We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, average hotel”
Review of Hotel Inglaterra

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Inglaterra
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed May 26, 2013

In case you stay at this hotel... Tip 1 - to flush the toilet (at least on the third floor) you need to hold the lever up for 15-20 seconds. Tip 2 - DO NOT stay for dinner - expensive, lukewarm and small portions. There are plenty of much better places a short walk away. Tip 3 - go up to the roof terrace around 7am. The bar won't be open but you'll see the early morning sun on lovely rooftop architecture and you can watch the city wake up before you hit the breakfast buffet (which is excellent, a complete contrast from dinner). We had an 'inside' (i.e. no windows) room, but it was clean and spacious enough for a couple - and who goes to somewhere like Havana just to sit in their room?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g00djudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

When we arrived in Cuba we have decided to stay two nights in this hotel.
Location is good.
But our room was on the first floor, we had a lot of noise from the street, bathroom was really dirty, we had no air conditionning. We also had an issue with our door. The card could not open the door. We had to wait for more than two hours until it got fixed. The manager of the hotel was not helpful and didn't take good care of his customers...
Moreover price is high and we really had good time in other places, mainly Casa de Particular. It was much better for lower prices.
We do not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EloGe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

3 day stay in El Inglaterra with my family and it was great! I was a bit worried with reading all the bad reviews but you can't believe them all. I was in room #204 that had a balcony and view of the road. Sure you heard a few cars here and there but nothing major to disturb you.

My room had three beds, very clean upon arrival and maid service was great. The bathroom was spacious with hot water always.

A bit sad that the hotel doesn't have a pool BUT it has a cozy jacuzzi on the terrace in the back, look for it! You must go to the 4th floor, The terrace restaurant is amazing, it has great views and the service was good. At night there is entertainment which is very enjoyable.

My parents loved it and look forward to going back again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

2 day trip to Havana from Blau Varadero - arrived at this old charming looking hotel and first impressions of the public areas and the pavement café were fantastic - lobby - landings amazing - spacious - pretty - so took photos, Room 208 - opened door to a very small dismal room. Just big enough to hold the double bed and bedside cabinets. No windows to the outside - window onto landing. No hot water to washbasin - only hot water thru shower. One bathtowel each - no hand towel - no bathmat two of the lamps bulbs not working. evening meal poor - dry and luke-warm. Breakfast the next morning was pretty decent! Maybe they should just do all day breakfast instead! Amazing public areas - shame not same in the actual rooms,

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows to the outside or a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChorleyElvisfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our first trip to Havana was made all the more atmospheric by our stay at the Inglaterra, which is situated in a perfect spot for watching the people, the old cars, the hustlers and all the other delights of Habana Vieja. If you want luxury facilities, peace & quiet, double glazing,immaculately decorated, furnished Eurobeige hotel rooms, don't come here. We had a (poorly, probably sprayed) cockroach in the bathroom on day 1, and filthy net curtains. Room decor was shabby. Our room overlooked the square with its constant noise, bustle and music drifting up from the terrace cafe below. I loved it! The room was clean (apart from the curtains), as was the bathroom (when the towels eventually arrived off the laundry truck, as the maid explained apologetically), the communal parts of the hotel are beautiful and there's a great rooftop terrace with a restaurant bar and a jacuzzi (untested). Breakfast was fine-plenty of choice, good coffee, decent service. The pavement bar outside is an entertainment in itself. Fantastically located for either wandering round the city -the Calle Obispo- a pedestrian route into the rest of the old town- is opposite the square in front of the hotel, and the hop-on hop-off tourist bus stops just outside. Havana is noisy, chaotic, music everywhere, and full of contrasts. The Hotel Inglaterra is a great introduction to Havana and it really helped to make our stay a fun one. For a first time Havana visitor, I would recommend it. You don't come to Havana for peace and quiet!

Room Tip: ask for an outside window-the hotel also has rooms facing inside (probably quieter, but very dull!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liz w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you want to experience Havana Vieja then this is an ideal hotel. Wonderful sights of old Havanna within walking distance, lots of Paladars for informal dining and loads of old American cars cruising the square. The Hotel lobby is impressive but clearly in need of some TLC. The old lifts are slow and wheeze gently while the idiosyncratic layout of the stairs will baffle. On the upper floors the balconied corridors are very elegant, but suggest you try and get a 3rd floor room with a balcony. There is little noise from the square after dark so sleeping is not difficult. Like so many Cuban venues, you won't get more than a trickle from the shower but the room we had was plenty big enough, nicely furnished and with air con which was quiet enough to allow sleep ( you won't sleep without air con, its too hot). The bar on the roof terrace is an ideal spot for your first Mojito and the food is quite good too. I'm sure there are newer and smarter hotels but I reckon this to be the most Cuban and a great start for your Cuban adventure.

Room Tip: Most guests seemed to favour the 3rd floor rooms with balconies. Although they overlook the square...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Before travelling i made the reservation for a room CON BALCON (with window). That´s because lot´s of people here recomended to avoid internal rooms without windows.
We had great days and night in Hotel Inglaterra. It´s an old building, very very beautiful. Staff is very nice. everything very clean and the hotel is close to the best attraction in Havana. So, ask for a "habitacion con balcon" an have a good time in the impressive city!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jvcbrasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
1.5 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Parque Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,756 reviews
1.5 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,807 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saratoga Hotel
Saratoga Hotel
#5 of 80 in Havana
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Inglaterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Inglaterra

Address: Paseo del Prado No 416 | San Rafael y San Miguel, Havana 10200, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Price Range: $177 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Inglaterra 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's the oldest hotel in the city, founded in 1875, declared Nacional Monument in 1981 and located in the center of the city, in front of the Central Park and near to interesting places in Old Havana. The architecture, history, location, and the presence of the cuban culture are the principal atractions of this charming hotel. It was considered one of the most famous hotels in Cuba and the world, attracting the atention of many important personalities like: Sara Bernhart, Enrico Carusso, Ana Pavlova, Imperio Argentina, Gabriela Mistral, Jose Marti Perez, Antonio Maceo among others . Concerts by the Band of the City, launching of books, recital of poems, talkings about history and exhibitions, are the kind of activities offered to guests and cuban population. You can also enjoy the cuban plastic arts since its tables and the menu of the Colonial Restaurant designed by the most famous cuban painters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Inglaterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Havana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing