We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazing city beach - expensive Transtur bus

Within 30 min at some of the nicest „city“ beaches by bus from Parque Central in Havana. Very busy... read more

Reviewed May 26, 2024
Onthewalkway
,
Bangkok
Sunday beach time with the locals

We went to Playa Santa Maria del Mar which is very popular among locals. We purposely picked a... read more

Reviewed April 8, 2023
John E
Read all 2,467 reviews
  
Reviews (2,467)
Filter reviews
2,467 results
Traveler rating
1,273
826
257
61
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,273
826
257
61
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great beach santa maria closest beach tourist bus havana city taxi locals varadero pesos
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 2,467 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017

This beach is the best. There is a 5 dollar bus across the street from hotel ingeleteras and it will take you here. There is a strip of beach. One part is called Santa Maria. Cuba is everything. I love Cuba.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank leroy_ware
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 5, 2017

THis beach is beautiful. The water is warm. sand is very fine. It was busy when I went so there were not umbrellas and lounge chairs. That is not a deal breaker. They sell food along the side of the beach and coconut nuts with rum on the beach. The only down part is no bathroom and no place to clean the sand off of your body.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank ToniG809a
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Spent a Sunday last week near the west end of the beaches and had a good trip. Weather turned sour quick but can't control that. Lots of locals - the beach was packed - but the water was warm and beautiful. Took a few beers and bought a few drinks from street vendors once we were there. Pricey to get out there via taxi if you're staying in Havana though. No problem finding a taxi on our way out around 3:30pm.

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank 370ryann
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Go to playa del este. Great beaches. Santa Maria is the first, but the busiest. Better travel a bit further to Guanabo. More quiet and very nice as well.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank 554stefanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

Went for 3 hours with kids

20 cuc taxi (negotiate) .

Crowded and no chairs/recliners or umbrellas left but plenty of clear areas to lay your towel

Lovely soft sand and gentle shelving beach and friendly folk , music and cheap food and drinks around

A great tonic from the city

Date of experience: July 2017
2  Thank ArunK1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews