We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine , but no credit card accepted.”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Montreal, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fine , but no credit card accepted.”
Reviewed March 6, 2011

A fine hotel with old world charm. Our room on calle San Rafael ,with balcony, was comfortable but with simple decor ; the bathroom was clean and roomy .But there was a problem when I tried to pay the rest of my stay with a credit card. I had given a deposit with hostelbookers thinking I could pay the balance with my credit card. Impossible . The manager told us to get a cash advance at their in-house exchange counter.The rates were the worst you could find in that city. I definitely got the feeling I was being taken for a ride. If you want to buy alcohol ,coffee etc at their gift shop then , of course, you can pay with your credit card !! You feel there is something wrong somewhere .The hotel restaurant is very expensive for the money : try Los Nardos close by - highly commendable. Listening to the music group on the terrace is a worthwhile Havana experience. The charm and location are great but be prepared for surprises and don't expect any help or warmth from the staff

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gazou_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    659
    424
    170
    115
See reviews for
263
767
117
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2011

We didn't stay at this hotel, but we had dinner in its restaurant. It was very very Blah! There was quite simply no taste and the chicken in mushroom sauce had 1 slice of a very small mushroom and no sauce. However the patio bar in this hotel is one of the best places for people watching, and the waiter is friendly.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RodMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

Limerick, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 23, 2011

As hotels go in Cuba this hotel was very nice, music outside was great, breakfast was only ok and we had dinner one night and that too was only ok. The location is brilliant and there are plenty of restuarants around to substitute for the hotel food.
This hotel is rated as 4 star in Havana its a little pricey in comparison to the other higher quality 4 stars - rooms are comfortable tho and again location is excellent...I would stay there again on return

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank edfrawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Extremely disappointing- you book the hotel, they confirm the room and take your money, but when you arrive they make up an excuse and move you to another hotel- which turned out to be a noisy, ant infested second rate hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank almbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Inglaterra between Jan.27 - Feb.3 and loved the hotel, the location and the staff. It is a landmark of Old Havana and i'll be suggesting this hotel to all who intend on a visit to Habana. Even upon our leaving for the East Beaches we returned four of the next seven days to visit and have drinks. Incredible staff and we hope life long friends were made there. On the top floor(4 to Piso), there's a bar/resturant with great, GREAT service, food, views and entertainment. Few seem to be aware of the 4 to Piso, but go even if your just roaming through Vieja. Best regards to Richard, David and Carlos. I'll be back soon and we'll take it where we left off. Cheers my amigos!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JamieM_71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2011

I had two stays either end of my two weeks in Cuba. Booked in advance.
There are better hotels in Havana and these will be more expensive.

First of all the location is excellent and you probably couldn't get better. This is on basically the central square, at the edge of the old town. If you're arranging a bus transfer to other parts of Cuba or just for a day trip then this hotel is an established pick up point.

I've read the other reviews and what they say about the front and lobby of the building is about right. The terrace is a great place to sit and watch Havana life - reasonably priced drinks and live music throughout the day.
The lobby interior design is one of it's main selling points and the photo's actually don't do it justice.

The first room I had was an interior room - no windows. The second room I had was on a side street so there was a window but not one you could open or see anything anyway as the next building is very close. However bother rooms had air-con.

Being honest though I couldn't fault the rooms. Bed, TV, shower, mini-bar/fridge (in one room, not the other). The rooms are not in the best state of repair - some dodgy plugs, could use a lick of paint.
But they worked for me - a base in central Havana where I could go out and explore.

The staff were friendly enough and I never got the poor service that other reviewers mentioned.

They have internet facilities which is a plus and hardly anywhere else in Havana does. And when you do find it it is a flat rate of 6CUC per hour (£4). I never saw anyone using the four terminals however and I do wonder if they were working.

The food was not their best feature. Breakfast is a continental buffet breakfast - though they always had scrambled eggs. I had an evening meal once and it was a bit overpriced for what you got.
They are plenty of good cafe/bars/restaurants within 10 minutes of the hotel however that give more variety and better value. Havana's Chinatown is 15 minute walk away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaz007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

Go to the roof (take the lift to 4th floor) see the views and havea beer/rum with Richard the bar manager who is very friendly, provides excellent service and often has some good local misic. (We did not eat there so cannot comment om food but does anyone go to Cuba for the food?)
First room we had was awful (WC leaked) but then we had an outstanding room at front of hotel but it is noisy but that did not bother us.
The hotel is old (it is an historic site after all) and it has some lovely tiles and it its worth taking the stairs from the lobby at some point.
Most staff were very friendly and helpful particularly those on reception, despite some guests being rather brusque with them.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DalesRanger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 79 in Havana
1,343 reviews
5.7 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#25 of 79 in Havana
738 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ambos Mundos
Hotel Ambos Mundos
#18 of 79 in Havana
814 reviews
5.4 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Property: Hotel Inglaterra
Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 79 Hotels in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Inglaterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, TravelUp and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing