We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,334)
Filter reviews
1,334 results
Traveler rating
514
302
241
130
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
514
302
241
130
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviews renovated room interesting history former glory an update main bar classic hotel wifi cards ocean view live music air conditioned gomez meyer glamour architecture iberostar dust vintage
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,334 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2019 via mobile

One has to understand that in its heyday this hotel was undoubtedly spectacular! I’m talking about 1957 when Meyer Lansky and others built these extravagant hotel casinos along the Malecón. When you step foot into the Riviera you immediately get a sense of how beautiful, modern and exciting this place must have been. The massive open space lobby is filled with Mad Men era original furniture and art (and is the only WiFi spot in the building) our room was comfortable with a beautiful ocean/ Malecón view (corner room) although was in dire need of updating. The building is undergoing massive renovation so at times only one elevator was in service, water was unavailable one morning. Towels were few and room cleaning while daily was just ok. However, our stay was fine... breakfast were bountiful with live music. Front desk staff were very accommodating and friendly. The Riviera is in a good location to get just about anywhere in Havana. Probably one of the better hotels right now in Havana.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank camilled311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Habana Riviera by Iberostar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear guest,

We are very pleased to read that you had such a pleasant time in our hospitality and want to thank you for sharing with us. Our highly-skilled staff at the hotel and the entire team behind the scenes ensures that we always improve and meet the wishes and preferences of our valued guests. We always welcome their ideas because they can only help us in our goal of providing perfect holidays for them. The fact that you have left our hotel with beautiful memories is a good sign for us, and we will, of course, take note of your valuable feedback and will forward it to the appropriate department for consideration.
Again we thank you for this wonderfully positive review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Habana Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019 via mobile

I’ve been coming to the Hotel Riviera to do homework and talk to loved ones very often during my time in Cuba. The staff has been extremely friendly and accommodating. Would recommend to anyone visiting and especially students!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank rrmazaheri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Habana Riviera by Iberostar, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear guest,

We thank you for taking the time to share this wonderful impression of your stay with us. It is of major importance to us that our guests appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our day to day efforts is to guarantee our guests can experience the highest levels of comfort in a really pleasant atmosphere. This is ensured by our employees, the numerous services available and the careful distribution of our hotel and its facilities.
Again we thank you for sharing this fabulous review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Habana Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2019

Iberostar-Habana Riviera is a beautiful 1950’s style hotel in its original state, with amazing views to the Ocean. It is a must see for architecture lovers. I stayed here for 4 weeks, working downtown. My room was spacious and had comfortable beds and pillows. The room was very clean as well as the common areas of the hotel like thereat pool and terrace.
I enjoyed the breakfast because of the diversity of the menu but especially the warm and generous service from the members of the staff. The restaurant Laiglon offers good 1st quality dishes and the service is again excellent. I was always received with a smile and warm words when I arrived at the hotel by the two hostess Ivis and Rosana, they were always trying to make me feel good. Everything was organise very professionally.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juanjarques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Habana Riviera by Iberostar, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2019

Dear Juan,

We would like first and foremost to thank you for choosing Iberostar for your recent holiday and also for taking the time to share your opinion. Every day is a new challenge for us based on our passion for providing our guests with an environment similar to a home from home. Our highly motivated and competent team ensures that our services, as well as our hotel's wealth of facilities, provide a holiday feeling of the very special kind for our guests.

Again we thank you for sharing this positive feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best Regards,
Quality Manager
Habana Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2019

Originally booked here for 6 nights in January.
This was our fourth time to Cuba so we are very aware of how the tourism is different to a lot of other destinations.

Upon arrival (around midnight), we were greeted by very friendly staff and got our room. Unfortunately the room given to us was not good - dirty with torn sheets. We got another room, however it was far from what we had expected from an Iberostar.

The next morning, we spoke to a very nice manager and she told us that we had one of the best rooms in the hotel. We have stayed in Iberostars before (in Cuba) but nothing like this. The room was in need of a major renovation. The carpets were old and had lots of hair on them and the room needed a good clean.
You can easily tell that once upon a time, this hotel was fantastic but it has never been upgraded.
There are 3 elevators and only 2 of them worked while we were there. Even when they worked, some of the lights showing the floors did not light up so you weren't always sure what floor you were on.

I used the gym once and I couldn't believe it - it was awful. A lot of the equipment either doesn't work or is faulty. Almost dangerous so I didn't stay. The outside pool area wasn't clean - there was a lot of litter such as straws and cigaratte butts on the ground. Again, seemed like such a shame as I'm sure it was nice years ago.

We checked out after a few days (didn't stay for the full duration). If we had paid for a 1 or 2 star hotel, I would've been okay with this but the price that we paid was closer to a 5 star price and this hotel is nowhere near that level (even by Cuban standards). Saying that, I will say that the staff were lovely and tried to help wherever they could.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celticgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Habana Riviera by Iberostar, responded to this reviewResponded February 18, 2019

Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for sending us your feedback,
We are very disappointed reading your comments about our 4*hotel in the bohemian district of Havana as we pride ourselves on our professionality, cleanliness and standards in general in all of our Iberostar hotels.
Our team of cleaners and maintenance work constantly to ensure the establishment is spotless and facilities are in good working order and if there are any issues, once informed, we endeavor to resolve them in the least time possible. In spite of all of our efforts to accommodate you comfortably, we are sorry to read that we were unable to do so to your satisfaction and apologise to you for any inconvenienced caused.

Although our hotel may not have been the perfect fit for you, we do hope to have the pleasure of your company in the future in any one of our destination hotels around the world and the opportunity to fulfil all of your expectations in true Iberostar style.

Best regards,
Quality manager
Habana Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

Excellent services and location. Good restaurants and the best show ever at the pool. Good for Family Trips. Breakfast very good and tasty. Garden is nicely decorated. Perfect for relax seeing Malecon.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yalordecubayoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReputationOnline, Quality Manager at Habana Riviera by Iberostar, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful impressions of your stay at our hotel. It is of the utmost importance to us that our guests can appreciate our well-thought-out holiday concept. Our daily efforts are to guarantee our guests can enjoy all the wonderful aspects of our marvellous hotel, fabulous location, amazing staff, delicious cuisine and great entertainment, the fact you found some many things to your liking, is just lovely to hear.

Again we thank you for sharing this great review of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards,

Quality Manager
Iberostar Habana Riviera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews