We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adjust Your Expectations”
Review of Tryp Habana Libre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tryp Habana Libre
Ranked #30 of 80 Hotels in Havana
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is an older property undergoing, and much in need of, restorations. The key here is all about room choice. On our first stay we were on the 12th floor on the west side of the hotel, facing away from the harbor. That's too low; the street noise was loud until 4:00 a.m., and that's too hot. The rooms on the west side get full sun and the air conditioning is not up to the task. The room was finally tolerable to sleep around midnight. On our return later in the week, we were on the 18th floor on the east saide, facing Havana harbor, and the room was much better. The air worked, and the views of the harbor at sunset and at night were beautiful. Spacious lobby, very decent breakfast buffet. If this is where you stay, stay on the east side upper floors.

Room Tip: East side, facing the harbor, so you have A/C that works and a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoustonTexatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Houston Texatty,
We thank you for your comments and we are pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. You have been able to experience the improvement we have had in the hotel rooms and we know we still have to improve the air conditioning service. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

460 - 466 of 4,441 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel forms part of a Thomson/First Choice Cuba Highlights tour and I was a little worried over some of the reviews but I need not have worried. You cannot miss this hotel as sits proudly on a hill and the Cubans are happy to tell you that it was originally a Hilton Hotel. It has a huge lobby and plenty of informal seating spread around. The receptionists were reasonably efficient and the bell boys were friendly like most of the staff (and all Cubans) that we met. We had a large room on the 16th floor with excellent views although our guide informed us that some of the rooms on lower floors were currently being renovated as they were 'very tired'. The bathroom was fine although the bath had once been painted but this seems normal in Cuba as we found it at other hotels on the tour. The shower was hot but either off or full on, nothing in between! The breakfast had a good variety but the quality left a little to be desired although nothing worse than many hotels we have stayed at across the world. Be aware that the lifts can be full at busy times as they only seem to have 2 or 3 out of 6 working. We waited 15 minutes one morning and eventually had to take the stairs and we were not on our own! From the 16th floor it's a long way down. The 24 hour cafe attached to the hotel serves good food with very friendly service if you don't want a full meal in the hotel. Overall I would recommend the Habana Libre and would be happy to stay again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room as high as possible as the higher you are the better the rooms seem to be althoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear David G,
We sincerely greet you and we deeply appreciate the opinions we have received from you concerning our hotel. We are likewise very pleased to know our hotel is within your possible visits for the next trips to Cuba and of course we will be delighted to welcome you once more. Taking into consideration some of the elements you let us know in your opinion, we inform you that although our rooms are old fashioned they are going through a remodelling process which will allow us to improve their quality. We thank you once again for your cooperation once and we look forward to your visit us again soon.
Best regards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel has not been updated to any extent since 1958. But it is clean and some effort has been made to modernize. We were on the 18th floor facing south to the city.
The food was plentiful and some typical. Uncooked oat meal for breakfast was a first. Not bad if you let is soak in yogurt. Staff was helpful. The old Trader Vic's was a delight to visit in the lower level. A review I read before going was helpful Thanks Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curiouscrone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear curiouscrone,
We would like to greet you and thank you for your comments. We inform you that within this investment process, halls, local areas and others are included which takes sometime to repair them. Our hotel dates back from 1950s and even though we have tried hard to keep its structure and original look from the time is was built, its closeness to the sea causes to carry out a continuos and overall maintenance in the hotel. We hope you can enjoy the hotel once more with us in future travels, we will be delighted to welcome you back.
Best regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Keep in mind, I gave this property an average based on USA standards. In Cuba this is a 4 star property.
Our room was spacious and overlooked the harbor, Morro Castle and Old Havana. The staff was great.
We did have a couple of times where the hotel did not have hot water... be flexible... you are going to Cuba!
The rum is great and Cuban rolls cigars outside of the bar. We loved our first visit there as US citizens and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: They are renovating the hotel. Make sure you aske for one of the renovated rooms and preferably a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear sandtrvl,
We thank you for your comments which truly help us make our customers enjoy the services and their stay with us. We inform you that the hotel is currently involved in a huge process of renovation which will allow us to improve our facilities and to prevent that incidents like the hot water service from happening to future customers. We look forward to you visit us again and be able to experience the changes we have made in the hotel.
Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

ARE YOU LOOKING FOR A "TALENTED HAIR STYLIST" IN CUBA? Searching high & low-
Y` NADA....

ONE that can "ACTUALLY' do wonders under the islands extreme humidity, SEARCH NO MORE :)

Thanks to a Cuban driver that pointed me in the right direction I finally CONNECTED with the "BEST" blow out stylist EVER!!!
Marisol Crespo, handles hair as if she was born with a brush in her hair. It's impressive. She styles each section then wraps it in a big velcro roller to hold the curl while the hair sets. I travel extensively throughout the U.S. as well as Europe and to be quite frank she is by far the most talented stylist I have EVER come across. She blow dries the hair with an over bend, under bend as she sways the brush back & fourth.... the END result is SUPER voluminous hair.

-If you love BIG bouncy natural hair, this is the stylist for you. She also, cut's, colors, highlights and offers many facial services. Nail service is also provided at this salon.

The icing on the cake is the fact that she is extremely sweet and very professional, she takes pride in her work and it shows. The cost of styling your hair is extremely economical.

Marisol looked at the images I brought in for inspiration and nailed it, not just once, I had my hair done while in cuba at least 1/2 dozen times. Due to her signature styling techniques I recieved numerous compliments throughout the day in Cuba. I brought in my own shampoo & conditioner, I ended up not needing my own products as she assured me she would achieve the results I was looking for with her salon products. She does not disappoint :)

*Note
The beauty salon is located on the outside of Hotel Habana Libre, Vedado, Cuba. You can enter the front lobby & walk across the restaurant in order to access the outside door that leads to the salon.

Salon B'Lisa/Marisol Crespo
Hotel Habana Libre
Vedado, Cuba

Room Tip: I can ONLY vouch for the beauty salon as I was not a guest in the hotel. I will add, that the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank billionsandnocure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Billionsandnocure,
First of all, we convey our kind regards and we would like to thank you for your opinions regarding our hotel services, mainly the Hairdresser’s where you received a polite attention. We have informed our hotel staff about your opinion. We as usual look forward to counting on your visit next time you come to Habana.
Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The lobby alone, with plants cascading down from the floor above, warrants a trip to this hotel, which sports pictures of the history of the revolution, including an occupation of the hotel by Castro's army.

Our room on the twelfth floor was spacious and clean and afforded an incredible view of Havana, from the street below where 50's era cars streamed by to the cityscape which extended to the beautiful views of the harbor.

A business center on the second floor offered functional (although very slow and expensive) computers at around $10 U.S. an hour. A very large breakfast buffet on the second floor was included with the price of the room and was excellent. A wonderful piano-player played during the entire breakfast period.

I would return to this hotel. The location was good and the rooms were clean.

Some advice: 1.) Use the room safe. You need to pay for a key at checkin. We didn't the first night, and my friend had her camera, charger and plugin cord for her Kindle stolen from the room when we went out for dinner. The next morning, we paid for the key!!! 2.) Do eat in the small restaurant to the back right of the lobby. Best food we had in Havana and the music is wonderful. 3.) Do not, under any circumstances, eat in the larger restaurant that faces the street on the left front of the hotel (as you face the entrance to the lobby.) The food is atrocious and the staff surly. Bacon raw, eggs tasted as though they'd been cooked in rancid fat. Even the toast was inedible.

Yes, I agree that they need to clean the carpets in the halls. They look like relics of the revolution, stains and all. But, the rooms were clean and the hotel spacious and airy. Elevators with brass walls and glass ceilings were charming but hot. Look up for a great view! (And pray you don't get trapped in them.)

Room Tip: I would guess that the higher up, the better. We were on the 12th floor and the view was great...cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Remi47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Remi47,
First of all, we would like to greet you and let you know that we have read your comments concerning our hotel and we deeply apologize for we were not able to provide you with a nice stay. As to the incident your friend went through with his camera is concerned, we would have appreciated you to let us know during your stay so we had taken the appropriate steps since we have electronic locks in the doors and any use on them can be easily registered. Even so, if you wish to contact us through e-mail it will be a pleasure to reply. We inform you that we taken the appropriate steps with the department involved so as prevent this inconvenience from happening again. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in a near future.
Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am sure that at one time this was a very nice hotel. The public rooms are nice enough but some of the guest rooms really are past their sell by date. We were on the 21st floor and had a wonderful view of the city and the ocean. However the room was very, very tired. The furnishings were falling apart and the carpet was grubby.

We did glimpse into other rooms and they did seem a bit tidier than ours so it might have been just the luck of the draw.

Breakfast was a real move back to the former glory days. A lady playing a grand piano whilst you breakfast is quite a novelty. It does get a bit wearing though after a few days as it is not exactly background music. Try and get a table where you can watch her. If she plays a bad note she knows it and her face is a picture.

Food was quite good. They have to cater for all nationalities so there is great variety. Really good attempt at a cooked English breakfast though it was sometimes a bit cold.

Lovely swimming pool area with pool towels provided for a small deposit. Great idea when you are traveling around. staff at the pool very nice and helpful. Will bring drinks to your sun bed and even deliver your lunch for you if you cant be bothered to move.

Restaurant in the lobby had nice food at reasonable price. Fast food restaurant ok for much more than just burgers, but a bit pricey for what it was. Polenesian on the lower ground floor was awful. No atmosphere, terrible service and even worse food. Over priced as well. Avoid at all costs.

Lobby area is wonderful and really shows this hotel how it used to be.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THabanaLibre, Director General at Tryp Habana Libre, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2012

Dear Tony H,
We thank you for your comments which truly help us make our customers enjoy the services and their stay with us. We inform you that the hotel is currently involved in a huge process of renovation which will allow us to improve our facilities and be able to provide our customers with a better service. We truly apologize for you did not feel comfortable in the Polinesio restaurant and we will take your comments into account so this inconvenient does not happen again with future customers. We hope you can visit us once again and be able to experience the changes we have made in the hotel, we will be expecting you.
Kind regards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Havana hotels
0.2 mi away
NH Capri La Habana
NH Capri La Habana
#4 of 80 in Havana
1,784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nacional de Cuba
1.2 mi away
Melia Cohiba
Melia Cohiba
#3 of 80 in Havana
3,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Mercure Sevilla Havane
4.1 mi away
H10 Habana Panorama
H10 Habana Panorama
#26 of 80 in Havana
1,662 reviews
4.1 mi away
Memories Miramar Habana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tryp Habana Libre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Habana Libre

Address: 23 Calle L E 23 y 25, Havana 10400, Cuba
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Ciudad de la Habana Province > Havana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Havana
Price Range: $192 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Habana Libre 4*
Number of rooms: 572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5- star Tryp Habana Libre, one of the most emblematic hotels in Havana, is located in the heart of the Vedado district. This majestic 25- story hotel (572 rooms) offers a unique view of the ocean and of the magical city. Ideal for business people, events, getaways and honeymoons. Guest rooms - 532 rooms: 282 standard, 250 standard panoramic view. Dining: 4 restaurants (a la carte, buffet), 3 cafeterias, 2 bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Prestigia and TravelUp so you can book your Tryp Habana Libre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Habana Libre Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Havana
Tryp Hotel Habana Libre
Habana Libre Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing