I can totally understand why they do it.

AMENITIES
We went to both roof top pools, the one on the newer part of the hotel is much nicer, but you should go to both just to see the different views which are spectacular. My husband used the Gym, although not big with the best equipment it was fit for purpose and he made of use of it during our short stay.

LOCATION
Perfect. You walk out the doors to the busy world of Havana. The array of people hassling you outside is annoying but as previously suggested a firm no thank you is all you should do. We took a stroll around, which is recommended. We walked along the beachfront where there appears to be alot of work going on given the amount of scaffolding. The buildings are so big and gorgeous but are falling apart so scaffolding can only be a good thing. On our way back to the hotel we did walk through what can only be described as the 'bronx' of Havana. Rubbish and crap all over the street, the smell ... at one point a scruffy woman walked up to us and asked us for all my baby's clothes which I politely declined. We did a horse and cart ride around the city. We asked for a recommendation for somewhere to eat, we knew we'd end up somewhere where they would get a few quid, which was El Baturro. Although I'm sure it was a tourist trap we were very happy with the price and food.

STAFF
The staff were very polite and friendly, especially the door staff. They were attentive and helpful with any questions. The pool bar staff were pleasant, and entrusted you to pay for your drinks when you had finished rather than everytime you went up. The staff and people of Havana were very family friendly and loved babies.

FOOD
As we were on a B&B basis only the breakfast was included. The breakfast was incredible. Everything was cooked to perfection, there was plenty to eat for all appetites. I'd read many reviews on Cuba and was slightly worried about the food but was pleasantly surprised. The restaurant on the other hand ... we went to the steakhouse in the hotel on the first night as it had been a long long day so didn't want to go too far. The meals were expensive on the menu, and were nothing special. With a glass of wine, two beers and 3 meals we paid close to £90. We would NEVER pay that sort of money in the UK. I read many a time about being over charged and I believe on this occasion we were clearly taken advantage of. Being the first night and all we chalked it up to experience and certainly didn't let that ruin our short time there.

In all the only thing that let our time here down was the fact we were only there for 2 nights. 4 nights would have been just right in my opinion. Havana is a beautiful city, there is so much to see and experience. It really was like stepping back into the 50s with the huge and beautiful buildings and old fashioned cars. To explore this extraordinary city you really should stay in this hotel. The location is perfect, the breakfast is the best, the rooms on the old side over looking the square are grand and the staff are very very pleasant. A diamond in the heart of Havana and worthy of it's 5 stars. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Old building over looking square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Steph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear reviewer Steph S,
Thanks lot for all the effort and time it took you to post your comments on this travelling site, for sure we are going to spread your words among the staff, since the best award we all can be granted is the acknowledgement from the Guests when they are pleased with our work, once again thanks a lot for all your compliments.

Hospitable regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had 4 nights at this hotel. The location was fab. the hotel was great. Excellent service from all staff. Would like to mention by name Carlos Ovidio Leandeo goege, bar staff who gave friendly excellent service at all times of the day or night. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We loved the old part of the hotel. Lobby perfect place to sit and enjoy a cocktail!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dorothy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer Dorothy,

Thank you for your words about our hotel, we are very pleased on knowing that you had a marvelous experience here, we will pass your words to the staff for them to know about your opinion and we hope we will meet you soon again.

Once again, thanks for your words, they are a truly award for the whole staff.

Hospitable regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Sitting on the edge of the old tow of Havana, this hotel was a fantastic base.

The old hotel, also has an annex (new hotel section). the old part has a fantastic lobby/bar area. A large ornate staircase leads up to the mezzanine and business floor. There is a no smoking area within the lobby if you wish to avoid the cigar smoke.

In the bar area there is some live music on an evening and a fantastic array of alcoholic drinks, but do have a Mojito or Rum Collins (no mint mojito) as it is very refreshing.

We stayed in the old hotel as found the room we had been booked into in the new part was too noisy. There is a time and place for all the music outside but we were tired after our flight and needed rest not salsa (just yet)

The room itself was great, two single beds joined together with a table and to chairs. A balcony with French doors (albeit too small to sit out on) but it was great to look over the city. It is run down and in parts falling down but it has a certain magic to it.

The breakfast buffet was truly amazing. So much choice including freshly made omelettes, cooked food, pastries, cereals, cold meats and Cava for a Bucks Fizz. All you need to keep you going for the day ahead. Staff are very attentive and even more so if you tip along the way.

The roof top swimming pool if a fantastic oasis. It has a separate jacuzzi and also a small bar close by. The views of the Capitolio Building are fantastic and we witnessed an amazing lightning storm from the roof.

The bar area can get very busy and loud but has a great buzz. The food within the bar is outstanding and I can recommend the croquettes and the eggs with shaved ham. Attentive staff once again who are also very friendly.

Wi-fi is slow - but throughout Cuba it is the same. It will cost to use it in the common areas, so know what you want to do and just keep on and do it.

Exchange rates at the hotel are reasonable and I am prepared for a slightly worse rate than the 1 hour wait experienced by others in banks.

Overall a great hotel and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Havana

Room Tip: Old Hotel away from the noise of some bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ywurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer Ywurry,
Thank you very much for all the comments you share don this site with the rest of the travelling community, when we read words like yours we feel that we have accomplished our goal, I mean to fulfill the expectations from the Guests on their travel to Cuba, for sure you can count on Iberostar Parque Central as you resting oasis any time you would come to visit us.
Hope we will meet you soon in our Hotel.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Sitting in the lobby of this wonderful hotel, sipping a Cuba Libre, is a truly wonderful travelling experience. With the magic of Havana right outside the front door you could not hope to find a more wonderful base to explore this amazing city and I can't speak highly enough of every aspect of this hotel. The food, the ambiance, the staff, the location, all made for a fantastic four days in the city and I absolutely recommend a stay at the Parque Central. I would not hesitate to stay here again and loved every minute. What a place and what a city! I agree with other reviewers as far as the wonderful food etc. is concerned and even the slightly 'lost in time' feel to the rooms, somehow adds to the authentic feel of this place. When you go to a place like Havana, you want to feel like you're back in 1959 and the Parque Central gets the balance exactly right. You have all the comforts of the 21st century but at the same time, half expect to see Hemmingway sitting at the bar. Wonderful!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank tojorising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra g, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear Reviewer Tojorising,
We would love to thank you for all the marvelous comments you have wrote here and also for the time and effort it took you to post them for the whole travelling community to read them, reading your words we feel the urge to share your comments with the whole staff of the hotel, since such words are priceless and encouraging, they lead us not only to continue working in this way but also to try improving all the time, your thoughts are the best award we ever could receive.
Once again, thanks a lot for all your comments, we hope to see you soon back in our hotel,
Hospitable regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel facilities were all very good as you would expect of a 5 star hotel. What really made it a great visit were the staff, who were all exceptionally friendly and attentive and very helpful. The breakfast is just about the best you will find anywhere with a massive choice for all tastes. The only reason that it does not get and excellent rating is that in the evening the food is not that great, we had one meal in the hotel and then ate out in the paladars which were all much better than our evening dining experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MJ53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear MJ53,
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Parque Central on your holiday. We are thankful to read you have had a wonderful experience at our hotel.

We hope to be able to welcome you once again!
Paulina Chahin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 81 in Havana
3,807 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 81 in Havana
3,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 81 in Havana
1,877 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 81 in Havana
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Parque Central

Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#5 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $207 - $535 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Parque Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Parque Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing