We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect as a base to explore Havana”
Review of Tryp Habana Libre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Tryp Habana Libre
Ranked #34 of 79 Hotels in Havana
england
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Perfect as a base to explore Havana”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights and to be fair it was absolutely fine. The hotels history is impressive and it is so central that you can reach all the main sites in Havana.

The rooms were clean and the view of Havana from the 23rd floor cannot be faulted. The breakfast was good and there was something to meet everyone's choices.

If you are looking for a good base to explore an amazing city then this hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kmt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear kmt78,
We are glad that your stay with us was pleasant. We work for our guests to have the best services and attention from a professional staff willing to please them. It’s our pleasure to be one of your nicest memories of your holidays in Cuba and you are sure that you will come back to our hotel which is now your home in Havana.
Sincerely,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    1,366
    1,490
    600
    414
See reviews for
887
2,000
203
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

You get a spacious room, a decent buffé, interesting in-house revolution history and excellent views from your room. You also get a true Cuba experience, which includes not-so-good service, scary elevators, old fashioned rooms with old dirty carpets and, in our room, an air condition that could not be turned off, and that was not fixed even after we pointed it out.

But in total, we kind of enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lastca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Lastca,
We appreciate your comments we noticed that you enjoyed our breakfast service, all workers are struggling to provide the best service and our customers are satisfied. The location of the hotel and the impressive views of the city you can see really distinguish us. We agree with you as well the fact that our hotel is going through a restoration plan which will certainly provide our rooms, bathrooms, common areas, halls and elevators with all the comfort and quality they require, however, this restoration plan is subject to a slow development due to the magnitude of the works to be carried out. As for the hotel cleaning, we have taken the appropriate steps so as to prevent these incidents from happening again. We look forward to welcoming you once more in future trips.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 nights in this hotel. We arrived very late in the evening (around midnight) and there was someone at the front desk ready to attend. The rooms in the hotel are very large. We were on the 21st floor. As you might expect the views are very nice. The hotel is indeed very old and could use a major overhaul. The AC didn't work in our room but fortunately it was not overly hot during our stay in Havana...otherwise we would have asked for another room. The breakfast was ok. The people working the tour desk were very helpful and we ended up doing a 1/2 day tour of Havana (CUC$19). It was a good tour. We weren't expectiing a great deal from this hotel and overall it was ok. If you're planning to visit Havana, I'd recommend staying in the Old Havana region

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear M R,
Thank you for your comments. It’s our pleasure to know that your room was nice to you. Let us tell you that we are restoring the rooms in order to improve their comfort and air conditioning system. We are sorry about the fact that your air conditioning didn’t work in your room. If you had reported it, we would have offered you another room. The city views from our hotel are really nice. Hoping that you visit us again,
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We only stayed for one night and therefore review is limited. The room was a good standard, spacious and clean but decoration was poor standard. The view from the balcony was spectacular. I could have stood there for hours just watching Havana pass by.

The food in the restaurant was adequate although service was not what you expect from a top hotel. Staff struggled to cope with the number of guests. This lack of organisation was repeated at reception, where queues were long at check in and check out.

The big let down though was the lifts. When our group checked out, the wait for a lift was over 20 minutes. A lot of people had to resort to the stairs, which was not good with luggage. The stairwells were damp and littered with rubbish.

I can see why the hotel was very popular in its day and with a bit of refurbishment and improved organisation it could regain its former glory

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Geordie_View
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear A_Geordie_View,
We have read your comments about your stay in our hotel and we are very grateful to you for letting us know your opinion which is a very important tool for our daily work. It is our pleasure to know that you had a pleasant stay regarding the hotel room though we are working on the improvement of its comfort and a better organization of our services provided that the season in which you travelled the hotel was full and thus there were a lot of clients in the facility. We hope that you come back and we will be very happy to welcome you.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Third time in Habana Libre within 12 months. Arrived late and travelling with a friend. There was a mixup with his casa particular, so, to help him, I asked the receptionist if he could share the dobble room with me. (On Solmelia`s internet-site the room for 1person was priced at 99€ and for 2 persons 133€.) When leaving the hotel the price we had to pay was 203€/night! So, instead of sharing we could have had each our room. (Hotel was not full). Why did they not tell us? When ever in Havana, I stay either in hot Nacional or Habana Libre, but this time I really felt "screwed up" here. It is a nice hotel in Vedado. I am a MasCard holder and I got, as requested, a room in the 22. floor with seaview. Rooms are very big, beds fine and views spectacular. Pool fine and breakfast good for cuban standards. But I felt cheated this time, and instead of abuse the receptionist I decided to tell the story here on tripadvisor to warn others. I will see if I go back or find another place near by next time in Havana....

Room Tip: Always high up with seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lroestad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear lroestad,
First of all we would like to extend our greetings and our gratitude to you for letting us know your comments about your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to know that you had a nice stay generally speaking. Regarding your reservation, you had reserved a single room over the Internet and in such a case when you add a second guest once in the hotel you are charged the public price of the moment. The same thing happens if you reserve a single room directly in the hotel, you should pay the public rate of the moment and not the one on the Internet. We are sorry about your feeling cheated in this regard but you were charged correctly due to the fact that you had reserved a single room originally and you were living in the hotel. We hope that you come back again despite this inconvenience. We will be very happy to have you here.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

When you book at the Habana Libre you're booking an experience. This is not a luxury hotel in the sense that the hotels in Varadero are. This is a typically Cuban experience with all the intrigue, contrasts and contradictions one might expect of a country with such a diverse and troubled recent history as this.

The hotels exterior architecture leaves something to be desired, being a rather imposing monolithic slab. The lobby on the otherhand is somewhat stunning - with large pools, fountains and draping flowers at every turn.
We checked in as part of a tour group and it was pretty painless for us - although some of the other members of our party had issues.

The elevators in this hotel are not for those with phobias of such things, being rather slow and juddery. They did the job to get us to our room and throughout our stay their. They may not be fast, and they may not seem to follow the logic of most elevators (lack of direction indicators led to a few trips to breakfast via sequitous routes - and I'd leave plenty of time to get to reception when checking out; maybe set off half an hour in advance?) but they got us there.

The room itself was also full of contrasts. The carpet was pretty grim - flip flops deemed neccesary at all times - and the sheets had definitely seen better days. The bathroom had a leak - and when we tried to communicate this to reception there was a bit of a communication issue (reception rang us back the next day to tell us there was a leak and it would be fixed - which it was. Like most things in Cuba - it got done, just not when you expect it to).

The view on the otherhand was amazing. 21st floor with views stretching across Havana will stay with me for sometime, as will the sounds of a vibrant city all around. In general the room was bearable and we got 3 good nights sleep there so we can't complain too much.

The pool is a roof top affair and can get a bit breezy in the late afternoon, but there's enough sun loungers to go round.

Breakfast was served at the rather grand ball room accompanied by a very enthusiastic pianist (be careful on the Daiquiri's the night before - I can imagine with a hangover some of her hits from the 50's might not go down too well) adding to the somewhat surreal nature of it all. The food was pretty good it has to be said, and the customise your own omelettes went down very well.

For evening meals there's a few restaurants in the hotel (we had lovely meals at the two we tried) and also a diner attached to the hotel which does fast, filling food relatively cheap. The bars are all perfectly serviceable and relatively well priced. There's also a few shops on the outside of the hotel for essentials and souvenirs as well as a cigar shop inside.

All in all this is a hotel which is typically Cuban. If you come to Cuba and stay in Havana then you shouldn't be expecting 5* hotels like you get on the Med. This is country that's still living through upheaval. This hotel may lack a little refinement of hotels in Europe but it more than makes up for it with character - it has bucket loads of the stuff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear Machunt,
We have read your comments regarding your stay in our hotel and we are very grateful about them. It is our pleasure that you had enjoyed our facilities though as you could see we are making some restorations to improve comfort. This restoration is going slow due to its magnitude and includes elevators, rooms, halls and tech systems. We hope that you can come back soon so that you can see the improvements.
Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hereford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights Jan'13 and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. The lobby etc. was beautiful and our 13th floor room extremely large and comfy. We only had breakfast there and it provided everything one could wish for. The staff were efficient and friendly iin the dining room, not so at reception where they were stretched a bit. Unfortunately we arrived after a bank holiday so no money was available for 2 days, but it wasn't their fault . The pool was a bit crowded with not quite enough sun loungers, but other seating was available. All in all a good experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juneHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TrypHabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear juneHereford,
We would like to deeply thank you for your comments on our services which help us improve our daily work. It is good to know we have gone beyond your expectations, however, within our plans we are conducting a huge remodelling process of the hotel aiming at providing our facilities and customers with a better comfort and quality. We truly hope you can stay with us once again and be able to witness the overall improvement of the hotel.
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 79 in Havana
1,640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 79 in Havana
3,628 reviews
4.3 mi away
Melia Habana
Melia Habana
#2 of 79 in Havana
3,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
4.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
Memories Miramar Habana
#12 of 79 in Havana
997 reviews
4.1 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#13 of 79 in Havana
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Habana Libre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Habana Libre

Property: Tryp Habana Libre
Address: 23 Calle L E 23 Y 25, Havana, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Tryp Habana Libre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5- star Tryp Habana Libre, one of the most emblematic hotels in Havana, is located in the heart of the Vedado district. This majestic 25- story hotel (572 rooms) offers a unique view of the ocean and of the magical city. Ideal for business people, events, getaways and honeymoons. Guest rooms - 532 rooms: 282 standard, 250 standard panoramic view. Dining: 4 restaurants (a la carte, buffet), 3 cafeterias, 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Prestigia and Prodigios Interactivos SA so you can book your Tryp Habana Libre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Habana Libre Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Habana Libre
Habana Libre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing