We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

First the positives. Great location in central Havana, with large comfortable rooms. The buffet at breakfast and dinner was very good considering the dire quality of food available in the local shops - don't go to Cuba for 'retail therapy' by the way! The downside to the hotel is the over-priced and generally poor selection of food in the downstairs lobby, and even more so on the roof terrace bar. For a truly surreal experience, order the Hotel's Club Sandwich which as even the waitress warned us '"no es un Club Sandwich, exactamente". I wouldn't recommend spending a week in Havana - the place is falling to pieces, and there are beggars and dodgy hucksters at every corner. The Mojitos and the music are good though.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExpatSouthernSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear ExpatSouthernSpain,

On behalf of Iberostar Parque Central's staff, I would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed our premises and our breakfast/dinner. Our food selection at the lobbybar is snacks, for this reason we don't have an extense menu, the same occurs in the bar. We assume that the comment on our Iberostar's Club Sandwich is positive, as it is one of our chef's creations taking the best of the club sandwiche's ingredients with the creativity of our executive chef. Havana is a historical and cultural city, as well it was named patrimony of the humanity by UNESCO and we strongly believe that every city has its charm and beauty and we regrect that you were not able to appreciate the opportunity you have had of staying in this type of city.

Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (7,128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,954 - 2,960 of 7,129 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We visited Havana for two nights. Arrived early evening on the Thursday. Check in was smooth and professional staff. The room we had was lovely. There was a nice big comfy bed and clean bathroom facilities. the room we had was on the 2nd floor and a lift is available near reception. The actual hotel is very smart...with plenty of staff available to help, from porters, security and a conceirge. you are able to smoke in the bar area. We had only breakfast in the hotel. This was lovely and would meet everyone's taste. The roof top pool was a very nice addition and have spectacular views from above. There are not a lot of sun lounges around the pool so be prepared to get in early to secure one. Basic food is available around the pool....chips particular tasty. There is a gym. Very basic but does the job. The hotel location is perfect. Not far from landmarkes andthe sea is which is nice. We took a tour around the town in an old convertible. We paid 85 pescos for 2 and a half hours. Very interesting and some nice places to see. Try and get the old red convertible outside the hotel with a female guide....she was lovely. it was a very good start to the holiday and would recommend a visit but two nights for me was plenty. i would definitely recommend this hotel if you are looking for somewhere classy, friendly and a central location.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DLK1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Mrskitchener,
We would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Iberostar Parque Central Hotel. We feel honoured by your recommendation and positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities.
We trust you will be staying at any of our hotels.
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went to Havana not knowing exactly what to expect, but generally expecting the worse. Having said that, the Iberostar Parque Central exceeded our expectations. It's basically a higher-end European hotel with quirks that come with being in Cuba. We stayed in the new section and oddly enough, even though it's only 4 or 5 years old, it is beginning to show quite a bit of wear and tear... There are three elevators in the new section and at times during our stay, only one was working. One elevator was out permanently (at least during our stay) and a second elevator worked only intermittently. Fortunately we were on the second floor and with only the mezzanine between us and the ground floor, we could walk up and down... Elevators in the colonial section were that same with one that was out during the whole length our our stay, although both of their other two worked... One thing that surprised us was the electricity. After reading in other publications that 90% of Cuba was 120vac we find this hotel to be 100% 220vac. We didn't bring an adapter, but managed to borrow one from the front desk... The shower stall was poorly designed because everytime we took a shower, water leaked all over the bathroom floor. However, it was a fantastic shower with lots of water pressure and hot water. I wish we had that at home... Maybe it's a Euro thing or a Cuba thing, but we weren't allowed to take food out of the restaurant back to our rooms... Air conditioning was very quiet, but the last few days of our stay we didn't need it as the temps dropped to about 26 degrees. :( ... Our room overlooked the street and was basically quiet at nights but we could hear street noise in the mornings beginning about 6. Not a huge problem for us though... Hotel staff were always friendly, although when I asked front desk staff if we could make a local outside call, they told us the only place was from our room - at $0.20CUC per call. I then asked if it was possible for the concierge to make the call for us. The front desk staff said no, they could not make an outside call either. Undeterred, I went to the concierge anyways and sure enough, he made the call for us after which I tipped him $1.00CUC. Come to think of it, I should have made the call from our room. :) ... I guess I shouldn't complain too much, but drinks from the hotel bar were extremely overpriced when compared to other places in Havana. $3.00CUC for local beer, $4.75CUC for a mojito. Even the very touristy Habana Vieja area bars only charged $1.50CUC and $2.20CUC respectively... The included breakfast buffet was very good. There were always scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and some type of bean available. The omelet station made great omelets or just fried eggs if that's your thing. Different types of bread and cold cuts were also available. "Exotic" juices and sparkling wine were also availble every morning, along with the standard lowly orange juice and tomato juice. Very disappointing coffee in the hotel though. For a country that prides itself on its coffee, the hotel coffee basically sucked. We had much better coffee at cafes outside, which were the first places we went to after leaving the hotel in the morning... Best of all, this hotel is right in the heart of old Havana and within walking distance of all the tourist sights and sounds, if you can dodge the jinteros and taxi drivers offering their services hanging around the front and side doors. Although they aren't overly aggressive, they do get annoying. 15 minute walk to the Malecon, 5 minutes to Habana Vieja, 5 minutes to Habana Centro. Couldn't ask for a better situated location... All in all a very good experience - both at the hotel and in Havana, and although this hotel would probably rate a 3-4 star at best back home, if you keep in mind that this is Cuba you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank youfeelshame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Youfeelshame,
On behalf of our hotel staff and especially the manager, we would like to thank you for your preference for Iberostar Parque Central. We are happy to read we have exceeded your expectations and thank your feedback regarding our facilities and services. We are glad to know you have had an onverall good experience .
We hope to be able to welcome you back at any of our hotels.
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Selected this hotel after reading the reviews and it lived up to what we read. We decided to stay in the new building which was very nice. We got to the hotel at 1:15 pm on a Saturday but was told check in time not until 4:00 pm. Waited in the lobby as very tired from flight and we were finally able to get the room at 3:45. We got upgraded to a suite which was unexpected and very nice. Employees at front desk very helpful and friendly. Drawbacks: very few electrical outlets that weren't already being used so constantly having to plug and unplug applicances. Not great hairdryer but standard in most hotels and kind of chintzy with towels but I just asked and got what I needed. The bed was terrible, hard as a rock and very uncomfortable. The last night we were there, had a lovely note left by the maid. However, other than it had a that great view from the balconies and noise from the street was not an issue. Location of the hotel was great but as we plan to go back again, next time we will stay in the old section. The lobby in the old building was great for people watching and lots of activity happening. Nice in the evening to have a nightcap. Lazaro at the concierge desk, in the older building, was a wonderful person to deal with; very helpful, attentive and very professional; went out of his way to direct us to local restaurants which were very good. Thank you Lazaro! Overall prices for tourists in Havana and Cuba were generally what you can expect; food usually bland and served lukewarm when it could be hotter. Breakfasts at the hotel were very good and great selection but only ate dinner at the hotel once. Highly recommend taking one of the coca taxis around (thanks Erik!). Didn't get to see much local entertainment other than live music in some of the cafes on Obispo. Chavez died that week so most entertainment was banned except for restaurants which could be open.
People were generally friendly and helpful. Taxi driver, Robert, took us to a El Guajirito which turned out to be great. Very busy and the good was quite good although rather expensive but as it was our second last night before going home we weren't bothered. We were hoping to see Buenva Vista Social Club but was cancelled due to Chavez dying. First time to Cuba so we had no expectations and had such a great time we plan to go back to see more and will stay at the Parque Central again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJD_M11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Mjd. Martin,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar's Parque Central Hotel. We are very happy to read that you have had a wonderful experience with us and that you are planning to visit us once again. Please email us in advance so we can check on your room requests prior to your arrival.

We will congratulate Lazaro for contributing on your wellbeing.
Looking forward to seeing you again,
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here on a National Geographic tour for 3 nights at the beginning and end of the tour. It was very convenient for exploring Habana Vieja. The room was clean, the staff very friendly and helpful; the bathroom was very roomy with a tub and big shower. The carpet was very worn and stained in both rooms giving it the impression of not being entirely clean. There was a coffee pot in the room but no coffee or tea in the room, I understood you could purchase these but I had brought my own, having read this information beforehand. The dining room was very well supplied with a great variety of foods at breakfast, serving many tastes and the staff there was very helpful and friendly. My first room overlooked the Prado which remained busy with traffic throughout the night, ear plugs helped me get a bit better rest, it was fun to watch all the old cars and activity there in the evening. On the return stay I had a room on the courtyard which was very quiet.
There was a cost to obtain wireless internet access or use the hotels computers, as I recall 5 CUC per hour; there was frequently a line to use the in house computers but I was able to access enough to stay in touch with family.
The rooftop pool area was very pleasant for the main hotel and adjacent building with food and beverage service and a great view of the City. I would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear BarbaraL,

On behalf of our hotel staff, I would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Parque Central for your holiday. We are glad to hear you were part of one of our back to back's National Geographic groups. We are glad to understand by your comments that you have had a great experience in our hotel overall.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Very impressed with this hotel. Excellent location for old Havana and getting around the rest of the city.

Our room was in the older (colonial) part of the hotel. It was very pleasant, well furnished (including bathrobes), clean, a good size with a small balcony and with a great view over the Prado and rooftops to the sea. Views from the two roof top pools were even better.

Easy and quick late evening check in after a long and delayed flight. Met with a welcome drink. Very attractive public lounges and bar with music in the evening. Good friendly service all round including for drinks in the lobby and by the pools.

Food at breakfast was very good. Only problem was attracting attention to get coffee at breakfast on two days of our 4 day stay.

We had a high floor room and noise was not a problem either within the hotel or from outside. Taxis and tours depart from outside and there was very little hassle compared to other countries we have visited.

Having looked round we wouldn't stay anywhere else in Havana.

Room Tip: E mail in advance and ask for a high floor with a view of the Parque or the Prado
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Col07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear Col07,

We would like to thank you for sharing with the online community of TripAdvisor your opinion about your experience at Iberostar Parque Central. It motivates us to continue improving to know you have made the best choice for your vacation in Havana.
We trust to be able t o offer you our hospitality at any of our hotels.
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights in March so we got to know the place quite well.
Positive:
By standards in Cuba, I don't think you will find better. Staff helpful and polite. Great buffet breakfast with eggs cooked to order. Really good location. Rooftop pool area very good.
Bar in the lobby, very good for a drink and people watching. Live music every night.
Rooms are large with air conditioning and bed was very comfortable.
Concierge Lazaro was excellent and seemed to know Havana really well. Go with any of his recommendations.
The girl in the lobby bar with the cigar trolley was also excellent.
Negative:
No internet access in rooms or public areas. Only in business centre, and then had to pay. Not good!
Warnings:
Every time you leave the hotel be prepared to be bombarded with street sellers offering taxis, american car rides, cigars, bike taxis, horse and carriage rides etc etc. Jusy say no.
Don't buy cigars on the street - 95% fake
People will try to chat to you on the street - try to avoid. There is not a Salsa festival every day, there is not a cigar festival everyday, with half price cigars for "today only" and don't go to the great little resturant they recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JWM49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at IBEROSTAR Parque Central, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2013

Dear JWM49;

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar's Parque Central hotel for your holiday. We are glad to read that you consider us the best hotel in Havana with attentive and professional staff. We are always trying our best to give our customer's an unforgettable experience in all our hotels.

I will personally congratulate Lázaro and Dailyn (the girl with the cigar trolley) for making you both feel like stars.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality once again.
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 80 in Havana
3,511 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Parque Central

Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#5 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $304 - $658 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — IBEROSTAR Parque Central 4.5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your IBEROSTAR Parque Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing