We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Daiquiri with atmosphere”
Review of Floridita

Floridita
Ranked #49 of 798 Restaurants in Havana
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cuban
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Daiquiri with atmosphere”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The home of the Daiquiri. Just up the street from Ernest Hemingways house in Old havana. Great atmosphere, especially when a good ban playing. We were lucky, they were a great al female group.
The Daiquiris are a little pricey for Cuba at around 6 cuc's but worth it for the atmosphere and band. It can get very crowded, so visit a few times to find when its OK. We found around 6.30pm was fine for a few drinks then off to dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barrington S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    677
    580
    267
    78
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Gone downhill”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We visited the Floridita on both our previous visits to Havana and enjoyed the atmosphere and cocktails. However on this visit it seems everything has gone downhill and they are just trading on their past.

The staff were unfriendly and the cocktails the worst we had in our 14 days in Cuba. The music was good that day however and stopped me awarding just one star.

There are plenty of much better places to eat and drink in Havana and the only reason most people visit is to get a pic of themselves with the full sized Hemingway statue. If you have been before, give it a miss on your next trip.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joff_Day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Daiquiri Heaven”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Best daiquiri we ever had - what else would you expect from the home of the daiquiri! Busy bar full of tourists, when the band were playing it was great and we really enjoyed spending time there.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank bubbles311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go to say you've been there..and have a drink with the bronze Hemingway statue”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I appreciate the historical connection this old Havana bar has to the world in regards to its association with famed author Ernest Hemingway. I've always liked finding cafes, plazas, and old hotels where famous historical figures spent time while in these various cities. Apparently old Hemingway enjoyed more than a few nights hanging out in El Floridita when he lived in Havana back in the 1950's. The bar has even placed a life sized monument depicting Hemingway at his usual spot at the corner of the bar. Most tourists find themselves embracing the bronze Hemingway like they were old pals out for a drink. The bar is old & probably hasn't changed a whole lot since the days of Hemingway. It's worth a visit, but if you go there for their famed Daquari's be prepared to shell out some good money

Helpful?
Thank Borderhopper73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford royaume uni
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“one daquiri too many”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

By the time we got here at the end of our tour of Hemingway bars we were a bit dacked out. Busier and a bit brasher than some bars but not to be missed - especially if you have ever read Islands in the Stream.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mahnrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Floridita also viewed

Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
Havana, Ciudad de la Habana Province
 

Been to Floridita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing