We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iberostar Parque Central
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Mitcham, null, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was pretty well everything you'd expect from a 5-star hotel. Beautiful entrance with lots of smartly dressed men opening doors. Helpful staff in reception. The breakfast buffet was a banquet. Waiters stood by and coffee cups were replenished almost like magic. My room was large and comfortable. The lifts worked.

The rooms either face inwards or outwards. Mine faced inwards, so I didn't have a good view, but the views on the rooftop by the swimming pool are great.

It was the only hotel I stayed in that had internet access. It cost $8 an hour and you bought a card with a pin number. Provided you remembered to log out, you could make it last by just logging in for a few minutes at a time to retrieve e-mails.

I ordered steak and chips in the hotel and it was a bit tough and the chips were a bit greasy, but that's my only criticism.

It is in a great location and it's very probably the best hotel in Havana.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Linda W:

On behalf of the management of Iberostar Parque Central, I would like to thank you for sharing with other travellers your experience at our hotel. We are very satisfied to know you have had a nice vacation with us. We appreciate your feedback and reccommendation.
We hope to be able to offer you our hospitality once again.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,892
    2,262
    457
    122
    102
See reviews for
1,127
3,749
246
241
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We enjoyed our time at this hotel which is spacious, nice lobby, excellent location in Old Havana, walkable to main spots, wonderful rooftop swimming pool. We were not certain what the accomodations would be like, but were most pleased here. The service staff was always ready to help, the housekeeping staff did a great job daily. We found the beds to be comfy, the shower to have great water pressure and lots of hot water -- pleasant surprises. I'd rank this as the best location in town.

Breakfast buffet is ample and well-prepared. Even if you don't swim, go up on the roof for the views.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outoford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Outoford:

We would like to thank you for choosing to stay at Iberostar and for sharing your opinion of your stay with us. We feel honoured to hear that you have had a comfortable stay at our hotel and thankful for your recommendation as the best hotel in Havana.
We will make sure to congratulate our service staff and especially our housekeeping department for contributing on your wellbeing.
Sincerely,

Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darmstadt
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

All in all my stay was disappointing. The Suite I had booked in the new part was not available due to unspecified "problems". I was "upgraded" to the presidential suite in the old part. The suite was very nice but way too big and extremely noisy due to the traffic outside. My inital objection (because I suspected it was noisy) was met with assurances that it was not noisy at all. Later complaints were quite rudely wiped away by "this is the best room we have got". My repeated argument that I did not want something"better" but a quieter room was simply ignored and met with stony silence. The restaurant situation was not much better. The main restaurant served bland buffet food and the buffet was often empty and one had to wait for some time until it was replenished. The steak house was better, i. e. the steaks were tasty although very thin. There were several items on the menue which were not available when I tried to order them. The main asset of the stek house was the sommelier who was competent and offered a reasonably good selection of wine.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which is not facing the road since the noise insulation is poor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weinweber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Weinweber:

Firstly we would like to thank you for staying at Iberostar Parque Central. Seccondly, we would like to apologize for your feeling of disappointment about our hotel. I remember the situation of your reservation. You booked a suite in our hotel, which on your day of arrival had a maintenance problem and unfortunately we were unable to give you the room you had assigned. This is not your fault, we completely understand, however, if the hotel staff detects any malfunctioning in your room (as we are open all year round), we need to put the room out of order. I would like as well to inform you that all our suites and junior suites have an external view; I apologize if this was not explained correctly by our staff. Our location is one of the best in Havana and in the middle of the city, so for some clients it might seem noisy (you were allocated on the 6th floor out of 7).
As we didn't have that category available, you were upgraded to our Presidential Suite (we only have one, it has the best view from all the hotel and the upgrade per night on that time frame and from the room category you originally paid is 250 CUC).
We thank you for your comments, I have passed and discussed the review of our Steak house restaurant with our Executive Chef and I promise your feedback will be taken care into consideration.
We appreciate your comments regarding our sommelier Jorge, who has been congratulated for his expertise and friendliness.

Kind regards,
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
izmir
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is a very good one overall. Lobby bar is perfect and always alive, the breakfast is nice, rooms are clean, concierge is strangely flawless etc. You can choose this hotel eyes closed only for the neighbourhood if for nothing else. The only thing that can be warned is that the hotel has the new and the old buildings and we stayed in both; the new side offers better rooms but has no spirit so for the sake of a real Havana experience choose to stay in the old one.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ogunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Ogunc,

On behalf of the staff of Iberostar Parque Central, I would like to thank you for choosing us as your host resort. We are glad you enjoyed our facilities and services. We do have 2 buildings in the hotel, a colonial building and a modern building. This is because we wanted to offer our clients two different choices, one with a colonial atmosphere and another more minimalistic. We appreciate your opinion regarding our facilities and hope that you choose any of our hotels for your future vacation.

Kind regards,
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

As a party of 11 we stayed here for two nights at the start of our tour of Cuba.

The hotel was centrally located in Havana within easy walking distance to Old Havana, the Malecon and many other sights.

The rooms were great, we were on the 6th floor with a room overlooking the city. The beds were great, the bathrooms were large and stocked with everything needed.

The buffet breakfast in the mornings were great as were the restaurants on site.

The staff were very helpful and polite. If I were to return to Havana I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Argyle-MB_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Argyle-MB_Travels:

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you've given us by choosing our resort. It is a cause of great satisfaction to read by your comments that you have had a great stay with us. It is very motivating to know you would like to stay once again with us if you return to Cuba.

We are confident to be able to offer you our hospitality again at any of our hotels.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed at the Parque Central twice in February, at the start and the end of our trip to Cuba. There are two parts to the hotel, 'the new' and the 'old', linked by an underground tunnel, and we stayed in both parts.

The hotel is in a great central location, and the roof top bar has great views over Havana.

The older part had more atmosphere, however the rooms are a little tired, the corridors have no carpet, so you hear people coming and going / especially pulling suitcases arriving late or leaving early in the morning.

The newer part is more of a boutque style city break hotel, the rooms are modern and not tired and the sound proofing is better.

Each part of the hotel has its own restaurants, we found breakfast had a good choice in both parts of the hotel, although there was more choice in the larger room in the older part and more attentive service.

We would recommend the hotel, great location for exploring old Havana, good facilities, helpful staff, it definitely added to our overall positive view of Havana.

We enjoyed Havana and found it to be a safe and friendly city. Having been forewarned of the tricks played on tourists we were wise to the overly friendly families with restaurant and bar suggestions and once it was clear we were not going to be the 'meal ticket' they were after we were not hassled in anyway.

Be wary in the airport duty free (once through security) on the way home, we were over charged and short changed, but with a large queue behind us and british reserve within we did not make a scene. We did not notice anywhere to change money once through security and prices were the same before security as they were after it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonDinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear LondonDinky:
We would like to thank you for choosing Iberostar Parque Central for your first and last days of your holiday. We are pleased to hear you’ve had a great vacation. We are glad to read you experienced both sides of the resort and we appreciate you reccommend us to other travellers that visit Havana.
Kind regards,
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

For Americans traveling to Cuba who need a similar hotel and dining experience similar to what they get at home, this is the place. It has a great location at one end of Havana's Central Park. The views from the roof are great and you're walking distance from key attractions like the Capitol building and the Floridita. Service here was very good and offered with a smile. During our stay, two of three main elevators broke down but the staff opened up the freight elevators to keep everyone moving. You can exchange currency at the hotel at a great exchange rate and security is visible so you feel safe.

Throughout the country, be prepared for beds with thinner mattresses and no box springs. Same applies here but the rooms are very spacious (even compared to US standards) and the food is good. The burget and fries in the lobby makes it feel like home. If we venture here again, we'd definitely stay at the Iberostar.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors should have a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adjay30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parquecentral, Executive Assistant Manager at Iberostar Parque Central, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Adjay30:

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Iberostar Parque Central and for sharing your experience through TripAdvisor. We are happy to know you liked our service and especially our burgers. As well, we would like to apologize for the incident with the elevators; we are glad to know the alternative we gave our clients during this period of time didn't disrupt you from enjoying your vacation.

We look forward to welcoming you at any of our hotels.
Paulina Chahin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,340 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,643 reviews
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
5.5 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iberostar Parque Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberostar Parque Central

Property: Iberostar Parque Central
Address: Neptuno, esquina Prado y Zulueta | Habana Vieja, Havana 10100, Cuba (Formerly Parque Central)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Havana
#1 Family Hotel in Havana
#1 Luxury Hotel in Havana
#5 Business Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberostar Parque Central 5*
Number of rooms: 427
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and HotelsClick so you can book your Iberostar Parque Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parque Central Hotel Havana
Nh Parque Central Hotel Havana
Parque Central Havana
Nh Parque Central Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing