We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great base to explore havana” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Iberostar Parque Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Iberostar Parque Central
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great base to explore havana”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here for three days in February. Our room was in the new addition to the hotel. The service was very good. The breakfast was great and never crowded, the concierge offered several good ideas for sight-seeing, the location is perfect with most sights in Havana within walking distance. There are several restaurants and patisseries close by that are worth trying. The views from our room was breathtaking, particularly at sunrise and sunset.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new tower may be a somewhat quieter because they are not right across from the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trippy029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Philip B,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Parque Central. We are pleased to understand by your review that you have had a great holiday with us. We hope to be able to welcome you once more in the future.
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,694
    2,161
    433
    118
    94
See reviews for
1,055
3,578
240
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
77 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This centrally located hotel is within wallking distance of old Havana and most of the downtown sites. You can walk to the Malecon in 10 minutes from here. The hotel is interesting because there are 2 distinct sections, One is a typical traditional hotel, while the other is fairly modern and sleek. There are 2 entrances and lobbies. We stayed on the traditional side and were not disappointed. The bathroom was very large with both a shower and a tub. The only downside was the pushed together single beds to make up a king size bed. This required much pulling out of sheets in order to get comfy. The lobby is well thought out, with plenty of space, nice bar and lounge area. The staff spoke English and were very accomodating to our every need. We had breakfast in the hotel every day and given the amount of foreign travelers, it appeared that they could accomodate everyone's tastes. There was no problem eating fresh fruit, salad greens, etc. We had the drinks at the bar with ice and had no problems, but if you have a sensitive stomach, stick to cooked foods, bottled water for hydration and teeth brushing. The pool was small but the lounge and resteraunt were very nice, especially at night overlooking the plaza.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Eamorgan,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to send us your comments on how your holiday went in Iberostar Parque Central.
We are thrilled that you have told us that in your experience we meet everyone's tastes and that you have had a great vacation with us.

We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality again at any of our hotels.
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

If you're looking for a country that is swathed in luxury, don't go to Cuba. On the other hand, Hotel Iberostar Parque Central is an oasis in a city of structures that are mostly in disrepair. The rooms layout and amenities are wonderful, the food is good and the staff really tries. The two negatives are however, readily apparent. The elevators are to use understatement, lacking; and the mattresses in the rooms have a thickness not unlike a flat screen TV.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank managed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Managed,

We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Parque Central. We are pleased to understand by your review that you have had a good holiday with us.
We are always working towards imrpoving our services and standards as our clients are our top priority.

Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Iberostar Parque Central for 3 nights at the start of our Cuba holiday. This was by far the best of the 3 hotels we stayed at in Havana and of the 6 we stayed in nationwide.

The hotel is well placed for exploring Old Havana. We had a double room in the older section of the hotel. It was large, clean and comfortable with a comfortable bed, a stocked minibar and several foreign TV channels. Temperature regulation was easy with the a/c and, in spite of the hotel being near a busy part of town, it was quiet and peaceful.

The staff throughout the hotel were friendly and very efficient, especially those in reception. The breakfast buffet was very large, diverse and high quality (Queues to enter developed at peak times – between 8 and 9am when we were there – but staff did well to open a side restaurant to take the overflow). We had drinks on several occasions and dinner once in the quaint lobby. Food and drink there were excellent. The rooftop bar by the pool also does good drinks and has the best view of any hotel in Havana - even the more famous ones.

Although the air conditioning system does well at suppressing smoke, and there are No Smoking tables marked, the lobby does sometimes become quite smokey. This is to be expected in a country famous for its cigars and with few, if any, restrictions on smoking in public places, but it can become a nuisance sometimes for those now used to smoke-free hotels in Europe.

You can pay for internet access. Wifi has to be purchased for a minimum of 5 hours which is perhaps too long for those on holiday; shorter periods can be paid for on the hotel computers but they are busy and we never found one free.

I only had one real complaint with this hotel. Whilst the staff were friendly and efficient, bar staff in the lobby and on the rooftop added their own “tips” to the bills the only two times they thought I was paying with cash (once I did, the other time I ended up signing for the correct, lower amount). They only added small amounts but enough to make sure the total crept over a round figure to encourage even bigger amounts to be left as tips. The only time I did pay cash I was short-changed. These may have been innocent mistakes, but the fact that it happened both times (and only the times) the staff thought I was paying cash, the slightly suspicious behaviour of the staff concerned, and the fact we had the same problem in other establishments in town, leads me to believe the practice is not uncommon. It’s a shame as it is not what you expect from a 5 star hotel and it tarnishes the place's image. It would be great if management could crack down on this.

Overall, however, this is a very good hotel and I’d highly recommend it. We plan to go back to Cuba and will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_voyagerII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear SwissVoyagerl,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar’s Parque Central hotel. We are delighted to know you have felt like a star at Iberostar. We thank you for your feedback regarding one of our bars, as you might know, tips are not included in the payment of food or beverages consumed in the hotel, however, it always needs to be left to the consideration of the amount the client wants to leave. We would have liked you to approach us with this situation so we could have made something about it before you left.

We trust to be able to welcome you again at any of our hotels, thanks for your recommendation
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We visited Cuba for a wedding, in Guardalavaca, but flew up to Havana for 3 days as part of a twin-centre package deal. This seemed the best and most central hotel and, having reviewed the Trip Advisor comments, booked it. We were not disappointed. It is a great, central hotel where you are well looked after, from the doormen (& security), the beautiful lobby cafe/bar to the maids and restaurant staff. The rooftop pool is amazing and with bar staff to serve you what more do you need! The restaurants are varied and a bit pricey, but only to be expected in such a hotel, and one was unfortunately closed for the 3 days we visited, but the poolside grill was excellent. We ate there on our last night and had a great fillet steak, which strangely was not available in the downstairs steak restaurant (?), excellently served.On leaving for a trip to the fort across the harbour the doorman found us a decent, air-conditioned taxi without a problem, though coming back when we had to source our own was somewhat different (beware the bugs in taxis as my wife was severely bitten!). The one downside was that, despite the hotel advertising wi-fi and with my wife expecting some urgent emails we had taken our iPad, the facility was not available. Also the staff at the Business Centre could not even be bothered to speak to us despite visiting several times. We would have hired a PC if it had been available but we could not even enquire as to availability. If all guests are treated this way the Business Centre should be kicked out of the hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in the front (old) part of the hotel which, despite some noise as we were at the front on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear PeterC,

We would like to thank you for sharing with the online community of TripAdvisor yout opinion about your stay. It is motivating to know you have had a great vacation with us. We take the opportunity to inform you that internet access in our hotel is offered by us but the connection does not belong to the hotel. Unfortunately we depend on an external vendor in order to have WIFI cards available and in order to get the internet connection. We do have the computers available whenever the WIFI cards have not being supplied and as an in any other country with a cyber-cafe, there are queues if there is many people wishing to use the service. Of course the attentiveness of our staff is an aspect we can and must control, so don't worry about this issue as I will assort it direcly with my staff.

Kind regards
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Our stay four nights.
The hotel and staff were great, the roof top pool was excellent, it gives a fantastic views both day and night over the city.
The hotel is in a prime location in Havana, everything we wanted to visit was in most cases within walking distance.
The hotel restaurant offers a wide and varied range of fresh and cooked food, all excellent.
All in all a great place to stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Philip,

Thank you for choosing Iberostar Parque Central for your holiday. We feel honoured by the fact that we have helped you have a great vacation.

We hope you decide to stay once again with us in the future.
Kind Regards,
Paulina Chahin
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
148 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Have been coming here since it opened in 2000, and have stayed in many other hotels in Havana when this place is full. I often stay one or two nights somewhere else while waiting for Parque Central to have availability so I feel quite knowledgeable about the other places. The hotels is still wonderful with a fantastic location but a copule things bothered me.

First they are still charging for wifi. I asked them about this and was told that "all the hotels charge for wifi". When I told them I had just spent two nights at the Saratoga and wifi was included I got no response. The rooms are clean, but the furniture is starting to show its age. The showers are very dated and have been scrubbed so many times that the chrome plating on the Grohe fixtures has worn off completely.

This hotel has a much greater hustle and bustle than the Saratoga which I will review next. Some of my travelling partners didn't like this as much, although I prefer it. I also love the pool on the roof and the fact that it is open 24 hours a day.

Love the omlettes at breakfast, or the fact that the chef will make eggs however you want them.

Again, I have to harp on the wifi deal. It is crazy that guests are having to go to the business center and pay money for a wifi card to use. If they fix that I just might stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear John A,

On behalf of the hotel staff and especially our manager, I would like to thank you for being such a loyal customer of our resort. As you might have read in past responses given to other customers, we are choosing the new model room for the remodelation we would like to make in our hotel facilities (mainly our rooms). As you comment, WIFI is not free in our hotel, maybe the hotel you mention in your review has it included, however most of the hotels in the city charge for this serrvice and even being 5 star hotels.This is one of the inclussions we would like to give to our clients but unfortunately in the near future, it will still be with an extra charge as we are the intermediary between the internet provider and the final client (our customer).

We hope that your final desicion after years of coming to our hotel isn't internet access.

Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
5.5 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Parque Central

Property: Iberostar Parque Central
Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#5 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Parque Central 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Iberostar Parque Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing