We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cubanacan Comodoro
Nearby Hotels
$185
Fourpoints.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$385
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Melia Habana(Havana)
$262
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Melia Cohiba(Havana)
$214
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$659
$462
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$408
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$281
$145
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$225
$71
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (712)
Filter reviews
712 results
Traveler rating
44
125
194
155
194
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
125
194
155
194
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscab ridehop on hoptour guideold habanacentral havana
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 712 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Read other reviews and thought they were exagerated, but they were not. the grounds and lobby of hotel clean, but only 1 pool in use, the other closed pools had rats floating in them.
m
My son was propositioned by a working girl, who told him the price and said that it was 60/40 as the security man had to get his cut. lol. we where ate alive by something,and the exchange did try to short change us, but we checked our money.
I would never stay here again,
The staff were friendly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelamorrison129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

When it comes to Cuban hotels, travelers should know that some who post reviews (both positive and negative) have a political or competitive agenda. I don't have such an agenda.

Overall the hotel was clean, classy, and comfortable. On our first stay, all went well. On our second stay during this trip, one of the sink faucets leaked a little during use, but otherwise the room was well maintained. There was a waffle iron, a panini press, a microwave, and a small fridge in the kitchen area.

There is no laundry room for self-service laundry. You can either pay the hotel rate, or arrange for your maid to take care of the laundry herself for half the price listed by the hotel. They really appreciate the additional income and did a good job washing and pressing the handful of items I had washed. That said, if you want to save some money, bring easy-to-dry items and wash them by hand. Just keep in mind that it is *very* muggy, so things take a while to dry.

The breakfast and dinner buffet made it easy for our group to stay together during meals. The abundant fresh fruit (mango, pineapple, guava, sometimes apple or strawberry) added a delightful touch to every meal. There were many different dessert options including cake, pastries, and ice cream. Really good live music (soft enough that dinner conversation was still comfortable) also added a luxurious element to the dining experience.

The dinner portion of the buffet was variable, sometimes there were excellent dishes, sometimes the dinner was a bit mediocre. Rabbit one night was hard and chewy, but the next week it was tender and delicious. It's probably good to have the buffet option for the first few days while you learn your way around, but after a week the selection seemed a bit repetitive. After your first few days, go and explore some of the paladars (private restaurants) that are in the neighborhood. Lots of seafood options which I didn't try (octopus, squid, salmon, a variety of different fish). For the Noche Cubana (Tuesday night) they roasted a suckling pig, and for the next week, they had lobster. The Noche Cubana event includes live music and a short cultural show. It was pretty good, but not as good as the music you can find in Old Havana (part of the dissatisfaction was that it was *way* too loud).

Due to the drought Cuba is currently experiencing, all but the main pool is closed. That said, the pool that is open is rather large: it stretches around the bar and next to several bungalow-buildings. It was very refreshing after a long, sweaty day in the Cuban heat.

There are only 3 computers available for internet connectivity, but usually people are only on for a few minutes. It costs 4 CUC per 30 mins, and is plenty fast for email, but not really fast enough for Google Maps. There is a gift shop that sells a variety of Cuban tourist stuff and a desk for finding out about activities in the area.

Miramar where the hotel is located is somewhat far from Old Havana where there are lots of shops, cafes and tourist-oriented activities. That said, it's only a 15 min tourist cab ride (10 CUC) or 30 Cuban cab ride (1 CUC) from Old Havana, so most music venues are quite close by.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ramulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I was horrified reading some of these reviews before heading out to Cuba, but I found the hotel to be much better than described...ants in the bed?? mosquitoes? mean staffers?? Not so much. This is Cuba, folks...it's a developing country with limited access to outside resources. If you're headed there to have a four star vacation, you're probably going to be disappointed. If you're interested in learning about a different culture and are up for an adventure, you'll probably have a great time.

The bungalows are definitely nicer than the hotel rooms and are worth the extra money. If you don't want ants in your room, keep any food you bring in tightly sealed containers and throw out any wrappers in the hotel lobby. Sometimes there won't be hot water and that's a risk you'd take at any hotel there, I think. We had one power outage while we were there and it's probably a good idea to pack a small flashlight to bring with you.

Also, some of the rooms will have a box in the front hall for your key card. You have to put your key card in the box in order to get all the lights in your room to work. (We would have spent several days without power if we hadn't had Cuban friends explain what was wrong...it's true that hotel staff isn't very responsive to requests for assistance.)

The food is not all that appealing by Western standards (particularly if you're a vegetarian), but it is worth keeping in mind that the average Cuban eats much, much worse and couldn't afford (let alone access) most of the food at the buffet. Having access to the food the hotel provides is a privilege, believe it or not, and personally I think it's a bit rude to complain to the staff about what you're getting.

Also, there is an espresso machine in the bar (yes, where the, uh, working ladies are) that serves decent coffee. It's definitely worth paying extra for if you have a caffeine dependency problem. If you need a break from the food, there are some excellent paladars (small cafes run inside homes) in the surrounding neighborhood. They're pricier but worth the extra investment. (La Fontana and Mi Jardin are personal favorites.)

The hotel outsources its laundry services to a business in the mini-mall adjacent to the hotel. If you drop your laundry off there directly, you'll avoid a significant markup in charges for the exact same service.

The pools...yeah, not all the pools are full. And that was kind of reassuring to see, since Cuba is in the midst of a terrible drought. The hotel complex is huge and sprawling and it's not necessary to waste that much water. A few pools were open and they seemed to be clean and not too crowded.

If you use the bathroom in the hotel lobby you will discover a problem that is widespread throughout Havana...a lack of toilet seats. People actually steal them because there is demand for them. It's best when venturing out to always have a pack of tissues or toilet paper and some hand sanitizer on hand. Some public venues will actually charge for the use of toilet paper, and it is customary to tip the women who are stationed on hand to clean the restrooms.

Tipping in general is kind of a controversial subject--the tips tourism workers receive for services add up to some seriously gross societal inequities: waiters, for example, make 10x as much as doctors in Cuba just because of your tips. While it's definitely recommended to tip musicians (since this may be their only source of income), it's worth considering that large tips may be more hurtful than helpful in the long run. There are no easy answers, just like so many other things in such a complex and intriguing country!

Ultimately, I think most of the people in my group would have preferred staying somewhere closer to the downtown area, and perhaps in a 'casa particular' (Cuban version of a B&B) in order to settle into a more vibrant neighborhood. We felt almost cloistered in the hotel compound, and frustrated to be kept so separate from everyone else. It's difficult to meet & get to know real Cuban people because they are not allowed to go to hotels (!) and even a tourist on a shoestring budget wields a heady degree of economic power. Most people who solicit your attention are understandably out to get something.

The hotel has evening entertainment at least once a week and brings in live musicians on a regular basis. I'm surprised other people complained about this, since it is something the staff seems to take great pains to provide.

Oh, also...the rumors about the feral dogs & cats are true. But that is also a widespread problem throughout Cuba. Most of them seemed harmless and quite tame because tourists feed them all the time. (Not really sure this is a good idea, as it encourages them to approach humans, but it is what it is.)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank globetrotter206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

we arrived at about 11.30 pm, no water to wash, theswimming pools were not very nice cleanliness wise.not very pleasant receptionist but the rep moved us first thing in the morning to another hotel at a small cost.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed in a bungalow with a balcony for 10 nights that was spacious with an average standard of cleanliness. There was no water on one day and the bathroom was not cleaned by the maid. The food in the italian restaurant was very good and the buffet breakfast was generally ok except there was rarely hot water or coffee available. Some of the pools were cleaned but not all of them for some reason.
The staff in the bar were excellent and really helpful and the cocktails were good value for money. When changing money at the reception be careful as they con you by saying you gave them less than you did. If they are doing this to every customer someone is making a lot of money!
The hotel was a 20 minute taxi ride from Havana but they are cheap and readily available. Overall the hotel was what we expected from reading the reviews. Whilst we enjoyed our stay there we probably would not stay there again as there are better hotels available in the same area.

Room Tip: stay in the bungalows if possible
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicky284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews