We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lot os people going around, note save and not very clean” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tryp Habana Libre

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tryp Habana Libre
Ranked #33 of 78 Hotels in Havana
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A lot os people going around, note save and not very clean”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

I´ve been in Cuba in my honey moon... and I ´ve been repeting since them: I wouldn´t go there again. But, I´m talking about the hotel now... I can talk about Cuba in a proper place. The thing that really botherted me in Cuba was the fact that every one could go in and out without any problem and that really scrared me. The bedroom was old and the blanket was dirty. Bus I wouldn´t mind so much with it,got really pist cause off this non control of who cames in and who goes out. So many people knocked on my door in the middle of the night.
The breakfest was ok. The food is not good in Cuba, but that was the best I got anyway.
The best thing was the location
After spending someti-me in Havana my husband and I went to Vayo Coco and qhen we got back we stayed in ohter hotel. I will try to find the name,. I felt more secure and safe, but was far from everything.
And... just for the recordes, if you go to Cuba dont open a map, someone will try to "herlp you" to get Money. Talk to people, but people you choose to talk... they are nice, really nice, but some of them just want to get your Money selling ciggars or knockin on your door in the middle of the night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fer_Rampon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    1,320
    1,436
    575
    400
See reviews for
855
1,934
195
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

It is my fifth time that I stay in the Habana Libre. Till my last visit I have recommended this hotel. But things have chanced a lot since. And not to the positive. There is NO SWIMMIMG POOL. They had it closed due to waterinfiltration elsewhere in the building. And that's why the STORES ARE CLOSED on groundlevel, because they suffered from the infiltration. By now they are repairing the pool and the area surroundig with heavy equipment. And there is a lot of construction noise.

Due to bad weather the area around the intrance is a mess: water is also leaking through the roof (pool area). You can walk along here and suddenly feel a drip of water in your neck.

Last year ( or was it already in 2011) the seats in the lobby and the Lobby Bar were new. But to very poor quality all of them are in already in bad shape. The rooms are desparately waiting for a renovation. The fresh date is passed long ago.

As for this is Cuba, they don't inform you before booking. So I do it. But hey, this is a hotel belonging to the Spanish Melia group, isn't it..? I compare this hotel to an old man: for a while he looks well. But suddenly he is aging very rapidly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bucaner0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Havana hotels

Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

On the plus side the rooms have comfortable beds and the cafe and retaurant we ate in were OK. The view from the high up rooms are good and the breakfast was plntiful and varied.

However, with so many character hotels to chose from in Havana this isnt a great place to stay - The area of Vedado is pleasant enough, but it lacks the vibrant atmosphere of Havana vieja (we stayed in both areas). The air conditioning in one of our rooms didnt work and disappointingly for a hot july the pool was out of order being renovated. The offer of a free entrance to the show as compensation is not much good when you have just arrived on a plane from Europe and the show runs from 9pm to 2 am

If you are just staying one night on your way to or from somewhere else, it's fine. But if you want to see Havana and want to experience the splendour, the decay, the smells etc of the old town, then this is not the place for you

Room Tip: good views if you are high up and facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Great hotel with the most breathtaking views of the city. The top floor restaurant serves very fine food which, accompanied by the backdrop of a lit up Havana in the evenings, provides a perfect setting for a romantic meal.

Room Tip: The higher up your requested room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathon67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
47 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

First of all, we have to understand the Country's situation and the difficults that the people have in finding any european or american goods.
As per the above preamble, this hotel is very very expensive. Naturally you can forget everything, as soon as you realize to be in a paradise like L'havana!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kos m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Having just spent 3days at this hotel, Read it had got a $200000 up grade certainly not the rooms, big bumps in the walls had to report no lighting in the bathroom, couldn't open the balcony windows. having said that it was soon rectified. could have been cleaner.
The staff were not particually friendly, We just had breakfast which was ok nothing special. We were on the 21st floor which was great for views, but heaven help u if you wanted to get up or down quickly in the lifts it stopped at every floor, we opted to walk down the back stairs it was quicker. Oh and the swimming pool was non excistant it was being dismantled while we were there. who knows if it was being replaced. On the 25th floor is the disco /night club drinks were really expensive only had one drink, entertainment was pretty poor .four girls enticing members of public to get up and dance.
At the side of hotel was a cafettera offering pasta etc, not particully inviting and quite pricey for what it was.

Room Tip: Great views on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat_davidson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights (not continuously) during a tour of Cuba and 3 different rooms. The first thing one needs to do when reviewing a hotel in Cuba is to ratchet down one's expectations a notch as all of Cuba is poor and dis repair is slow to be changed.

The overall feel to this place is it is very tired - built in the 50's by the Hilton group - and the feeling is that little but superficial improvements have been made since. It was actually the headquarters of Castro for a while after the revolution and in the giant lobby there are photos of this.

Huge open plan reception area and lobby with seating - comfy chairs and also small tables and chairs. Helpful-ish reception until you complain about the airconditioning not working when the standard line is to fob you off with it'll be on in 20 mins (it wasn't) and the lesson is to demand a room change - they know which rooms have no air con but I guess some people just give up and put up with it - it seems that the upper rooms have the better air con and the lower rooms not.

The way to the rooms is in one of 6 fast lifts that rattle their way up to any of the 25 floors - the lifts I hope are maintained - when you are waiting for a lift and one goes past it is like a train passing that makes one wonder if the cable is still connected - but of course it always was....The rooms were large with 2 large comfy beds and very clean (cuban standards) as were the bathrooms - but many years of grime in the corners and tiles. Good hot water and shower over old stained bath tubs. The view from the upper rooms was fantastic.

One concern were the fire escapes - 2 concrete stair cases either side of the lifts and at each end of the hotel steel external stairs down the outside of the building - except one had rusted away and had collapsed and was piled up on a lower rooftop.......ok so they're not used as escapes any more but if this is an example of the upkeep of the fabric of the building.............!

4 restaurants - when full there is a buffet on 2nd floor with a wide range of food to choose from - wide range but not that inspiring (you do get used to this after a few days in Cuba). The first night we stayed the buffet was closed so the choice is a slightly latin american themed restaurant or a polynesian styled restaurant - the choice for a meal inclusive stay was 'pork, beef or fish' - basically fried with rice and ice cream for pudding. There is also a 'fast food' (wimpey-esque) restaurant as well with a good choice pizzas, sandwiches etc. Breakfast was in the buffet restaurant and again a good choice of uninspiring food - the statutory omlette (all cuban hotels cook omlettes for breakfast) and a choice of warmed meat dishes - sort of odd sausages in sauces and a first for me - overcooked brussel sprouts for breakfast? - good choice of juices, dryish breads and cakes, doughnuts and chocolate sauce - actually altogether good breakfast for Cuba. Through the windows of the buffet restaurant you get a glimpse of the pool - empty, decayed and by the looks of it they are starting to renovate it but we never saw actually any work in progress.

There is a bar in the lobby - expensive for Cuba - 2.75 CUCs for a beer - but they make a great Pina Colada. On the 25th floor is another bar and restaurant with superb views and a night club.

Location - in the Verdado area - walkable to the Malecon (sea front) but too far to walk to the old centre. Tip - just round the corner in the same complex is a shop selling water and beer - 1 CUC a can.

Overall a tired hotel but it has a certain charm to it - if it was completely refurbished it would be great - but then again might lose a bit of its odd charm. Recommend it - you will be disappointed if it's your first night in Cuba but once you've been to a few other hotels, it's really not so bad.

Room Tip: Floors 20 and up seem to have functioning (just) air conditioning - don't be fobbed off by recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,478 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Havana
Memories Miramar Havana
#10 of 78 in Havana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
4.1 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,533 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Inglaterra
Hotel Inglaterra
#17 of 78 in Havana
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Habana Libre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Habana Libre

Property: Tryp Habana Libre
Address: 23 Calle L E 23 Y 25, Havana, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tryp Habana Libre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5- star Tryp Habana Libre, one of the most emblematic hotels in Havana, is located in the heart of the Vedado district. This majestic 25- story hotel (572 rooms) offers a unique view of the ocean and of the magical city. Ideal for business people, events, getaways and honeymoons. Guest rooms - 532 rooms: 282 standard, 250 standard panoramic view. Dining: 4 restaurants (a la carte, buffet), 3 cafeterias, 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Tryp Habana Libre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Habana Libre Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Habana Libre
Habana Libre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing